HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Amsterdam Hostel

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

We do not accept stag parties in the hotel. Stag parties will be refused upon arrival.

There is a cash-only deposit of 5 per per person. You get this back if you return your key on the day of check-out and if you check out on time.

For dorms, there's a maximum age of 35.

You must confirm your booking before 12 noon on the day of arrival. Even if you filled in a different arrival time you must call us before 12 noon to reconfirm your reservation. We reserve the right to cancel in case we don't hear anything from you by then! Please note that if you will be arriving later than the time you listed in your booking, you must contact us by telephone so that we can hold your reservation. If we haven't heard from you beforehand and you're late, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. No-shows shall be charged the equivalent of one night's stay. We will charge this to the credit card you used to make the booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

Showing 41-50 of 88 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, beer

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The bar area is fun

Disliked: Que to check out

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good breakfest.

Disliked: The towels are very tiny.Toillet is small.Heater not so efficient.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The scores dont reflect how I truley feel about this place. It is a budget hotel and a big one at that it is more of a giant hostel in truth and should be treated as one. It makes no attempts at hiding what it is infact it gloryfies it. Its well equipped as such with bar and lifts. Vending machines etc. umfortuanatly it needs modernising. The beds are awfull. Theres grafetti everywhere and it feels old. Its not as clean as it could.be. But it provides all the badics at a comfortable anough level for a hostel. My real problem with it is that although it includes a brealfast which I did not tty you can get cleaner.. more comfortable better equipped better facilitated and priced value from better located competitors. I did spend some time wondwring if it ever really filled all the beds in the place as tbh I couldnt see it ever happening though it probly does. it is what it is. But there are better out there. In better locations at better prices etc etc etc. this probably wont change in our lifetime. Do not stay here if you have a problem with death as youll be reminded of it constantly as you open the windows and walk the streets. Very revolutionary period feel to it. I would however be comftable staying again but only through lack of choice and because of my knowledge of the local area and hotels available this would not top the list. I had a good time tjough. Thank you

Disliked: Machines ate my money ... Staf helped. Heavy chains over tiles not good. Grafeeti.. Bubblegum on top bunk... Not mine. 1 day they did not cha.ge my bedding. I had to ask. Location. Staff where as stated. But friendly and helpfull anough. Other than they should inform you of breakfast instructions upon arrival.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: About 20mins walk to city centre, good free breakfast if you can wake up early enough. Rooms are basic but are all you need for a cheap stay. Good water pressure in shower

Disliked: No ladder to get onto top bunk , they provide a hand towel not a full size bath towel (still possible to dry yourself with if you don't pack a towel of your own), breakfast stops being served around 10am not 10:30 (on my first morning I was too late for breakfast at 10:10 )

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location, breakfast

Disliked: Quite dirty, many school classes so quite loud sometimes, absolutely no possibilities to put your stuff somewhere in the bathroom, Not even a toilet seat, beds way to soft, the Type that you sink in, you have to like them on facebook in order to use their wifi

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean, fun, great location, good staff, great atmosphere. Not very strict so it fits with the Amsterdam vibe and everyone is fun and friendly.

Disliked: It's cheap and cheerful - advertised as no thrills and surprises you with a lot more thrills.. Clean beds, good sized lockers, housekeeping daily, 24 hour reception, towels and linnens. And all for a bargain price. If you don't like this hostel then you don't like hostels. Try a hotel next time and don't complain. This was an excellent place!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff quite helpfulunique atmospherechoices of breakfast

Disliked: cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's very near the city centre and the sights.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night, and the atmosphere is a bit dirty.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Limited internet!!! Very loud at all times of day.

Check Availability