We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hans Brinker Hotel

Hostel | Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 GR

76.9% Overall Rating

406 out of 532 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

Laura McMillan thinks…

"This place is great, no frills but for what you pay it's amazing. There is free breakfast and is one of the best hostel breakfasts I've had and has a lovely communal space to meet people."

Read all Hans Brinker Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that you have to inform the Hostel of your arrival time before 12 am. If you fail to do that your reservation might be cancelled.Please confirm your booking by phone.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel Centre
11.18 USD

Hostel 69.9% 931 reviews
Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
22.36 USD

Hostel 60.3% 509 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
31.70 USD

Hostel 65.6% 83 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
37.29 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Golden Bear
49.78 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 83.4% 11 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
25.83 USD

Hostel 71.7% 232 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
45.31 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 112 reviews
Rooms020
55.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

406 out of 532 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hans Brinker Hotel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 327 of 476 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff quite helpful unique atmosphere choices of breakfast

Disliked: cleanliness

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katya Anaya Jacinto Lopes

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 January 2015 Katya would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfest.

Disliked: The towels are very tiny. Toillet is small. Heater not so efficient.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

jason gough

Alone

Romantic getaway

21 October 2014

Liked: The scores dont reflect how I truley feel about this place. It is a budget hotel and a big one at that it is more of a giant hostel in truth and should be treated as one. It makes no attempts at hiding what it is infact it gloryfies it. Its well equipped as such with bar and lifts. Vending machines etc. umfortuanatly it needs modernising. The beds are awfull. Theres grafetti everywhere and it feels old. Its not as clean as it could.be. But it provides all the badics at a comfortable anough level for a hostel. My real problem with it is that although it includes a brealfast which I did not tty you can get cleaner.. more comfortable better equipped better facilitated and priced value from better located competitors. I did spend some time wondwring if it ever really filled all the beds in the place as tbh I couldnt see it ever happening though it probly does. it is what it is. But there are better out there. In better locations at better prices etc etc etc. this probably wont change in our lifetime. Do not stay here if you have a problem with death as youll be reminded of it constantly as you open the windows and walk the streets. Very revolutionary period feel to it. I would however be comftable staying again but only through lack of choice and because of my knowledge of the local area and hotels available this would not top the list. I had a good time tjough. Thank you

Disliked: Machines ate my money ... Staf helped. Heavy chains over tiles not good. Grafeeti.. Bubblegum on top bunk... Not mine. 1 day they did not cha.ge my bedding. I had to ask. Location. Staff where as stated. But friendly and helpfull anough. Other than they should inform you of breakfast instructions upon arrival.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: About 20mins walk to city centre, good free breakfast if you can wake up early enough. Rooms are basic but are all you need for a cheap stay. Good water pressure in shower

Disliked: No ladder to get onto top bunk , they provide a hand towel not a full size bath towel (still possible to dry yourself with if you don't pack a towel of your own), breakfast stops being served around 10am not 10:30 (on my first morning I was too late for breakfast at 10:10 )

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast

Disliked: Quite dirty, many school classes so quite loud sometimes, absolutely no possibilities to put your stuff somewhere in the bathroom, Not even a toilet seat, beds way to soft, the Type that you sink in, you have to like them on facebook in order to use their wifi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Rademeyer

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, fun, great location, good staff, great atmosphere. Not very strict so it fits with the Amsterdam vibe and everyone is fun and friendly.

Disliked: It's cheap and cheerful - advertised as no thrills and surprises you with a lot more thrills.. Clean beds, good sized lockers, housekeeping daily, 24 hour reception, towels and linnens. And all for a bargain price. If you don't like this hostel then you don't like hostels. Try a hotel next time and don't complain. This was an excellent place!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014

Liked: It's very near the city centre and the sights.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night, and the atmosphere is a bit dirty.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ana Cristina Muñoz Leyva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014

Liked: A lot of young ppl

Disliked: Too much crazyness, see-through shower, dirty, prision-like rooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Diego Antunes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

sara cabral

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014

Liked: location. the restaurant was nice. Free breakfast. The wifi worked fine in the bar.

Disliked: the dorms are too small, the bathroom is also too small and it is very dirty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Limited internet!!! Very loud at all times of day.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, reasonably clean, plenty of facilities.

Disliked: People yelling and running in the corridors all night. Probably best to avoid this place if you're not there to party.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: ..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location; close to main attractions and train station. Clean and comfortable beds Rooms were cleaned everyday Buffet Breakfast was included

Disliked: Curtains don't fully block out the sun and it heats up really quickly in the morning. It feels like you're waking up from your tent on a muggy summers day rather than waking up normally in your bed. The shower was a bit cramped and there was a small leak from the shower head. I was afraid the pipe would burst and water would flood the bathroom. The toilets are designed poorly... the hole is too close to the edge and there is an unecessary flat part of the toilet bowl which means pee splashes everywhere when boys go in for a leak. The wifi... it's terrible! You can only use facebook and not any other websites. What is worse is that in order to use facebook you have to like their page so it misleads people into thinking that it is a good hostel when in fact it is quite average.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Moodycliffe

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and friendly staff. The hostel was a lot of fun and very easy to meet others.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alexander niermann

With a large group / tour

City break

31 May 2014 alexander would recommend this property

Liked: for the money very good

Disliked: alexander left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast and services provided.

Disliked: The worst thing about this stay was the other guests. I often wondered if the fact that this was supposed to be "The Worst" allowed other guests to behave their worst. Also I would advise, if possible, that you take your own towels, as the ones provided are extremely small. But if you're backpacking I guess that doesn't matter so much ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to nightlife and vibrant parts of the city. Friendly staff and plenty on offer to do and see. Rooms were great size with clean sheets and hot water. You cannot fault this hostel.

Disliked: Club in the basement of the hostel could do with a bit of an update. Not very enticing and always quiet. No real atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alan Armstrong

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 March 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fun, good value and in a great position.

Disliked: Nothing major.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Madeleine Houlbrook-Walk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: It was relatively cheap and the location was within walking distance. To be fair, amsterdam is easy enough to walk from anywhere, but I would definitely recommend somewhere closer to this side of town, it's got cheaper food and it's more trendy I would say. The lockers in the room were good for passports etc, but won't fit a whole bag in. The reception staff were really helpful and the free breakfast has enough options to keep you going. Free luggage room was also good.

Disliked: The rooms are quite small, thin walls and the bathroom is small. The wifi is a bit cumbersome and doesn't reach the rooms but it works well enough in the bar/common room. Not much of an atmosphere at all but within the rooms people are friendly.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jesse Mahoney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Most affordable property for this time of year. Great for a bed and a shower, but quite an old building and its facilities. Did the job!

Disliked: Didn't really dislike anything; my locker was broken but I just used my partners instead.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Italo Parpinelli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013 Italo would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to most turistic places! Room is very cozy and the food is really tasty!

Disliked: Italo left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place,

Disliked: just wish they didn't make you leave for so long for cleaning and I wish check in was earlier.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the area, full of cool trendy shops and cafes. The hotel is clean but very basic. The bar has a good atmosphere and the barman was friendly.

Disliked: I found the reception staff (two different girls) to be a bit odd - I can't say if they were just tired/stoned or just plain rude. They did the job but I couldnt say they were welcoming or friendly, a smile doesnt cost a lot! People have told me that the Dutch are not overly friendly to tourists but I did not find this to be true anywhere we stayed or visited except for this hotel which is a shame. My only real complaint is that wifi is not available in the rooms, only the bar, this is very inconvenient.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Richard Thompson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Check out time

The property's response is...