We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hans Brinker Hotel

Hostel | Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 GR

75.8% Overall Rating

383 out of 506 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/10/2014)

jason gough thinks…

"The scores dont reflect how I truley feel about this place. It is a budget hotel and a big one at that it is more of a giant hostel in truth and should be treated as one. It makes no attempts at…"

Read all Hans Brinker Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that you have to inform the Hostel of your arrival time before 12 am. If you fail to do that your reservation might be cancelled.Please confirm your booking by phone.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel Centre
10.88 USD

Hostel 67.9% 923 reviews
Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
21.76 USD

Hostel 63.0% 506 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
21.76 USD

Hostel 67.1% 80 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
36.28 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Golden Bear
37.56 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 82.2% 9 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
14.14 USD

Hostel 68.6% 225 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
32.66 USD

Hostel 71.4% 3 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
43.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 112 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

383 out of 506 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hans Brinker Hotel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 450 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast and services provided.

Disliked: The worst thing about this stay was the other guests. I often wondered if the fact that this was supposed to be "The Worst" allowed other guests to behave their worst. Also I would advise, if possible, that you take your own towels, as the ones provided are extremely small. But if you're backpacking I guess that doesn't matter so much ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to nightlife and vibrant parts of the city. Friendly staff and plenty on offer to do and see. Rooms were great size with clean sheets and hot water. You cannot fault this hostel.

Disliked: Club in the basement of the hostel could do with a bit of an update. Not very enticing and always quiet. No real atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alan Armstrong

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 March 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fun, good value and in a great position.

Disliked: Nothing major.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Madeleine Houlbrook-Walk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: It was relatively cheap and the location was within walking distance. To be fair, amsterdam is easy enough to walk from anywhere, but I would definitely recommend somewhere closer to this side of town, it's got cheaper food and it's more trendy I would say. The lockers in the room were good for passports etc, but won't fit a whole bag in. The reception staff were really helpful and the free breakfast has enough options to keep you going. Free luggage room was also good.

Disliked: The rooms are quite small, thin walls and the bathroom is small. The wifi is a bit cumbersome and doesn't reach the rooms but it works well enough in the bar/common room. Not much of an atmosphere at all but within the rooms people are friendly.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jesse Mahoney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Most affordable property for this time of year. Great for a bed and a shower, but quite an old building and its facilities. Did the job!

Disliked: Didn't really dislike anything; my locker was broken but I just used my partners instead.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Italo Parpinelli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013 Italo would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to most turistic places! Room is very cozy and the food is really tasty!

Disliked: Italo left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place,

Disliked: just wish they didn't make you leave for so long for cleaning and I wish check in was earlier.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the area, full of cool trendy shops and cafes. The hotel is clean but very basic. The bar has a good atmosphere and the barman was friendly.

Disliked: I found the reception staff (two different girls) to be a bit odd - I can't say if they were just tired/stoned or just plain rude. They did the job but I couldnt say they were welcoming or friendly, a smile doesnt cost a lot! People have told me that the Dutch are not overly friendly to tourists but I did not find this to be true anywhere we stayed or visited except for this hotel which is a shame. My only real complaint is that wifi is not available in the rooms, only the bar, this is very inconvenient.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Richard Thompson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Check out time

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mateusz Abratanski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Mateusz would recommend this property

Liked: Location was pretty convenient around 15 minutes walk from the city centre. Included breakfast, private bathrooms. The room was quite clean.

Disliked: There is very basic lobby/eating room/bar. Also, it's hard to get any information from the receptionists about the interesting spots in Amsterdam not because they are not helpful or willing to advise you - they're simply very busy with the check-ins.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Inderjeet Singh Bansal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Inderjeet Singh would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, Small toilets

Disliked: Common toilets very dirty

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large with working lifts

Disliked: Little cold at night

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value...

Disliked: Shower very tiny & check in time was correctly mentioned in website , as it says before 12pm , when we came 10am they told us to wait until 12pm....

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosemarie O Mahony

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 September 2013 Rosemarie would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Cheap drink. Great fun

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Kortyka

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good :)

Disliked: I didn't feel safe to leave my suitcase there :(

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013

Liked: The location was good and it is very clean despite the advertising suggesting otherwise. The en-suite bathroom was a welcome addition

Disliked: The breakfast is very poor and staff at reception didn't seem particularly helpful and the hostel lacked any real character or atmosphere and offered little chance to meet anyone else in the hostel. Not particularly cheap or exciting.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

josephine hills

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 josephine would recommend this property

Liked: A great location, helpful staff and lovely rooms

Disliked: Lack of windows , bathroom was often smelly and unclean

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Walkable distance to most main attractions in Amsterdam. Also has a bar which has a popular happy hour, and a fairly cheap, yet decent, restaurant AND free breakfast. Enjoyed my stay thoroughly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

olivia logue

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 olivia would recommend this property

Liked: the properties location, restraunt, staff

Disliked: no air conditioning in rooms and window only opens slightly

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and the hostel is very close to central Amsterdam.

Disliked: It was not sufficiently clean

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Felix Ouytsel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and a lot of young people seemed to have booked the same hotel! Cool atmoshpere

Disliked: The room was far too hot! We metled away during the night

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ting Pan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 July 2013

Liked: the reception stuff are really helpful and friendly and the club area is a good place for fun at night

Disliked: the facility, especially the lockers are too old to use

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica McKenna

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, plenty of atmosphere and easy to find

Disliked: Beds were not too comfortable

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013

Liked: Breakfast good but dormitory quite noisy till night time since many young and teenagers were staying a lot. Beer happy time Heineken so cool. Room was quite hot. So we should open the window , mosquito a lot!

Disliked: Noisy, mosquito

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Th free breakfast in the morning is great with lots to choose from to eat.. Also the hostel is in a reasonably good location, 10/15 mins walk to city centre and closer to some attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...