HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

71.4% Overall Rating

1443 out of 1949 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"The bathroom was clean which is essential the shower was also nice and there was a tv in the room , also supermarket right at the doorstep along with the tram"

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
134.28 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
37.60 USD

Hostel 84.8% 240 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
43.64 USD

Guesthouse 49.7% 114 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
335.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
44.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.2% 13 reviews
Hotel Blyss
50.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
45.52 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

1443 out of 1949 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 1089 of 1556 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 43 | 44   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good hotel, even if it's a little far from the centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daphne Geninazza

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Daphne would recommend this property

Liked: Although out of the centre of town with a travel ticket that enables you to travel on buses trams and metro I didn't find it a problem and was able to see something other than the tourist route ...trams and buses are frequent and stop right outside the door...The Hotel, was very clean, the bathroom spotless ..fresh towels everyday and even pillow cases, the beds were clean and comfortable. Breakfast there is everything you can think of and eat as much as you like, the bread and rolls so fresh they're still warm..I had a problem with late revellers at 3.15 I went to the reception who sorted it straight away no questions asked, the night reception staff are very good. A safety deposit box in your room you put your own number of choice so things are perfectly safe. I would definitely go back to this hotel and highly recommend it to others if you don't mind being out of town, there are shops restaurants all close by and a daily market too. I found it excellent value

Disliked: The downsides, the day time reception staff are unfriendly and not at all helpful, the dining room has several staff most of whom do nothing so tables are left cluttered, one particular Asian employee took 2 young girls to task for making a sandwich and putting it in their bags, but he was far from discreet he made them look small in front of every one shouting at them, plus he told them they had to pay 5 euros for the food and a 10 euro fine !!!....another surprise was on my arrival I was told my bill was not as I was told by Hostelbookers ..the total price to pay in local currency...it was 40 euros higher !!!..I was told it was city tax !!!....with this hotel the staff are the main problem the rest I couldn't fault...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property has a bus stop exactly outside the front door which takes you all the way to the airport. Bus 69 and cost 2.80 euros. Absolutely fine place if you simply need a bed for the night, and probably nice as a group booking with your own room. Bus out of town centre number 21 also 2.80 euros. If you are doing

Disliked: Bunk bed would become a bit cramped for any length of time if you did not know the people you were sharing with..

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013

Liked: One woman at the front desk was very helpful, unfortunately her coworkers were not.

Disliked: First of all, the clerk who checked us in made sure to tell us that smoking was NOT allowed (not a problem since neither of us smokes). However, as soon as we got to our room, we could immediately tell that our neighbors were smoking. We told the clerk and asked if we could switch rooms, which he said we couldn't. Tonight we smelled a lot of smoke and the floor felt hot. We were concerned that there might be a fire. We told the clerk downstairs who was extremely rude to us and basically told us we were wrong, that they have a smoke alarm system in check, which sounds like a complete lie. A number of the other clerks were extremely rude to us and treated us like we were stupid. Along with that, our room was not clean, we didn't get fitted sheets, only flat ones tucked into the mattress. There was a TV but no remote and the only way to turn it on/off was to plug or unplug it, the first day we only had two towels, and no hand towels.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and they had private bathroom, it has a bus and tram stop right across the street

Disliked: it was a bit far from city center , around 20 minutes by bus, there was a lady at the reception who was kind grumpy and the halls are dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Barbosa de Azambuja

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Awais Ghulam Nabi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Awais would recommend this property

Liked: The price was good. Though the location is not near the center, but if u have a bus card, then no worries. We went out in the city, leaving a messy room, when we got back, everything was cleaned and properly organized.

Disliked: At the time of check-in we were charged more than the price we booked online. At the time of check-in, we were not greeted well. The receptionist was not friendly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to halal restaurant and market

Disliked: far from tourist attraction

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's actually more like a hotel - we rented a 3-bed room with private bathroom. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The bathroom was modern, with a spacious shower.

Disliked: The hotel is a bit far from the centre, but it's not too bad: 15 minutes with the tram, which stops right in front of the hotel. Also, the WiFi signal was quite weak.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawn Cohen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2013 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: the guy at the desk was very friendly and explained how to get into town by bus and tram, and where to get off which made getting around very easy since the hostel is a bit far out (only 20 mins to get in and the bus and two trams are frequent and stop pretty much outside the hostel) there was also a computer with free internet access if you need to check your emails and a supermarket nearby which was handy.

Disliked: nothing, was a bit far out to bike from the train station but to be honest we got a little lost and it took longer than it should have

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013

Liked: Nothing, just that the bathroom are okey

Disliked: It was so far away from the city center in bus like 40 mins, the services is awfull, the staff is so rude, i have a lot of troubles in there, when i was there i wasnt the only one with troubles with the women in the reception,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location of this hotel is very near the tram station (plein 40-45) so it is very easy to travel to the centre of asmterdam although the location of the hotel itself is outside the city. The room is clean and the bed is totally comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was fine

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: Little bit cold during winter / fall. Rooms are small, but price is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, cheap

Disliked: not very safe

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Kalogirou

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013

Liked: It was more like a hotel, the room was better than what we expected.

Disliked: The security was really bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

cristian buzdugan

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

26 March 2013 cristian would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: evriting kkk

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013

Liked: Cleanliness, helpful staff, TV in room and a decent ensuite bathroom.

Disliked: Location - Hostel is in a less than desirable part of town and is a fair distance from anything at all worth seeing in Amsterdam.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mike Sinden

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 March 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Good room / bathroom size. Clean / tidy/ warm - also very quiet

Disliked: Further out of the city centre than anticipated

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraldo Santana Nogueira Junior

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Geraldo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleaniness of the room. I got in fact a whole room for myself. And It had a shower. For me, it was pretty good. Although I would like if they have a locker to store my backpack, they did have a small safe for document, and other imporant items.

Disliked: It is very far from the main sights, but it takes you only 16 minutes from Dam Square on a tram. It is a very big hostel, and not much room for socializing. Although you will be smelling weed constantly, for me it doesnt a major issue but it might be for some people. But again, that's Amsterdam.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zoltan Kun

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast, the fresh towels, the adjustable heating

Disliked: The wall of the bathroom was not clean. The bed was way too soft could hardly sleep, the safe in the room was locked, so could not use it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristina Romanchenko

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in 6 bed girls room. The room is clean, with new repairment. There is an own bathroom in very good condition. At night it was a little bit cold but it is possible to regulate the heating but we did not know about this trick at first night.

Disliked: It is far from city center but there is a train and bus station just in front of the hostel, so it was very convinient to get there. It was a little bit noisy but it is usual about hostels.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, cheap and each room has its own bathroom with shower.

Disliked: 2 of the 3 staff were not helpful and a bit rude. Also it takes awhile to get to city center.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paloma de Castro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: Very big property, great breakfast, great bathroom and beds.

Disliked: I booked the same room as my friends, but since we did it separately, they put us in different rooms. I asked if we could be in the same room and the receptionist said "No, but you'll be staying here just for one night". There was enough space for me in my friends room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Apostolo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: One of the reception employees wasn't very nice. We had a problem with the light and they took quite some time to solve it

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

elizabeth compson

Alone

City break

24 February 2013 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The low price

Disliked: Further out of city center, door was hard to lock, mold on walls