We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

71.2% Overall Rating

1503 out of 2025 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2015)

Shashikiran Hanavadi Kemparaj thinks…

"It is the atmosphere which appeals to any tourist.a warm welcome adds up to the likes.and the location of the hotel.very much convenient from the airport.followed the directions printed on the…"

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We will pre-authorise credit cards right after the bookings is made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
41.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
27.20 USD

Hostel 87.8% 316 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
49.96 USD

Guesthouse 50.6% 118 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
72.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Shelter Jordan
35.52 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Budget Hostel Princess
13.32 USD

Hostel 68.0% 25 reviews
Hotel Blyss
30.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
32.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.2%

Overall Rating

1503 out of 2025 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
61.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 1137 of 1631 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 45 | 46   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE GOOD ABOUT THIS IS THAT THE BUS FROM AIRPORT stops at the front of the hostel

Disliked: The internet at the hostel is not working well.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were quite clean and every one had their own bathroom.The bar in the hostel is very nice and the Staff there is good and helps you out with any questions.

Disliked: The location is not very good. It is about 20 min by bus to the centraal station and an hour footwalk to the city centre. The staff at the front desk is not very helpful and they seem very tired.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ion Macrea

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 June 2013 Ion would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean place, cheap good breakfast!i will recommand it!!!

Disliked: No shower gell or soap.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 June 2013

Liked: Good breakfast buffet

Disliked: too small windows for a 4 pers room very small room for 4 persons not friendly at de reception, not helpful at all

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Boris Trayanov Borisov

Alone

Events / festivals

06 June 2013 Boris Trayanov would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the recepsionist

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Apollonia Vass

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Apollonia would recommend this property

Liked: Altough it is a hostel, and its quite cheap, there were TV and hair dryer in the room which I really appreciated.

Disliked: The location is terrible if you like nightlife as you need to take night buses which goes every half an hour and the journey takes about 20 minutes from the city center. If you stay in the hostel for long, it can be a very long journey to do every single day, and its not cheap either.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was inexpensive, well maintained, close to trams that could take you to the major places in the city, had a bar, was full of interesting people, had free WiFi, and free towels.

Disliked: The staff were always curt. However, I noticed that almost everyone in the service industry in Amsterdam was like that; perhaps that's a cultural thing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed our stay here. Although it is situated a little far out of the man city, you ca easily get a tram or bus within 10-15 mins.

Disliked: It was a bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael aris

Alone

City break

31 May 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Slotania is easy to get to from the airport and one single tram ride to dam square. . Very reasonable price...

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kirsten de Courcy Bower

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: It was good value for money, our budget was tight so were weren't expecting the Ritz. The room was tidy and the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would look to come back on a trip to Amsterdam again.

Disliked: There were some down points, but again you need to factor in the cost of the room. There was a smell in the hallway and our room of toilet waste - easily solved with a spritz or two of perfume. The toilet system on the whole was fairly fragile as our toilet in the room blokced up by our second day. It was quite a way from Amerstam central square (we walked it in around an hour and a half) but on the tram it only take 20mins if that - depending on where you want to go. Travel cards are easy and cheap, which you can get nat a shope just outside central station. As you can see there were things that could be improved by arguably it would have increased the cost of our stay.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013

Liked: This hostel is run like a hotel with extra beds in each room. So on the plus side, you get your sheets changed everyday and the cleaning is fairly vigorous. This room might suit couples or families on a tight budget who want to stay out of the city a bit in a fairly quiet neighbourhood. Nice showers.

Disliked: I booked because of the price, but found myself paying the excess on trams anyway. Terribly located for seeing the city (though in fairness, it does warn that). Staff answered questions when asked, but curtly and without smiles. No real common room. No kitchen. Not conducive to meeting people. Average breakfast and tiny lockers. Depends what experience you're after, but for meeting people or partying, definitely look elsewhere.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good organization

Disliked: The hostel wasn't clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic but comfortable, clean with helpful staff.

Disliked: A bit noisy as alot of younger lounder visitors staying

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great with direct tram connection to the city centre about 15 minutes away ...

Disliked: no parking available as promised on the website, parking at the street was very expensive ... also the cleanliness of rooms was not very good ...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was nice n clean room the shower was amazing staff were friendly i would like to stay there again is abt 15 min to 20 mins to get to dam square but get a travel card n u can get on the tram n bus n even the night bus. also there is an aldi right a cross good place to buy munchies lol n soft drinks in the shopping center there is a good price alchool spirits n bears drink before you go cus amesterdam is expensive , fredo its a cool n affordable take away . suggest the breakfast at the hostel its 5 euros and its good food for the value

Disliked: our toilet didn't flush very well but we survived the room was warm wish the windows could open and the door by the balcony.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Wauchope

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013

Liked: Close to the tram line. Not much else was likeable.

Disliked: The room was horrible and filthy. Had a torn open condom packet under the bed so not cleaned very well. Dust on everything, stained curtains and floor, noisy, did not feel safe or secure, free WiFi didn't work (out of range in the room), lots of broken stuff throughout. Old and run down and not worth the money. Ratings on hostelbookers are way too inflated for this place.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Wifi was horrible And had frequent disconnections. There was no soap provided in the bathroom at all. Room was very dusty, hotel service was not satisfactory. Beds were squeaky and noisy. I had a 6-bed room and Hotel allowed new guests to check in at 3am in the morning, disturbing sleep.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liu ziming

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Liu would recommend this property

Liked: the twoles change every day. it takes 20min to the city centre. but it worth the price.

Disliked: we cannot have wifi in room,which is not good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Valeriy Zaytsev

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 April 2013 Valeriy would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast :)

Disliked: the answer is not politically correct

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, toilets, beds.

Disliked: the staff at the reception were not friendly and not helping.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, helpful staff.

Disliked: Located quite a way out from the centre.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 April 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Filthy hallways, no common consideration for other travelers. A deep un-ease, felt creepy and very un-safe.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Samitha Hiranya Egodage

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Samitha Hiranya would recommend this property

Liked: Except for its location it's a nice place to stay, especially if you not in a hurry. Toilets are clean and nice. There is an adjacent food outlet which is opened till late. This place provides the basic needs for a backpacker.

Disliked: This is not located in the heart of the city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good hotel, even if it's a little far from the centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daphne Geninazza

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Daphne would recommend this property

Liked: Although out of the centre of town with a travel ticket that enables you to travel on buses trams and metro I didn't find it a problem and was able to see something other than the tourist route ...trams and buses are frequent and stop right outside the door...The Hotel, was very clean, the bathroom spotless ..fresh towels everyday and even pillow cases, the beds were clean and comfortable. Breakfast there is everything you can think of and eat as much as you like, the bread and rolls so fresh they're still warm..I had a problem with late revellers at 3.15 I went to the reception who sorted it straight away no questions asked, the night reception staff are very good. A safety deposit box in your room you put your own number of choice so things are perfectly safe. I would definitely go back to this hotel and highly recommend it to others if you don't mind being out of town, there are shops restaurants all close by and a daily market too. I found it excellent value

Disliked: The downsides, the day time reception staff are unfriendly and not at all helpful, the dining room has several staff most of whom do nothing so tables are left cluttered, one particular Asian employee took 2 young girls to task for making a sandwich and putting it in their bags, but he was far from discreet he made them look small in front of every one shouting at them, plus he told them they had to pay 5 euros for the food and a 10 euro fine !!!....another surprise was on my arrival I was told my bill was not as I was told by Hostelbookers ..the total price to pay in local currency...it was 40 euros higher !!!..I was told it was city tax !!!....with this hotel the staff are the main problem the rest I couldn't fault...