HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

68.7% Overall Rating

1448 out of 1954 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"The bathroom was clean which is essential the shower was also nice and there was a tv in the room , also supermarket right at the doorstep along with the tram"

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
100.43 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
42.85 USD

Hostel 83.0% 244 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
43.52 USD

Guesthouse 49.7% 114 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
334.76 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
44.64 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.7% 14 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
48.07 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.7%

Overall Rating

1448 out of 1954 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
56.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
68.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 1092 of 1560 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 43 | 44   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room which was a good size, with a TV and an en-suit shower just like you'd expect in a budget hotel. Got fresh towels every day and the bed was made. The room was very warm with a balcony just outdoors. The bedding was soft and the bed quite comfortable. There were bus and tram stops just outside the hostel, taking about 20mins to get to the city center. But the cheap price is worth the extra travel! The breakfast was good too!

Disliked: When we first entered the room it smelled of cigarettes even though smoking is not permitted in the hostel. The smell persisted as there is hardly any ventilation for the room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amy Peters

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The room we stayed in was just as described (a twin room with private bathroom) and the beds and bathroom were fine. Good shower in the bathroom which is always a big plus in a hostel! The room wasn't too glamorous, some stains on the wall but nothing too bad (nothing unhygienic at least!) The staff were nice enough too :)

Disliked: Only bad point really is the area (why it's so cheap though!) A little out of the way from the centre (20 mins by bus, the 21 will take you straight there!) As we were told by some locals 'this isn't a very nice area' Just take care at night, we didn't have any trouble.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and very clean.

Disliked: Only two safes in the room for four people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012

Liked: It was very cheap, cheapest I could find in Amsterdam actually, but now I know that is because it is so far from the city center. The breakfast was amazing though and we got clean towels each day. There was a flat screen TV in our room and a door that opened to a patio (shared with everyone else on the level). There was a small safe for my passport and important belongings.

Disliked: There were no ammenities in the room. I always bring my own shampoo/conditioner anyways, but there wasn't even soap in the bathroom! The luggage room is just a room in the basement that anyone has access too. If anything it is more unsafe to leave your luggage there then in your own room. The man at the front desk yelled at us for walking into the breakfast are with our backpacks, so we set them down outside the dining area, and then walked in to see half the people in there had backpacks.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: It was dirty. The staff was not friendly. They didn't even return most of our e-mails.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and Service

Disliked: One of the two rooms we stayed was not as good as the other

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Williams

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was VERY clean. I was very impressed. I liked that there were balconies on every floor so that if we wanted fresh air, we didn't have to go all the way downstairs. Everything was basically perfect, and the breakfast was a nice touch too!

Disliked: The only thing that I can suggest is maybe more public bathrooms? Other than that though, everything was very nice!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012

Liked: Breakfast was fine.

Disliked: Sketchy neighborhood, really sketchy people, no lockers, the whole place smelled.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

14 October 2012

Liked: This place is a weird converted 1970's hotel. Which actually sounds kinda cool, but has no atmosphere at all. No real common room or kitchen facilities. It's a fair way out of town, so take into account that amsterdam transport is quite expensive if you're staying short-term.

Disliked: Essentially this place is nothing but a fairly inconvenient place to sleep.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012

Liked: we got a free upgrade from a dorm to a private room. Beds and pillow were really comfy.

Disliked: There was mould all over the curtains. The building was really old, damp smell in the corridors and rooms. Location was 30mins by tram out of the city centre. Wifi didn't work at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found this hostel to be way above average in terms of the facilities with excellent plumbing, hot water and the freshest linens. The company was diverse and pleasant to be around.

Disliked: The internet terminals I saw could only be used standing as there were no stools for the high counters. I'm sure there must be other terminals on other floors with such amenities though. I was on a lower floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: other youths

Disliked: service

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Access to location very easy, it just direct in front of bus and tram halte. The room and private toilet also clean.

Disliked: Overall is okay, the hotel meet my expectation so far

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aniket Lokhande

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Aniket would recommend this property

Liked: I just loved the room and place. Super value to my money.

Disliked: Aniket left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was actually very friendly minus one worker during my time in Amsterdam. It is a bit far out from the center of the city, but by bus or tram it is extremely easy to get into the city.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Baran Alp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Baran would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is good and free. Room was really clean. And we were 4 people and hostel arrange 4 people private room for us against to we payed to 6 people dorm room.

Disliked: I didn't like only location because it takes about 30 mins from city centre by bus. But already we have been known that before we booked.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well connected with local transport. good breakfast

Disliked: could have had better pillow in the room. the television did not have a remote

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Santosh Kumar G K

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Santosh Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: Its clean and everything said was there. Great value for money.

Disliked: Its little far.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love that the rooms and bathrooms were clean. The breakfast was AWESOME!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Nicholas Colburn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 September 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: staying in the hostel dorm allowed us to meet new people. breakfest was also handy to get the day started.

Disliked: the rubbish in the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joe Howard Marsh

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2012

Liked: It had very friendly staff and is only 1 tram/bus away from Dam central station

Disliked: The area is quite dodgy, it is a troubled neighbourhood as people kept telling us and at one point we were almost shot at (not sure if it was a real gun or bb gun but it was clear they some people didnt want us there). Also none of the lockers were working at first but after telling the manager he fixed one for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was surprised by the kindness of the staff, cleans rooms, it's a nice place to stay at. And the breakfast is nice too ;)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Disney Fajardo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Disney would recommend this property

Liked: I had a good experience staying at Hostel Slotania. Good shared bedroom, clean, the shower was pretty good. Breakfast pretty good. People in charge of the desk were so helpful. Respect to location, I have no complains. It's not close to the center of Amsterdam but easy and quick access by trams and buses that takes you directly to the best of the city, and takes you back to the hostel in less than 20 minutes....

Disliked: No commentaries........

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's not clean enought

Disliked: They don't have lockers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.