HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

69.6% Overall Rating

1458 out of 1967 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

"The bed lines were already prepared, when we came. I appreciated a free (actually it is included in the price) towel. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. Each bed has an acces to a plug - very usefull for charging…"

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
85.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
18.47 USD

Hostel 85.3% 262 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
34.29 USD

Guesthouse 50.5% 116 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
329.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
41.78 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews
Hotel Blyss
45.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
42.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
36.81 USD

Hostel 84.3% 775 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.6%

Overall Rating

1458 out of 1967 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
49.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
67.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 1101 of 1572 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 44 | 45   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NUUR FAKHIZAA ABU BAKAR

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 NUUR FAKHIZAA would recommend this property

Liked: I like the facts that it is very near to the tram stop. It is also easy to get there by tram and bus. You wouldn't have a problem to haul your luggage all the way from Central Station to the hotel. Apart from that, I really appreciate the hotel's dedication to do daily room cleaning without fail. My room was made up everyday and I thank the hotel for that. Grocery stores are nearby and next door on both sides are restaurants for you to grab your lunch or dinner.

Disliked: I jush hope the staffs are more friendlier. It was quite hard to expect smiles from them, especially from female staff. Also, please make the lobby more attractive and cozy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff in a hotel style environment at hostel prices! The 4 person private room is thoroughly recommendable.

Disliked: The location is a bother... you will need to use Tram/Bus to get to the city. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO WALK TO THE CITY! Although a variety of night buses from central station (69 being the bus to the Hostel) do help on those late nights!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Ford

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lot of freedom, we were able to check in when we needed to without hindrance, they didn't mind that we got in very late, we were able to go to the smoking area very late with no one questioning us.

Disliked: Lewis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatiana Teixeira

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Tatiana would recommend this property

Liked: It is really confortable e the people were really kind we all of us.

Disliked: It should have a bit more space in the bedrooms and in the bathroom it was too hot inside and we didn't know how too get it less hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Fergusson Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived early, (10.00am) and were allowed to check in straight away. The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was amazingly modern and very shiny! We were really surprised to find a safe in the wardrobe which we made use of. There was an issue with the safe and the hostel staff sorted it out quickly and pleasantly. The room was basic but had clean comfortably beds with decent linen and towels. The tram to the centre of Amsterdam couldn't have been easier and more convenient and it even dropped us right outside the hostel upon our return. The staff were a bit taciturn to start with but they were always helpful. We asked for a taxi one day and it arrived before we were ready for it! We heard the hostel was in a rough part of the city but we saw absolutely no evidence of this and we arrived home quite late most evenings. We liked to make tea in our room but there was no kettle, however the staff allowed us to use the hot water from the breakfast room.

Disliked: Not much! Could have done with a kettle... see above! As it's advertised as a hostel I was surprised there were no cooking facilities.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 March 2014

Liked: The location and the possiblity to have breakfast as a choice. So the price is lower.

Disliked: I had room 216 with a terrible noise nearly all night. I think from the airco or another machine (?) which was outside just besides the window. Further. no mixed rooms would be better but would make the stay perhaps more expensive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Arturo Botello

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

21 March 2014 Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: La relación precio calidad es muy buena. Es una excelente opción de hospedaje, en realidad es un hotel no un hostel. Esta lejos de Dam Square y de Rembrandt Square pero hay una parada enfrente del hotel (Plein 40 - 45) que te deja ahí en 10 minutos. El traslado del aeropuerto al hotel también es facilísimo en el autobús 69

Disliked: Que no hay wifi en las habitaciones solo en el lobby del hotel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gergana Ivanova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Gergana would recommend this property

Liked: You have three lines of transport just across the street and in 20 minutes you are in the centrum - every line passes by an attraction or a museum. The price is affordable and for it the conditioms are great

Disliked: Rooms are too small, but I think that is normal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Professionalism, cleaness and honesty.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, good facilities

Disliked: Is 20 mins ride from centre

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krysta Bruynson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Krysta would recommend this property

Liked: It didn't even feel like a hostel because it was so nice! Since it's a bit out of the city, it's nice and quiet. The staff at the reception desk on the first day was very helpful and friendly. The place was clean and the rooms were large.

Disliked: The location is a little far from the center of the city, but with the tram stopping right outside it doesn't make it a problem at all. The staff at the reception desk on the second day wasn't helpful at all when we asked him a few questions, so we just gave up asking him. Our room wasn't ready at 3:00 (check-in time) but this wasn't an inconvenience to us so it wasn't a big deal, but I can see it being an issue for some people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Akhilesh Agarwal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Akhilesh would recommend this property

Liked: Though the property was far and has huge space ... you can still have your time in this place. It has breakfast which was great even if you do not have breakfast included in your package you can eat at 5 Euros unlimited. Moreover the property was pretty clean and well maintained the staff was their 24 Hours we checked in at around 1 AM in the morning and had no problems. The linens were clean and arranged before we reached. The property seemed safe and secure.

Disliked: The rooms were a little small for the dorms. And it is like 35 mins by bus from the central amsterdam.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and we were provided most things we could need: WiFi, towels, toiletries.

Disliked: No ventilation in room for 4 meant we needed to open the window to the terrace on which people shuffled and made noise throughout the night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and safe

Disliked: Middle of nowhere not near much of the city

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People are friendly, location is easy to access even a little bit far from the town

Disliked: Too old without maintenance, lacking good public area for travellers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Amaris

Alone

Business / conference

22 February 2014 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice. The facilities feel super neat, clean and organized.

Disliked: It's a little bit far away from the city centre, which is not great if you're planning on partying on the city centre where most of the action is going on and then coming back after the trams have stopped working.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tamer Beylik

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Tamer would recommend this property

Liked: Its is cheaper and the rooms are ok.

Disliked: It was sometimes a little bit loud.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 February 2014

Liked: Not a lot to be honest.

Disliked: Unhelpful staff, damp room, bath that leaked, location. No real place for travelers to relax and meet each other.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Bryan Williamson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 February 2014

Liked: It was very affordable

Disliked: The staff was rude and it was far away from everything. Also I booked a 6 bedroom shared room and they put 8 people in my room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LIONEL DENISE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 LIONEL would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap prices

Disliked: Far from thé center

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to airport

Disliked: the staff was very rude and unhelpful

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

SUIJIE LIU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

29 December 2013

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: room is so small like a concentration camp

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yonatan Jesús Quiroz Niño

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

23 December 2013 Yonatan Jesús would recommend this property

Liked: Really Nice and Warming Place to be

Disliked: nothing really, a bit far from the center, but when you take the bus or tran, the stop it's rigth in front of the hotel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NOR FAIZAH AHMAD HELIMI

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 NOR FAIZAH would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean. I love it.

Disliked: NOR FAIZAH left no negative feedback.