HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

70.5% Overall Rating

1457 out of 1964 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"Wifi is not so good in the room. But they are so helpful to let us check in very early and check out late."

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
86.42 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
29.92 USD

Hostel 84.3% 259 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
43.21 USD

Guesthouse 48.7% 115 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
332.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
44.33 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews
Hotel Blyss
58.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
37.10 USD

Hostel 84.3% 775 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.5%

Overall Rating

1457 out of 1964 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
52.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 1099 of 1570 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 43 | 44   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

premjeet singh charanjeet singh

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

07 June 2014 premjeet singh would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,friendly staff and easy to spot

Disliked: Nothing.all is good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, the bus stopped right outside the hotel when we arrived from the airport, transport was ideal and frequent allowing us to visit the city centre as often as we like! The room was clean and we had fresh towels and bedding everyday which was lovely!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Staff very rude

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2014

Liked: Just a basic yet pricy hotel/hostel. One good thing was that we could leave our bags there for the afternoon and pick them up later. The area isn't that bad, it's just residential. Count half an hour to reach city center; but the tram stop is right in front of the hotel.

Disliked: It was random, we found some hair in the bathroom and the bed. But it wasn't the worst. My boyfriend and I paid an astronomic price to have a double room there and when we arrived the man at the reception just put us in a 6 bedroom (3 bunk beds). How are we supposed to sleep together in a small bed? I had no idea! We complained and the best we got was a room with twin beds which wasn't what was advertised online. Overall just avoid this place!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tuvimos una habitación doble. fue más grande de lo que esperábamos. También estaba muy limpia (Limpian cada día las habitaciones)

Disliked: Situación: es muy sencillo llegar, pero se encuentra en un barrio que no ofrece nada, ni siquiera tiene sitios para comer. Es cierto que el trato es de un hotel, pero también tiene habitaciones de 6 personas, con lo cual hay el ruido de un albergue..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Crossley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonably priced, clean and the guy on reception was exceptionally helpful.

Disliked: Location...well out of the centre and in a relatively poor area... But saying that it was good value for money and available.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean washrooms staff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEXANDER ROSE

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 ALEXANDER would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful and friendly, good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big public areas, very clean modern bathroom, good security.

Disliked: Location is a bit far out (although there is convenient public transport)

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ahmet Yozgat

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2014

Liked: NOthing

Disliked: Ahmet left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014

Liked: Beds are ok.

Disliked: The cleaner staff... Awful... Rude... No words.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Haibin Zhang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014

Liked: The space is enough.

Disliked: the room is quite basic and the facilities are quite old, not functionally well. And there is too few sockets in the room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was lovely and clean, great ensuite bathroom. Nice to have towels etc included in a dorm room. I had been worried it would be a bit grotty after reading other reviews but it was great for the price. Also I slept really well, on a comfortable bed and quiet surroundings.

Disliked: Staff on reception were unhelpful and one was outright rude. Should work on customer service. There was no underbed storage, bring a padlock for cases

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014

Liked: Price hut far from town.wait for 25 minutes for bus

Disliked: Very old. Room is very small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Toilet is the best

Disliked: The receptionists are being very unfriendly

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and safe, other travellers nice and breakfast good and cheap.

Disliked: The location wasn't very good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARIMUTHU JAYASEELAN

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 MARIMUTHU would recommend this property

Liked: East procedures and less process

Disliked: Its bit possible but sharing private room with completely new people can be adjusted

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had a lot of outlets, which made it easy for all of us to charge our phones. They had safes in each room at no extra charge. Towels came with the room.

Disliked: I am not sure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was almost exactly how we turned out to be having viewed the photos.

Disliked: Unfortunately the heater was a little faulty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we think 15 euro per day for dorm of eight is a very good price for a city like amsterdam, location is far from city center but hotel is right next to the tram stop/bus stop/night bus, with direct line connection to various central attractions, so we love the location. private bathroom in dorm is clean and new and has hair dryer, which is a plus for us girls. wifi in room works.

Disliked: we dont like the staffs, the black hair girl at the reception was unfriendly and treated us guests like a charity case. the dorm is a bit small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dominic Powell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014

Liked: rooms were quiet

Disliked: Room wasn't ready at check in time and the lady at the front desk was far from encouraging

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014

Liked: Although it is not very good value, it can still be considered as cheap in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The hotel is a bit old and run-down, the staff members are very unprofessional, and the guests staying there are quite noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Barbosa

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2014 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Quite new building. Helpful staff.

Disliked: My bunk was so noisy that I had to put my mattress on the floor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NUUR FAKHIZAA ABU BAKAR

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 NUUR FAKHIZAA would recommend this property

Liked: I like the facts that it is very near to the tram stop. It is also easy to get there by tram and bus. You wouldn't have a problem to haul your luggage all the way from Central Station to the hotel. Apart from that, I really appreciate the hotel's dedication to do daily room cleaning without fail. My room was made up everyday and I thank the hotel for that. Grocery stores are nearby and next door on both sides are restaurants for you to grab your lunch or dinner.

Disliked: I jush hope the staffs are more friendlier. It was quite hard to expect smiles from them, especially from female staff. Also, please make the lobby more attractive and cozy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff in a hotel style environment at hostel prices! The 4 person private room is thoroughly recommendable.

Disliked: The location is a bother... you will need to use Tram/Bus to get to the city. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO WALK TO THE CITY! Although a variety of night buses from central station (69 being the bus to the Hostel) do help on those late nights!