We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

72.0% Overall Rating

1472 out of 1983 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/12/2014)

Sean Ragusa thinks…

"It's a large property. Always people coming and going. The location was quite a distance from City center, however the 7 and 14 Tram ran on a regular basis, so it gave you more of a chance to explore…"

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We will pre-authorise credit cards right after the bookings is made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
126.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
20.24 USD

Hostel 89.7% 272 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
23.72 USD

Guesthouse 50.5% 116 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
82.23 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Shelter Jordan
17.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.6% 18 reviews
Hotel Princess
7.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Blyss
30.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.0%

Overall Rating

1472 out of 1983 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
72.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 1109 of 1589 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 44 | 45   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Barbosa de Azambuja

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Awais Ghulam Nabi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Awais would recommend this property

Liked: The price was good. Though the location is not near the center, but if u have a bus card, then no worries. We went out in the city, leaving a messy room, when we got back, everything was cleaned and properly organized.

Disliked: At the time of check-in we were charged more than the price we booked online. At the time of check-in, we were not greeted well. The receptionist was not friendly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to halal restaurant and market

Disliked: far from tourist attraction

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's actually more like a hotel - we rented a 3-bed room with private bathroom. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The bathroom was modern, with a spacious shower.

Disliked: The hotel is a bit far from the centre, but it's not too bad: 15 minutes with the tram, which stops right in front of the hotel. Also, the WiFi signal was quite weak.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawn Cohen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2013 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: the guy at the desk was very friendly and explained how to get into town by bus and tram, and where to get off which made getting around very easy since the hostel is a bit far out (only 20 mins to get in and the bus and two trams are frequent and stop pretty much outside the hostel) there was also a computer with free internet access if you need to check your emails and a supermarket nearby which was handy.

Disliked: nothing, was a bit far out to bike from the train station but to be honest we got a little lost and it took longer than it should have

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013

Liked: Nothing, just that the bathroom are okey

Disliked: It was so far away from the city center in bus like 40 mins, the services is awfull, the staff is so rude, i have a lot of troubles in there, when i was there i wasnt the only one with troubles with the women in the reception,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location of this hotel is very near the tram station (plein 40-45) so it is very easy to travel to the centre of asmterdam although the location of the hotel itself is outside the city. The room is clean and the bed is totally comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was fine

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: Little bit cold during winter / fall. Rooms are small, but price is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, cheap

Disliked: not very safe

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Kalogirou

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013

Liked: It was more like a hotel, the room was better than what we expected.

Disliked: The security was really bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

cristian buzdugan

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

26 March 2013 cristian would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: evriting kkk

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013

Liked: Cleanliness, helpful staff, TV in room and a decent ensuite bathroom.

Disliked: Location - Hostel is in a less than desirable part of town and is a fair distance from anything at all worth seeing in Amsterdam.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mike Sinden

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 March 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Good room / bathroom size. Clean / tidy/ warm - also very quiet

Disliked: Further out of the city centre than anticipated

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraldo Santana Nogueira Junior

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Geraldo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleaniness of the room. I got in fact a whole room for myself. And It had a shower. For me, it was pretty good. Although I would like if they have a locker to store my backpack, they did have a small safe for document, and other imporant items.

Disliked: It is very far from the main sights, but it takes you only 16 minutes from Dam Square on a tram. It is a very big hostel, and not much room for socializing. Although you will be smelling weed constantly, for me it doesnt a major issue but it might be for some people. But again, that's Amsterdam.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zoltan Kun

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast, the fresh towels, the adjustable heating

Disliked: The wall of the bathroom was not clean. The bed was way too soft could hardly sleep, the safe in the room was locked, so could not use it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristina Romanchenko

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in 6 bed girls room. The room is clean, with new repairment. There is an own bathroom in very good condition. At night it was a little bit cold but it is possible to regulate the heating but we did not know about this trick at first night.

Disliked: It is far from city center but there is a train and bus station just in front of the hostel, so it was very convinient to get there. It was a little bit noisy but it is usual about hostels.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, cheap and each room has its own bathroom with shower.

Disliked: 2 of the 3 staff were not helpful and a bit rude. Also it takes awhile to get to city center.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paloma de Castro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: Very big property, great breakfast, great bathroom and beds.

Disliked: I booked the same room as my friends, but since we did it separately, they put us in different rooms. I asked if we could be in the same room and the receptionist said "No, but you'll be staying here just for one night". There was enough space for me in my friends room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Apostolo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: One of the reception employees wasn't very nice. We had a problem with the light and they took quite some time to solve it

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

elizabeth compson

Alone

City break

24 February 2013 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The low price

Disliked: Further out of city center, door was hard to lock, mold on walls

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard O'Shea

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 February 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Right near the tram stop that takes you to dam square, and has a local Aldi supermarket selling beer at 25c a bottle!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Hetherington

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The free use of computers and wifi - very useful!

Disliked: The computers were not left on at all times and the internet periodically broke which was highly frustrating.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013

Liked: Extremely clean, felt like we were staying at a hotel from the way that rooms and corridors were clean On arrival we were given a map and informed of which buses/trams took us where in Amsterdam Close to a shopping centre, once we checked out this was a nice place to go and kill time with my girlfriend enjoying the shops

Disliked: We came back from a night out with my girlfriend needing a drink of water. She was told by the man on front desk to drink a glass of tap water from the bathroom in our room. The room did not have a glass, even a dog is afforded a bowl to drink from. Room (155) had the outside window of its double pane smashed and the glass was lying at the bottom of the recess between the panes. Looked ugly. No tea or coffee facilities. I have stayed at hostels worldwide and always been given access to tea and coffee. Following the breakfast misunderstanding the member of staff very abruptly and rudely told us to go to front desk. At front desk the tactfulness and diplomacy was equally bad. No attempt at customer service

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013

Liked: The price

Disliked: the rooms were quite dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013

Liked: Pros: * Value Cons: * Bed Bugs * Corridors that smelt of cigarettes * Lack of housekeeping * So far from everything

Disliked: Cons: * Bed Bugs * Corridors that smelt of cigarettes * Lack of housekeeping * So far from everything