HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

69.5% Overall Rating

1457 out of 1966 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"Wifi is not so good in the room. But they are so helpful to let us check in very early and check out late."

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
86.24 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
29.85 USD

Hostel 85.8% 261 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
43.12 USD

Guesthouse 50.5% 116 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
331.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
44.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews
Hotel Blyss
68.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
47.63 USD

Hostel 84.3% 775 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

1457 out of 1966 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
51.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
68.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 1099 of 1570 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 43 | 44   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

cristian buzdugan

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

26 March 2013 cristian would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: evriting kkk

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013

Liked: Cleanliness, helpful staff, TV in room and a decent ensuite bathroom.

Disliked: Location - Hostel is in a less than desirable part of town and is a fair distance from anything at all worth seeing in Amsterdam.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mike Sinden

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 March 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Good room / bathroom size. Clean / tidy/ warm - also very quiet

Disliked: Further out of the city centre than anticipated

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraldo Santana Nogueira Junior

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Geraldo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleaniness of the room. I got in fact a whole room for myself. And It had a shower. For me, it was pretty good. Although I would like if they have a locker to store my backpack, they did have a small safe for document, and other imporant items.

Disliked: It is very far from the main sights, but it takes you only 16 minutes from Dam Square on a tram. It is a very big hostel, and not much room for socializing. Although you will be smelling weed constantly, for me it doesnt a major issue but it might be for some people. But again, that's Amsterdam.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zoltan Kun

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast, the fresh towels, the adjustable heating

Disliked: The wall of the bathroom was not clean. The bed was way too soft could hardly sleep, the safe in the room was locked, so could not use it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristina Romanchenko

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in 6 bed girls room. The room is clean, with new repairment. There is an own bathroom in very good condition. At night it was a little bit cold but it is possible to regulate the heating but we did not know about this trick at first night.

Disliked: It is far from city center but there is a train and bus station just in front of the hostel, so it was very convinient to get there. It was a little bit noisy but it is usual about hostels.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, cheap and each room has its own bathroom with shower.

Disliked: 2 of the 3 staff were not helpful and a bit rude. Also it takes awhile to get to city center.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paloma de Castro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: Very big property, great breakfast, great bathroom and beds.

Disliked: I booked the same room as my friends, but since we did it separately, they put us in different rooms. I asked if we could be in the same room and the receptionist said "No, but you'll be staying here just for one night". There was enough space for me in my friends room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Apostolo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: One of the reception employees wasn't very nice. We had a problem with the light and they took quite some time to solve it

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

elizabeth compson

Alone

City break

24 February 2013 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The low price

Disliked: Further out of city center, door was hard to lock, mold on walls

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard O'Shea

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 February 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Right near the tram stop that takes you to dam square, and has a local Aldi supermarket selling beer at 25c a bottle!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Hetherington

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The free use of computers and wifi - very useful!

Disliked: The computers were not left on at all times and the internet periodically broke which was highly frustrating.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013

Liked: Extremely clean, felt like we were staying at a hotel from the way that rooms and corridors were clean On arrival we were given a map and informed of which buses/trams took us where in Amsterdam Close to a shopping centre, once we checked out this was a nice place to go and kill time with my girlfriend enjoying the shops

Disliked: We came back from a night out with my girlfriend needing a drink of water. She was told by the man on front desk to drink a glass of tap water from the bathroom in our room. The room did not have a glass, even a dog is afforded a bowl to drink from. Room (155) had the outside window of its double pane smashed and the glass was lying at the bottom of the recess between the panes. Looked ugly. No tea or coffee facilities. I have stayed at hostels worldwide and always been given access to tea and coffee. Following the breakfast misunderstanding the member of staff very abruptly and rudely told us to go to front desk. At front desk the tactfulness and diplomacy was equally bad. No attempt at customer service

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013

Liked: The price

Disliked: the rooms were quite dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013

Liked: Pros: * Value Cons: * Bed Bugs * Corridors that smelt of cigarettes * Lack of housekeeping * So far from everything

Disliked: Cons: * Bed Bugs * Corridors that smelt of cigarettes * Lack of housekeeping * So far from everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manjari Mohandass

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Manjari would recommend this property

Liked: Very hygienic and clean! Right next to a supermarket. Well informed staff .

Disliked: half an hour away from the centre. Also, there's no kitchen!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Cain

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. Very good transport connections. Situated in a Turkish part of Amsterdam with very good shops and restaurants (Konak) and one perfect welcoming bar (Café Zomerlust)!

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: modern, and affordable

Disliked: nothing, better than all i have ever been to as a traveller

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfest was great.

Disliked: Only 2 keys for a 8 people room, but no real problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

DANIEL CASTRO

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a good hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ROSHNI PRAMANIK

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 January 2013 ROSHNI would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely accommodating staff. Regular service and cleaning in hostel rooms. Sumptuous breakfast! Although not situated right at the Centre, the amazing city transport of Amsterdam takes me to this place in max 20 minutes, even in rush hour traffic! The tram and bus stations right next to the hostel makes it a very good choice if I am not paranoid about City Centre. We are a couple, arrived at the hostel as early as 06.30 hrs, though the check in hour was 15.00, no extra charges were asked for but we received a welcome smile !

Disliked: A faster wireless internet connection expected.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: BED BUGS, rude staff, television in room did not work, multiple hairs found on mattresses, no chair in room, rooms and hallways were dirty. When we found bed bugs and even took a picture to show the staff, they refused to believe us at first and told us we were the only ones to say they had bed bugs. When I showed them the picture, they told me "don't put that on the internet or anything." We finally got them to give us a new room, but we couldn't sleep the entire night because of our encounter with at least three bed bugs. The hostel staff told us they've "never had bed bugs," but another staff member said "Some hotels have bed bugs and some don't." The staff attitude toward the situation was unacceptable. If you don't want to wake up with bed bug bites, I suggest you stay at another hostel. My friend and I had to spend 30 euros at the laundromat to wash any eggs out of our belongings. We asked for a refund/discount, but were told we had to email the manager. No response at the time of this review.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sarah Harris

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 January 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, comfy beds, cheap, and free breakfast.

Disliked: no wifi in the rooms, not a good location, no kitchen. more like a hotel than a hostel, except for the dorms, obviously!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amit Hegde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Amit would recommend this property

Liked: House keeping staff cleaned the rooms every day and it was neat.. hadn't spend much time in the hotel still whatever little time enjoyed it.. free wifi was good..

Disliked: location is a bit far from the city centre, however good bus and tram connections available.