HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hans Brinker Hotel

Hostel | Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 GR

76.3% Overall Rating

357 out of 472 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2014)

"Convenient location; close to main attractions and train station. Clean and comfortable beds Rooms were cleaned everyday Buffet Breakfast was included"

Read all Hans Brinker Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that you have to inform the Hostel of your arrival time before 12 am. If you fail to do that your reservation might be cancelled.Please confirm your booking by phone.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.42 USD

Hostel 69.0% 901 reviews
Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
33.57 USD

Hostel 72.3% 497 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
38.96 USD

Hostel 67.9% 73 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
61.79 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Golden Bear
39.63 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 85.0% 4 reviews
Hotel Waterfront
80.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
47.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 195 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
47.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

357 out of 472 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hans Brinker Hotel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 291 of 416 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Moloney

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Does what it says on the tin. Very good place, fun, good location, all you need for a wild weekend in the dam

Disliked: Nothing really, all good

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

IVAN FERRIO

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 April 2012 IVAN would recommend this property

Liked: Location and breakfast

Disliked: Long wait to check out

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

zoltan konya

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: close to town centre,happy hour

Disliked: always noisy,shower did not work properly,poor lockers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever, you even dont need public transport or a bike to get around, it's so centrally located.. it was brilliant.

Disliked: The exhaust fans/ventilation in your bathroom/toilets really need an upgrade!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i can recommend everyone: have got a locker in room, very good breakfast, and good location close to central...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rebecka Fogelquist

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2012

Liked: Close to clubs, shops and such. Okey rooms if you know what to expect from hostels in this price class.

Disliked: Told me the amount i payed before arrival, the ten percent, hade norhing to do with them and i still hade to pay the whole amount. The shower ran out of water after five minutes. The staffs attitude... well, lets say it could have been better.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Anne Linde Saaltink

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

19 February 2012

Liked: The location

Disliked: It was an awful night sleep! We stayed in a 3 person room but in the middle of the night we woke up of girls screaming and everything smelled of weed!!! People using all kinds of drugs and tripping, we had to call the reception and after an hour they shutted up. Also room without caracter and nothing extra to make it worth my 35 euro! Not even near my money's worth!!!!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012

Liked: its location, there aren't many hostels in amsterdam available at peak weekends

Disliked: Staff- truley AWFUL. I was put in a dorm and with a dirty bed and people were smoking in the room. I asked to be moved and given a clean bed and had to pay a 5euro surcharge (as if it was my fault?). The house keeping staff come in and shout at you in the mornings to leave, even if you are before checkout time they go mental at you. Never seen anything like it! If you stay here you will understand! The hostel is the worst I have ever been too. I would highly recommend not to stay here, I was in a group of 20 and we all had the same experience- bad staff, bad atmosphere, poor breakfast and dirty rooms and bathrooms. They have just got it so wrong - hostels are meant to be fun, relaxing and communal- this is more like a prison.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gergely Henrik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Gergely would recommend this property

Liked: we could check in so early, but i guess we got luck.

Disliked: bit noisy

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

YEONGJUN KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011

Liked: big locker in the room, one bathroom for one room

Disliked: everything looks old and dirty. in the breakfast, i needed to pay additional fee for cereals and fruit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, low fares (compared to Amsterdam).

Disliked: Too much noise, not very clean - you get what you paid for! Anyway, you're in Amsterdam, why would stay in the hotel?

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the factory farm of hostels. Huge, sterile, and smells of bleach. I am sure there are much better hostels, but it when they are all booked up, this one did the trick. No serious complaints. And 2-1 drinks every happy hour, which was a bonus.

Disliked: The P.A system that was connected to every room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emma Hurford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011

Liked: Very good security and luggage arrangements. Also, breakfast started earlier than most hostels at 7.30am.

Disliked: Lacking Atmosphere

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Geoffrey Michael Baur

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: Perfect Location. Everything is near by foot.

Disliked: Dirty, unfriendly, no safety

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it is considerably cheap compared to other hostel. Its location is perfect, near city center, not far from tram station, just 5 mins walk without carrying any luggage

Disliked: It can be quite noisy at night and the breakfast is too simple although it's better than nothing. Room is too small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011

Liked: The location!

Disliked: The staff are not helpfull at all, the hostel club were always empty, the breakfast could be better.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011

Liked: It was a bed to sleep in but we HATED this hostel. It was dirty and the room smelled bad when we got in. The rooms have no character nor do they look clean at all. It was in an ok part of town and was nice to walk around however when storing our bag in a locked room all day that was "secure" we came back just to find the doors open and people walking in and out freely. Really disappointing. They say they also have a breakfast included, of two pieces of stale bread and a hard boiled egg. Not very satisfying in any way.

Disliked: location, cleanliness, atmosphere, horrible breakfast, unfriendly staff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 September 2011

Liked: Location is fine - walking distance to everywhere, if you are used to walking!

Disliked: It's quite run down. At least the rooms at the bottom floor.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the other young traveler, the beer!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was incredible, and the place advertises as this real down and dirty party place, but it is actually very clean and decent. I also like that the room had it's own bathroom.

Disliked: I didn't really dislike anything. It was a good value for the money, but I wasn't expecting five stars or anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Lowe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel near the main square of leidsplein. Clean rooms, cheap drinks, happy hour 5-6pm buy one get one free at 3.50 euros! Cant complain! Staff are cool and down to earth aswell, got talking to the manager and give us free shots of absinth and beers haha. Breakfast is ok (if your english) but im not into all the continental stuff, not realy good for curing hangovers. Good place to meet people and the underground clubis good aswell with top dance and european music its cheap too. Overall good i'd definatly stay there again!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Directions were very good, we got there in no time. Beds were good, you get your money back for sheet deposit. Helpful with maps, etc.

Disliked: Nothing really stood out to dislike, but checking in was a bother, because we were late and were in a panic to get there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vikram Jai Kumar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Vikram Jai would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in heart of central Amsterdam. Easy to reach anywhere and also very big hostel full of travelers. Great atmosphere and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Check out time can be 11 as 10 is bit early.