HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hans Brinker Hotel

Hostel | Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 GR

75.0% Overall Rating

337 out of 449 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"Very close to nightlife and vibrant parts of the city. Friendly staff and plenty on offer to do and see. Rooms were great size with clean sheets and hot water. You cannot fault this hostel."

Read all Hans Brinker Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that you have to inform the Hostel of your arrival time before 12 am. If you fail to do that your reservation might be cancelled.Please confirm your booking by phone.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Leidseplein Innercity
62.20 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kerkstraat Premium
67.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.81 USD

Hostel 68.9% 885 reviews
Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
27.63 USD

Hostel 74.5% 488 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
27.64 USD

Hostel 66.1% 65 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
63.58 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 233 reviews
Golden Bear
54.60 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Waterfront
82.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.0%

Overall Rating

337 out of 449 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hans Brinker Hotel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 285 of 394 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Anne Linde Saaltink

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

19 February 2012

Liked: The location

Disliked: It was an awful night sleep! We stayed in a 3 person room but in the middle of the night we woke up of girls screaming and everything smelled of weed!!! People using all kinds of drugs and tripping, we had to call the reception and after an hour they shutted up. Also room without caracter and nothing extra to make it worth my 35 euro! Not even near my money's worth!!!!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012

Liked: its location, there aren't many hostels in amsterdam available at peak weekends

Disliked: Staff- truley AWFUL. I was put in a dorm and with a dirty bed and people were smoking in the room. I asked to be moved and given a clean bed and had to pay a 5euro surcharge (as if it was my fault?). The house keeping staff come in and shout at you in the mornings to leave, even if you are before checkout time they go mental at you. Never seen anything like it! If you stay here you will understand! The hostel is the worst I have ever been too. I would highly recommend not to stay here, I was in a group of 20 and we all had the same experience- bad staff, bad atmosphere, poor breakfast and dirty rooms and bathrooms. They have just got it so wrong - hostels are meant to be fun, relaxing and communal- this is more like a prison.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gergely Henrik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Gergely would recommend this property

Liked: we could check in so early, but i guess we got luck.

Disliked: bit noisy

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

YEONGJUN KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011

Liked: big locker in the room, one bathroom for one room

Disliked: everything looks old and dirty. in the breakfast, i needed to pay additional fee for cereals and fruit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, low fares (compared to Amsterdam).

Disliked: Too much noise, not very clean - you get what you paid for! Anyway, you're in Amsterdam, why would stay in the hotel?

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the factory farm of hostels. Huge, sterile, and smells of bleach. I am sure there are much better hostels, but it when they are all booked up, this one did the trick. No serious complaints. And 2-1 drinks every happy hour, which was a bonus.

Disliked: The P.A system that was connected to every room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emma Hurford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011

Liked: Very good security and luggage arrangements. Also, breakfast started earlier than most hostels at 7.30am.

Disliked: Lacking Atmosphere

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Geoffrey Michael Baur

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: Perfect Location. Everything is near by foot.

Disliked: Dirty, unfriendly, no safety

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it is considerably cheap compared to other hostel. Its location is perfect, near city center, not far from tram station, just 5 mins walk without carrying any luggage

Disliked: It can be quite noisy at night and the breakfast is too simple although it's better than nothing. Room is too small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011

Liked: The location!

Disliked: The staff are not helpfull at all, the hostel club were always empty, the breakfast could be better.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011

Liked: It was a bed to sleep in but we HATED this hostel. It was dirty and the room smelled bad when we got in. The rooms have no character nor do they look clean at all. It was in an ok part of town and was nice to walk around however when storing our bag in a locked room all day that was "secure" we came back just to find the doors open and people walking in and out freely. Really disappointing. They say they also have a breakfast included, of two pieces of stale bread and a hard boiled egg. Not very satisfying in any way.

Disliked: location, cleanliness, atmosphere, horrible breakfast, unfriendly staff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 September 2011

Liked: Location is fine - walking distance to everywhere, if you are used to walking!

Disliked: It's quite run down. At least the rooms at the bottom floor.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the other young traveler, the beer!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was incredible, and the place advertises as this real down and dirty party place, but it is actually very clean and decent. I also like that the room had it's own bathroom.

Disliked: I didn't really dislike anything. It was a good value for the money, but I wasn't expecting five stars or anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Lowe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel near the main square of leidsplein. Clean rooms, cheap drinks, happy hour 5-6pm buy one get one free at 3.50 euros! Cant complain! Staff are cool and down to earth aswell, got talking to the manager and give us free shots of absinth and beers haha. Breakfast is ok (if your english) but im not into all the continental stuff, not realy good for curing hangovers. Good place to meet people and the underground clubis good aswell with top dance and european music its cheap too. Overall good i'd definatly stay there again!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Directions were very good, we got there in no time. Beds were good, you get your money back for sheet deposit. Helpful with maps, etc.

Disliked: Nothing really stood out to dislike, but checking in was a bother, because we were late and were in a panic to get there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vikram Jai Kumar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Vikram Jai would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in heart of central Amsterdam. Easy to reach anywhere and also very big hostel full of travelers. Great atmosphere and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Check out time can be 11 as 10 is bit early.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gabriel Legarda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: Lots of people!

Disliked: Not to many staff, beds without stairs!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Antons Gamatins

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 August 2011 Antons would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean hostel with all needed facilities for this price.

Disliked: Very very noisy. Disco until 4.00 and people running around inside and outside won't let you have a good sleep. Only if you're very tired.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, nice people!

Disliked: a little short on people at the time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere

Disliked: check out time

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a nice cheap bar, that had a busy happy hour. Good location and easy to find. Breakfast, including tea and coffee was free everyday.

Disliked: Lockers in rooms were bent and difficult to close or lock, luggage didn't feel very secure. Rooms looked like prison cells.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite nice, interesting people. But could be cheaper.

Disliked: Do not know.