HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

69.5% Overall Rating

1457 out of 1966 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"Wifi is not so good in the room. But they are so helpful to let us check in very early and check out late."

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
86.24 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
29.85 USD

Hostel 85.8% 261 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
43.12 USD

Guesthouse 50.5% 116 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
331.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
44.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews
Hotel Blyss
68.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
47.63 USD

Hostel 84.3% 775 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

1457 out of 1966 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
51.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
68.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 1099 of 1570 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 43 | 44   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great with direct tram connection to the city centre about 15 minutes away ...

Disliked: no parking available as promised on the website, parking at the street was very expensive ... also the cleanliness of rooms was not very good ...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was nice n clean room the shower was amazing staff were friendly i would like to stay there again is abt 15 min to 20 mins to get to dam square but get a travel card n u can get on the tram n bus n even the night bus. also there is an aldi right a cross good place to buy munchies lol n soft drinks in the shopping center there is a good price alchool spirits n bears drink before you go cus amesterdam is expensive , fredo its a cool n affordable take away . suggest the breakfast at the hostel its 5 euros and its good food for the value

Disliked: our toilet didn't flush very well but we survived the room was warm wish the windows could open and the door by the balcony.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Wauchope

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013

Liked: Close to the tram line. Not much else was likeable.

Disliked: The room was horrible and filthy. Had a torn open condom packet under the bed so not cleaned very well. Dust on everything, stained curtains and floor, noisy, did not feel safe or secure, free WiFi didn't work (out of range in the room), lots of broken stuff throughout. Old and run down and not worth the money. Ratings on hostelbookers are way too inflated for this place.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Wifi was horrible And had frequent disconnections. There was no soap provided in the bathroom at all. Room was very dusty, hotel service was not satisfactory. Beds were squeaky and noisy. I had a 6-bed room and Hotel allowed new guests to check in at 3am in the morning, disturbing sleep.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liu ziming

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Liu would recommend this property

Liked: the twoles change every day. it takes 20min to the city centre. but it worth the price.

Disliked: we cannot have wifi in room,which is not good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Valeriy Zaytsev

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 April 2013 Valeriy would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast :)

Disliked: the answer is not politically correct

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, toilets, beds.

Disliked: the staff at the reception were not friendly and not helping.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, helpful staff.

Disliked: Located quite a way out from the centre.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 April 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Filthy hallways, no common consideration for other travelers. A deep un-ease, felt creepy and very un-safe.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Samitha Hiranya Egodage

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Samitha Hiranya would recommend this property

Liked: Except for its location it's a nice place to stay, especially if you not in a hurry. Toilets are clean and nice. There is an adjacent food outlet which is opened till late. This place provides the basic needs for a backpacker.

Disliked: This is not located in the heart of the city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good hotel, even if it's a little far from the centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daphne Geninazza

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Daphne would recommend this property

Liked: Although out of the centre of town with a travel ticket that enables you to travel on buses trams and metro I didn't find it a problem and was able to see something other than the tourist route ...trams and buses are frequent and stop right outside the door...The Hotel, was very clean, the bathroom spotless ..fresh towels everyday and even pillow cases, the beds were clean and comfortable. Breakfast there is everything you can think of and eat as much as you like, the bread and rolls so fresh they're still warm..I had a problem with late revellers at 3.15 I went to the reception who sorted it straight away no questions asked, the night reception staff are very good. A safety deposit box in your room you put your own number of choice so things are perfectly safe. I would definitely go back to this hotel and highly recommend it to others if you don't mind being out of town, there are shops restaurants all close by and a daily market too. I found it excellent value

Disliked: The downsides, the day time reception staff are unfriendly and not at all helpful, the dining room has several staff most of whom do nothing so tables are left cluttered, one particular Asian employee took 2 young girls to task for making a sandwich and putting it in their bags, but he was far from discreet he made them look small in front of every one shouting at them, plus he told them they had to pay 5 euros for the food and a 10 euro fine !!!....another surprise was on my arrival I was told my bill was not as I was told by Hostelbookers ..the total price to pay in local currency...it was 40 euros higher !!!..I was told it was city tax !!!....with this hotel the staff are the main problem the rest I couldn't fault...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property has a bus stop exactly outside the front door which takes you all the way to the airport. Bus 69 and cost 2.80 euros. Absolutely fine place if you simply need a bed for the night, and probably nice as a group booking with your own room. Bus out of town centre number 21 also 2.80 euros. If you are doing

Disliked: Bunk bed would become a bit cramped for any length of time if you did not know the people you were sharing with..

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013

Liked: One woman at the front desk was very helpful, unfortunately her coworkers were not.

Disliked: First of all, the clerk who checked us in made sure to tell us that smoking was NOT allowed (not a problem since neither of us smokes). However, as soon as we got to our room, we could immediately tell that our neighbors were smoking. We told the clerk and asked if we could switch rooms, which he said we couldn't. Tonight we smelled a lot of smoke and the floor felt hot. We were concerned that there might be a fire. We told the clerk downstairs who was extremely rude to us and basically told us we were wrong, that they have a smoke alarm system in check, which sounds like a complete lie. A number of the other clerks were extremely rude to us and treated us like we were stupid. Along with that, our room was not clean, we didn't get fitted sheets, only flat ones tucked into the mattress. There was a TV but no remote and the only way to turn it on/off was to plug or unplug it, the first day we only had two towels, and no hand towels.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and they had private bathroom, it has a bus and tram stop right across the street

Disliked: it was a bit far from city center , around 20 minutes by bus, there was a lady at the reception who was kind grumpy and the halls are dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Barbosa de Azambuja

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Awais Ghulam Nabi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Awais would recommend this property

Liked: The price was good. Though the location is not near the center, but if u have a bus card, then no worries. We went out in the city, leaving a messy room, when we got back, everything was cleaned and properly organized.

Disliked: At the time of check-in we were charged more than the price we booked online. At the time of check-in, we were not greeted well. The receptionist was not friendly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to halal restaurant and market

Disliked: far from tourist attraction

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's actually more like a hotel - we rented a 3-bed room with private bathroom. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The bathroom was modern, with a spacious shower.

Disliked: The hotel is a bit far from the centre, but it's not too bad: 15 minutes with the tram, which stops right in front of the hotel. Also, the WiFi signal was quite weak.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawn Cohen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2013 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: the guy at the desk was very friendly and explained how to get into town by bus and tram, and where to get off which made getting around very easy since the hostel is a bit far out (only 20 mins to get in and the bus and two trams are frequent and stop pretty much outside the hostel) there was also a computer with free internet access if you need to check your emails and a supermarket nearby which was handy.

Disliked: nothing, was a bit far out to bike from the train station but to be honest we got a little lost and it took longer than it should have

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013

Liked: Nothing, just that the bathroom are okey

Disliked: It was so far away from the city center in bus like 40 mins, the services is awfull, the staff is so rude, i have a lot of troubles in there, when i was there i wasnt the only one with troubles with the women in the reception,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location of this hotel is very near the tram station (plein 40-45) so it is very easy to travel to the centre of asmterdam although the location of the hotel itself is outside the city. The room is clean and the bed is totally comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was fine

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: Little bit cold during winter / fall. Rooms are small, but price is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, cheap

Disliked: not very safe

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Kalogirou

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013

Liked: It was more like a hotel, the room was better than what we expected.

Disliked: The security was really bad.