HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

77.3% Overall Rating

1402 out of 1893 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"They had a lot of outlets, which made it easy for all of us to charge our phones. They had safes in each room at no extra charge. Towels came with the room."

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
109.18 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
26.26 USD

Hostel 87.5% 202 reviews
Three Tulips Apartment
80.15 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Rubiks Apartment
71.86 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Gecko Apartment
70.48 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Ivory Apartment
67.72 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
40.77 USD

Guesthouse 54.3% 110 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
345.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

1402 out of 1893 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 1059 of 1500 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 42 | 43   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and safe, other travellers nice and breakfast good and cheap.

Disliked: The location wasn't very good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARIMUTHU JAYASEELAN

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 MARIMUTHU would recommend this property

Liked: East procedures and less process

Disliked: Its bit possible but sharing private room with completely new people can be adjusted

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had a lot of outlets, which made it easy for all of us to charge our phones. They had safes in each room at no extra charge. Towels came with the room.

Disliked: I am not sure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was almost exactly how we turned out to be having viewed the photos.

Disliked: Unfortunately the heater was a little faulty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we think 15 euro per day for dorm of eight is a very good price for a city like amsterdam, location is far from city center but hotel is right next to the tram stop/bus stop/night bus, with direct line connection to various central attractions, so we love the location. private bathroom in dorm is clean and new and has hair dryer, which is a plus for us girls. wifi in room works.

Disliked: we dont like the staffs, the black hair girl at the reception was unfriendly and treated us guests like a charity case. the dorm is a bit small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dominic Powell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014

Liked: rooms were quiet

Disliked: Room wasn't ready at check in time and the lady at the front desk was far from encouraging

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014

Liked: Although it is not very good value, it can still be considered as cheap in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The hotel is a bit old and run-down, the staff members are very unprofessional, and the guests staying there are quite noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Barbosa

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2014 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Quite new building. Helpful staff.

Disliked: My bunk was so noisy that I had to put my mattress on the floor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NUUR FAKHIZAA ABU BAKAR

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 NUUR FAKHIZAA would recommend this property

Liked: I like the facts that it is very near to the tram stop. It is also easy to get there by tram and bus. You wouldn't have a problem to haul your luggage all the way from Central Station to the hotel. Apart from that, I really appreciate the hotel's dedication to do daily room cleaning without fail. My room was made up everyday and I thank the hotel for that. Grocery stores are nearby and next door on both sides are restaurants for you to grab your lunch or dinner.

Disliked: I jush hope the staffs are more friendlier. It was quite hard to expect smiles from them, especially from female staff. Also, please make the lobby more attractive and cozy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff in a hotel style environment at hostel prices! The 4 person private room is thoroughly recommendable.

Disliked: The location is a bother... you will need to use Tram/Bus to get to the city. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO WALK TO THE CITY! Although a variety of night buses from central station (69 being the bus to the Hostel) do help on those late nights!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Ford

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lot of freedom, we were able to check in when we needed to without hindrance, they didn't mind that we got in very late, we were able to go to the smoking area very late with no one questioning us.

Disliked: Lewis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatiana Teixeira

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Tatiana would recommend this property

Liked: It is really confortable e the people were really kind we all of us.

Disliked: It should have a bit more space in the bedrooms and in the bathroom it was too hot inside and we didn't know how too get it less hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Fergusson Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived early, (10.00am) and were allowed to check in straight away. The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was amazingly modern and very shiny! We were really surprised to find a safe in the wardrobe which we made use of. There was an issue with the safe and the hostel staff sorted it out quickly and pleasantly. The room was basic but had clean comfortably beds with decent linen and towels. The tram to the centre of Amsterdam couldn't have been easier and more convenient and it even dropped us right outside the hostel upon our return. The staff were a bit taciturn to start with but they were always helpful. We asked for a taxi one day and it arrived before we were ready for it! We heard the hostel was in a rough part of the city but we saw absolutely no evidence of this and we arrived home quite late most evenings. We liked to make tea in our room but there was no kettle, however the staff allowed us to use the hot water from the breakfast room.

Disliked: Not much! Could have done with a kettle... see above! As it's advertised as a hostel I was surprised there were no cooking facilities.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 March 2014

Liked: The location and the possiblity to have breakfast as a choice. So the price is lower.

Disliked: I had room 216 with a terrible noise nearly all night. I think from the airco or another machine (?) which was outside just besides the window. Further. no mixed rooms would be better but would make the stay perhaps more expensive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Arturo Botello

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

21 March 2014 Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: La relación precio calidad es muy buena. Es una excelente opción de hospedaje, en realidad es un hotel no un hostel. Esta lejos de Dam Square y de Rembrandt Square pero hay una parada enfrente del hotel (Plein 40 - 45) que te deja ahí en 10 minutos. El traslado del aeropuerto al hotel también es facilísimo en el autobús 69

Disliked: Que no hay wifi en las habitaciones solo en el lobby del hotel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gergana Ivanova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Gergana would recommend this property

Liked: You have three lines of transport just across the street and in 20 minutes you are in the centrum - every line passes by an attraction or a museum. The price is affordable and for it the conditioms are great

Disliked: Rooms are too small, but I think that is normal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Professionalism, cleaness and honesty.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, good facilities

Disliked: Is 20 mins ride from centre

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krysta Bruynson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Krysta would recommend this property

Liked: It didn't even feel like a hostel because it was so nice! Since it's a bit out of the city, it's nice and quiet. The staff at the reception desk on the first day was very helpful and friendly. The place was clean and the rooms were large.

Disliked: The location is a little far from the center of the city, but with the tram stopping right outside it doesn't make it a problem at all. The staff at the reception desk on the second day wasn't helpful at all when we asked him a few questions, so we just gave up asking him. Our room wasn't ready at 3:00 (check-in time) but this wasn't an inconvenience to us so it wasn't a big deal, but I can see it being an issue for some people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Akhilesh Agarwal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Akhilesh would recommend this property

Liked: Though the property was far and has huge space ... you can still have your time in this place. It has breakfast which was great even if you do not have breakfast included in your package you can eat at 5 Euros unlimited. Moreover the property was pretty clean and well maintained the staff was their 24 Hours we checked in at around 1 AM in the morning and had no problems. The linens were clean and arranged before we reached. The property seemed safe and secure.

Disliked: The rooms were a little small for the dorms. And it is like 35 mins by bus from the central amsterdam.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and we were provided most things we could need: WiFi, towels, toiletries.

Disliked: No ventilation in room for 4 meant we needed to open the window to the terrace on which people shuffled and made noise throughout the night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and safe

Disliked: Middle of nowhere not near much of the city

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People are friendly, location is easy to access even a little bit far from the town

Disliked: Too old without maintenance, lacking good public area for travellers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Amaris

Alone

Business / conference

22 February 2014 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice. The facilities feel super neat, clean and organized.

Disliked: It's a little bit far away from the city centre, which is not great if you're planning on partying on the city centre where most of the action is going on and then coming back after the trams have stopped working.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tamer Beylik

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Tamer would recommend this property

Liked: Its is cheaper and the rooms are ok.

Disliked: It was sometimes a little bit loud.