HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Slotania

Hostel | Slotermeerlaan 133, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1063 JN

69.6% Overall Rating

1458 out of 1967 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

"The bed lines were already prepared, when we came. I appreciated a free (actually it is included in the price) towel. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. Each bed has an acces to a plug - very usefull for charging…"

Read all Hostel Slotania reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Student Hotel Amsterdam
85.66 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
27.68 USD

Hostel 85.3% 262 reviews
Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast
36.24 USD

Guesthouse 50.5% 116 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
329.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Abba
43.94 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews
Hotel Blyss
45.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
42.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
45.99 USD

Hostel 84.3% 775 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.6%

Overall Rating

1458 out of 1967 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Slotania'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
49.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
67.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 1101 of 1572 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 44 | 45   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vladlena Litvishkina

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

08 August 2012 Vladlena would recommend this property

Liked: It is more like a hotel than a hostel

Disliked: The location is too far from the city centre and the tickets for bus and tram are expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's so clean.

Disliked: The room boy entered my room when I was having a breakfast at the restaurant. He thought maybe I already checked out. I realized this as soon as I came back from restaurant, when I found my water bottle was already in the trash bin. I remembered that I never put my water bottle in trash bin, even tough it's empty. That's really made me scared of the safe & secure in this hostel. Another thing, the place is too far from the center of Amsterdam. From center to hostel, it takes 30 minutes with bus and even with metro.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lorenzo Cicchi

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

30 July 2012 Lorenzo would recommend this property

Liked: Girl at the reception super-friendly and efficient, bathroom clean and new

Disliked: Breakfast kitchen staff rude and annoying

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a neat place with very good service and polite people at the reception. The hotel was quite accessible from any part of the city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Wheatley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Super soft comfy beds, amazing en-suite with a great shower. Tram/bus stop directly outside.

Disliked: A little bit out of town but being so close to the main tram lines made up for it. Can't really complain at the price we paid.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

DAVID WARMERDAM

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2012

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice palce

Disliked: My room flooded

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012

Liked: It was cheap compared to the other options and this was why we picked it. There was a lift which is always a bonus with heavy luggage. The room itself was OK, although not a huge amount of space for bags in our particular room. Bathroom was new and clean.

Disliked: On arrival the man at reception was slightly rude, however this could just be a personality difference and the woman the next day was much better. The hallways smelt VERY BAD. The carpet was obviously very old and stunk of smoke and sweat. We did not want to breathe. This is a HOTEL not a hostel - important to note this. The shower leaked in the bathroom, but this was quickly sorted. The directions to city centre were weak - it is not the tram directly out the front of the hostel and this was not clear. It literally just states 'Tram 4' which is open to interpretation.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012

Liked: The clean room and bathrooms, and access to computers.

Disliked: The very unhelpful, and rude staff.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was really a wonderful hostel. Great and understanding staff, wonderful people in the hostel. The bathrooms are relatively spacious (I mean it's not the Ritz Carlton), and there are individual (albeit small) lockers in the room. Overall, a wonderful value.

Disliked: Not much. Depending on what room you were in, the street noise might be a little loud, but unless you sleep lighter than a feather, you should be fine.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dale Collie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Dale would recommend this property

Liked: Great Breakfast

Disliked: Sidewalks and area around hostel were severely littered. Tram and bus are frequent, but it's a 20 minute ride and you're off the map sheet.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

emma peasgood

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 emma would recommend this property

Liked: bedrooms are good size

Disliked: some of the staff were rude. we are deaf and they were not deaf aware.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alessia costanzo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2012 alessia would recommend this property

Liked: Free use of computer to use the internet and near bus/tram stage

Disliked: no fan in the room when asked they didnt have and the handle of the bathroom it broke and took nearly 90 minutes to come and repair it

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alix Brown

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Alix would recommend this property

Liked: room and bathroom were cosy

Disliked: notihng

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Doreen Chia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Doreen would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were really clean and cleaned every day. sheets were hotel standard and really comfortable. towels were provided and changed every day. each room had a television which was good for entertaining yourself. breakfast was pretty good, there were 3 diff kinds of ham, cheese and eggs on top of the usual bread and cereal.

Disliked: location - pretty far from the city centre - abt 20 mins by tram. but its a give and take since the rooms were uber clean and the sheets were hotel standard.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Le prix Le petit déjeuner

Disliked: Sol pas propre

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Philip Wilck

Alone

Business / conference

27 June 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: enge Raeume, schlechte Lage

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice stay! Nice breakfast and bathrooms alot cleaner and bigger than i expected.

Disliked: Bad points is the location, it wasnt horrible but it took about 25 minutes with tram, but they came like every 10 minutes and were just across the street of the hotel. They stoped going around 12,30 though so you couldnt stay out late, then you had to take a taxi home.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr freundlich und hilfbereit.Große auswahl an Frühstück.Sehr sauber für ein Hostel.

Disliked: Kein Telefon im Zimmer.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Henrik Jakobsson

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2012

Liked: cheaper then hotels closer to the city

Disliked: the staff were not really service minded, the beds were not nice at all, made so many noices and loud noices too when u moved just a little bit...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2012

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: Not only was no one helpful, we had to wait four hours for our room to be ready. There was rubbish strewn all throughout the hallways and spilt drinks rubbed into carpets. Our room itself was filthy, with black marks and even foundation (make up) handprint streaks on the walls and over our bed. Only when we said we were unhappy with the service and were leaving did we recieve any friendly notions from the staff. Not even a backpacker on the tiniest budget possible shoul have to go through staying here.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice clean room. We were able to spread out a little bit and have enough room that we didn't trip over our stuff all the time. The beds and the pillows were really comfy and soft. Wifi was available in the rooms.

Disliked: The property was quite a ride from the central city (about a 20 minute bus ride). However the hotel provided information on how to get into town on the public transport and after hours services (although this was a little hard to understand. Be warned the after hours buses leave from a different area outside the central station than the day buses!) and how to get to the airport from the hotel. If you don't mind a little bit of travel to get into town the location was only a minor inconvenience.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Carlos Pinto

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012

Liked: o hotel não era muito mau, mas a distancia fez-nos trocar para o centro!

Disliked: Bairro duvidoso

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the 4-bedroom dorm. The bathroom is quite big and clean. Condition of the room is a little bit old but that's fine for me.

Disliked: Location of the hostel is quite far away from the Amsterdam city centre (about 20-30 mins by tram).