HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

69.8% Overall Rating

1445 out of 1951 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"The bathroom was clean which is essential the shower was also nice and there was a tv in the room , also supermarket right at the doorstep along with the tram"

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.72

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
134.34 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
41.64 USD

Hostel 84.9% 242 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
43.66 USD

Guesthouse 49.7% 114 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
335.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
44.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.2% 13 reviews
Hotel Blyss
48.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
45.54 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

1445 out of 1951 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 1090 of 1557 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 43 | 44   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

elizabeth compson

Alone

City break

24 February 2013 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The low price

Disliked: Further out of city center, door was hard to lock, mold on walls

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard O'Shea

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 February 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Right near the tram stop that takes you to dam square, and has a local Aldi supermarket selling beer at 25c a bottle!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Hetherington

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The free use of computers and wifi - very useful!

Disliked: The computers were not left on at all times and the internet periodically broke which was highly frustrating.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013

Liked: Extremely clean, felt like we were staying at a hotel from the way that rooms and corridors were clean On arrival we were given a map and informed of which buses/trams took us where in Amsterdam Close to a shopping centre, once we checked out this was a nice place to go and kill time with my girlfriend enjoying the shops

Disliked: We came back from a night out with my girlfriend needing a drink of water. She was told by the man on front desk to drink a glass of tap water from the bathroom in our room. The room did not have a glass, even a dog is afforded a bowl to drink from. Room (155) had the outside window of its double pane smashed and the glass was lying at the bottom of the recess between the panes. Looked ugly. No tea or coffee facilities. I have stayed at hostels worldwide and always been given access to tea and coffee. Following the breakfast misunderstanding the member of staff very abruptly and rudely told us to go to front desk. At front desk the tactfulness and diplomacy was equally bad. No attempt at customer service

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013

Liked: The price

Disliked: the rooms were quite dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013

Liked: Pros: * Value Cons: * Bed Bugs * Corridors that smelt of cigarettes * Lack of housekeeping * So far from everything

Disliked: Cons: * Bed Bugs * Corridors that smelt of cigarettes * Lack of housekeeping * So far from everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manjari Mohandass

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Manjari would recommend this property

Liked: Very hygienic and clean! Right next to a supermarket. Well informed staff .

Disliked: half an hour away from the centre. Also, there's no kitchen!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Cain

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. Very good transport connections. Situated in a Turkish part of Amsterdam with very good shops and restaurants (Konak) and one perfect welcoming bar (Café Zomerlust)!

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: modern, and affordable

Disliked: nothing, better than all i have ever been to as a traveller

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfest was great.

Disliked: Only 2 keys for a 8 people room, but no real problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

DANIEL CASTRO

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a good hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ROSHNI PRAMANIK

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 January 2013 ROSHNI would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely accommodating staff. Regular service and cleaning in hostel rooms. Sumptuous breakfast! Although not situated right at the Centre, the amazing city transport of Amsterdam takes me to this place in max 20 minutes, even in rush hour traffic! The tram and bus stations right next to the hostel makes it a very good choice if I am not paranoid about City Centre. We are a couple, arrived at the hostel as early as 06.30 hrs, though the check in hour was 15.00, no extra charges were asked for but we received a welcome smile !

Disliked: A faster wireless internet connection expected.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: BED BUGS, rude staff, television in room did not work, multiple hairs found on mattresses, no chair in room, rooms and hallways were dirty. When we found bed bugs and even took a picture to show the staff, they refused to believe us at first and told us we were the only ones to say they had bed bugs. When I showed them the picture, they told me "don't put that on the internet or anything." We finally got them to give us a new room, but we couldn't sleep the entire night because of our encounter with at least three bed bugs. The hostel staff told us they've "never had bed bugs," but another staff member said "Some hotels have bed bugs and some don't." The staff attitude toward the situation was unacceptable. If you don't want to wake up with bed bug bites, I suggest you stay at another hostel. My friend and I had to spend 30 euros at the laundromat to wash any eggs out of our belongings. We asked for a refund/discount, but were told we had to email the manager. No response at the time of this review.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sarah Harris

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 January 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, comfy beds, cheap, and free breakfast.

Disliked: no wifi in the rooms, not a good location, no kitchen. more like a hotel than a hostel, except for the dorms, obviously!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amit Hegde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Amit would recommend this property

Liked: House keeping staff cleaned the rooms every day and it was neat.. hadn't spend much time in the hotel still whatever little time enjoyed it.. free wifi was good..

Disliked: location is a bit far from the city centre, however good bus and tram connections available.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily accessible. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Quite far from the city center. Just plan on buying day passes for the public transportation (7,50 euros).

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013

Liked: Clean towels every day and good breakfast included with stay

Disliked: Rooms dirty, halls smelled like pee, they wouldnt tell me where there was a laundromat because they wanted me to pay them to do my washing for a large fee, not safe- key to luggage storage given out to anyone who asked for it, staff at desk were not polite.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jose Gomez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 December 2012 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: no much, the bathroom was clean and the beds were confortable

Disliked: the people in the reception

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Christina Hoeper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012

Liked: bus stop right out the front

Disliked: dirty, warm milk at breakfast, poor atmosphere, staff not that friendly and really far from the centre

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Mathauserova

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: It's still called s 'hotel' and it looks like a former posh place now made into a hostel. The corridors with the red carpets and the breakfast hall still look posh, a bit used of course though. Speaking of breakfast - it's amazing. Also the staff cleans the rooms really properly provided you remove all your stuff from the ground and place it in the wardrobe!

Disliked: The computers in the hall weren't working, when I complained they got one of them repaired. But you can't use your usb charger it's just for browsing the net and it's terribly slow so it's better not to count on it and bring your own laptop

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012

Liked: The breakfast

Disliked: The lack of cleanliness, lockers and help from the staff

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SABYASACHI MUKHERJEE

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2012 SABYASACHI would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration and facilities.

Disliked: There should be some more computers for public usage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast and fancy interior

Disliked: it was far away from the centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sean turnbull

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 December 2012 sean would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS CLEAN, TIDY AND FRIENDLY

Disliked: LITTLE BIT FAR OUT OF CITY CENTRE (NOT A REAL DISLIKE BUT THE ONLY THING I COULD THINK OF)