We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

72.2% Overall Rating

1470 out of 1981 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/10/2014)

Uladzimir Khomich thinks…

"The hostel is big and bright. Blankets were soft like clouds, that's what you need after a great party in the morning!!! It's clean. Location is fine, it isn't hard to get there."

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We will pre-authorise credit cards right after the bookings is made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
82.23 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
18.98 USD

Hostel 88.8% 270 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
24.67 USD

Guesthouse 50.5% 116 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
316.26 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Shelter Jordan
17.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.6% 18 reviews
Hotel Princess
8.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Blyss
47.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

1470 out of 1981 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
58.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 1108 of 1587 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 44 | 45   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Csaba Firkala

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Csaba would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was clean and comfortable, the staff were firendly.

Disliked: It is located a little bit far from City Center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WAQAS RAJA

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 November 2012 WAQAS would recommend this property

Liked: Good Hostel that is really meant of money.. Will Love to stay there anytime in Future

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012

Liked: alright breakfast

Disliked: location, staff, price

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jose Tavares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012

Liked: Breakfeast included.

Disliked: It is a hotel, actually.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

José Tavares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012

Liked: Breakfeast is includded and each room has it own toilet.

Disliked: There is no Kichen and it is a hotel, actually. You need to be open minded related with other guests, but it is a standard of backpackers.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 November 2012

Liked: The hotel is located close to a shopping area.is only good for shopping.

Disliked: the hotel lack renovation as such it is daty

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Light didn't work in bedroom

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price!

Disliked: For us it was fine, actually much better what we expected for that money!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not so expensive but still within 20 minutes from city center if you use public transport.

Disliked: Breakfast was the same every day, not many things to choose from.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and free breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Location is quite far away from the center but there is a trum stop next to the Hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was amazing! Was not expecting it to be so nice! Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was free!

Disliked: It was a little too hot in the room because the heating was constantly on and windows didn't open wide enough but it wasn't too much of a problem because the good definitely outweighed that!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karandeep Singh Vohra

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Karandeep Singh would recommend this property

Liked: Excellant locations , lovely large rooms and lovely spread for breakfast. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. They helped us a lot in planning our trip. There is a wifi areas but if you are close enough to it then the wifi is available in the room too. It is located close to an ALDI and various eateries which makes it ideal. The Tram line picks you up and drops you right in front of the hotel. The bus for the airport is also very easy to get.

Disliked: Just that mayeb they can start their breakfasts on Saturday a little early 7 45 for people who are touring for the tours they advertise are starting at 8 10 in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although its out of town it was very easy to find, its a hotel and it feels like a hotel, very nice clean and warm rooms plus free breckfast included!!

Disliked: It wasnt right in the centre which could be off putting for some people but its only a short tram ride and the stop is right outside the door, plus a night bus running regularly all hours..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to by car just of the main route and free parking avalaible to the rear of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Betina Belli Maliska

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Betina would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good shower and nice beds. The staff is not really sympathetic, but the service is polite and effective.

Disliked: The card machine was not working (that`s the hotel`s problem, not the guest`s problem, right?) , and we couldn't enter the room before paying, so we had to withdraw money before being able to enter our room; I consider that a lack of respect, they could have let us enter and rest, and pay later when the problem is fixed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gasper Kosmrlj

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 November 2012 Gasper would recommend this property

Liked: It's probably the best you can get for this money. Wi-fi is working, you get a great breakfast, reception is open 24/7 and it is really clean. You get a clean towel every day.

Disliked: Location is quite bad but connections from the central station are pretty good, so it's not that bad. There is also a bus after 2am going to the ho(s)tel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room which was a good size, with a TV and an en-suit shower just like you'd expect in a budget hotel. Got fresh towels every day and the bed was made. The room was very warm with a balcony just outdoors. The bedding was soft and the bed quite comfortable. There were bus and tram stops just outside the hostel, taking about 20mins to get to the city center. But the cheap price is worth the extra travel! The breakfast was good too!

Disliked: When we first entered the room it smelled of cigarettes even though smoking is not permitted in the hostel. The smell persisted as there is hardly any ventilation for the room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amy Peters

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The room we stayed in was just as described (a twin room with private bathroom) and the beds and bathroom were fine. Good shower in the bathroom which is always a big plus in a hostel! The room wasn't too glamorous, some stains on the wall but nothing too bad (nothing unhygienic at least!) The staff were nice enough too :)

Disliked: Only bad point really is the area (why it's so cheap though!) A little out of the way from the centre (20 mins by bus, the 21 will take you straight there!) As we were told by some locals 'this isn't a very nice area' Just take care at night, we didn't have any trouble.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and very clean.

Disliked: Only two safes in the room for four people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012

Liked: It was very cheap, cheapest I could find in Amsterdam actually, but now I know that is because it is so far from the city center. The breakfast was amazing though and we got clean towels each day. There was a flat screen TV in our room and a door that opened to a patio (shared with everyone else on the level). There was a small safe for my passport and important belongings.

Disliked: There were no ammenities in the room. I always bring my own shampoo/conditioner anyways, but there wasn't even soap in the bathroom! The luggage room is just a room in the basement that anyone has access too. If anything it is more unsafe to leave your luggage there then in your own room. The man at the front desk yelled at us for walking into the breakfast are with our backpacks, so we set them down outside the dining area, and then walked in to see half the people in there had backpacks.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: It was dirty. The staff was not friendly. They didn't even return most of our e-mails.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and Service

Disliked: One of the two rooms we stayed was not as good as the other

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Williams

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was VERY clean. I was very impressed. I liked that there were balconies on every floor so that if we wanted fresh air, we didn't have to go all the way downstairs. Everything was basically perfect, and the breakfast was a nice touch too!

Disliked: The only thing that I can suggest is maybe more public bathrooms? Other than that though, everything was very nice!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012

Liked: Breakfast was fine.

Disliked: Sketchy neighborhood, really sketchy people, no lockers, the whole place smelled.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

14 October 2012

Liked: This place is a weird converted 1970's hotel. Which actually sounds kinda cool, but has no atmosphere at all. No real common room or kitchen facilities. It's a fair way out of town, so take into account that amsterdam transport is quite expensive if you're staying short-term.

Disliked: Essentially this place is nothing but a fairly inconvenient place to sleep.