HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Amsterdam Hostel

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

We do not accept stag parties in the hotel. Stag parties will be refused upon arrival.

There is a cash-only deposit of 5 per per person. You get this back if you return your key on the day of check-out and if you check out on time.

For dorms, there's a maximum age of 35.

You must confirm your booking before 12 noon on the day of arrival. Even if you filled in a different arrival time you must call us before 12 noon to reconfirm your reservation. We reserve the right to cancel in case we don't hear anything from you by then! Please note that if you will be arriving later than the time you listed in your booking, you must contact us by telephone so that we can hold your reservation. If we haven't heard from you beforehand and you're late, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. No-shows shall be charged the equivalent of one night's stay. We will charge this to the credit card you used to make the booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

Showing 31-40 of 90 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its close to most of the sight seeing place and also all pubs and night clubs are close.

Disliked: The bathroom is really very small and the windows cannot be opened which make the room very hot.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast!

Disliked: Expensive

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The big yellow hotel sign is visible once round the corners from both ends of the street. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Good selection for the included breakfast. I did not feel out of place as an older person.

Disliked: A little noisy at times but that is to be expected with lots of young people. I would not say it was central Amsterdam but still fine as there is a bike rental place next door.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Stuff really unfriendly, extra noisy, unsafe

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Offers very good breakfast compared to others

Disliked: Rooms look like prison

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location

Disliked: Mixed dorms are not balanced. It should be 4 males - 4 females, not 5 to 3, or 2 to 3. And the staff can ask the guests to behave at least a bir better. The common areas were too noisy and chaotic.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: u

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I like that it's cheap and clean.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the city center.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast included, locker in the room, location is good enough

Disliked: The hostel was dirty, the furniture is old and used many-many times. Some things should be fixed. We were not sure that the bed sheets were washed before. The room is too small for 5 beds in it, not stairs at the double bed. Also it was really crowded - around 500 in the hostel!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was clean and the breakfast ok, and above all very well situated.

Disliked: Very noisy at night - but of course the staff can´t be expected to spend the night reprimanding immature teenage guests. But more importantly: the shower/toilet of our double room was only seperated from the bedroom part by a frosted glass partition - you have to pee practically in front of your roommate! Would be nice to make this clear before people book. Also, just one little hook to hang your towel on would have been appreciated - where are you supposed to let it dry after using it? Fresh towels are placed on the bed every morning; there´s no other place for the staff to leave them, but I tend not to sleep with wet towels in my bed.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability