We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sphinx HoSTEL

Hostel | Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 XR

44.1% Overall Rating

531 out of 1018 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2014)

Paulo Gonçalves thinks…

"Rooms with waste and old thinks in closet. old and dirty mattrasses. stairs very dificult to climb. bathrooms very dirty and with very small space to use toilet."

Read all Sphinx HoSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights. Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date. The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The room-rate is excluding 5,5% city tax. Earliest check in: 15.00 Latest check out: 11.00 Check in after 24:00 is not possible unless the late check-in is informed. After 24:00, reservations without advance informing (late check-in) are not guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Euphemia Budget Hotel
24.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
126.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Cocomama
27.83 USD

Hostel 92.6% 246 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
28.46 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 109 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
12.64 USD

Hostel 67.1% 213 reviews
Hans Brinker Hotel
31.63 USD

Hostel 71.9% 487 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Hotel Max
24.67 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
44.1%

Overall Rating

531 out of 1018 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sphinx HoSTEL'

Atmosphere
36.0%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
37.6%
Cleanliness
33.6%
Staff
45.6%
Value
44.0%
Safety
46.4%
Refine your results Showing 558 of 721 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Paulo Gonçalves

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 June 2014

Liked: Rooms with waste and old thinks in closet. old and dirty mattrasses. stairs very dificult to climb. bathrooms very dirty and with very small space to use toilet.

Disliked: Paulo left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Rosselet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014

Liked: The location is great, and if you're betting on staying in a crappy hostel, this is the place for you. I didn't see one bedbug but, I slept on the floor out of fear. Linens appeared to be clean but that's questionable.

Disliked: Mostly everything. Shower was rough, I did not want to use them. There were 6 of us crammed into a room with bunk beds. Someone walked into our room at 3 am, so that was an adventure. Very thin walls. Honestly though it wasn't as bad as some of the other reviews said but don't stay here unless you're ready to slum it or you're ready for adventure. It made for a great story?

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 April 2014

Liked: Absolutely terrible

Disliked: Disgusting. Unnaceptable. On top of it, they scam you

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jordan Austin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 April 2014

Liked: Not a great deal

Disliked: 1 star rat's den: Features 1 power outlet per room No bathroom fan or bath mat very standard no frills service 20 mins walk to nightlife, not 5! Fines threatened within left and right Failed to match other hostels on every aspect other than high prices.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Margarita Kostina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Margarita would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location close to Rijksmuseum, not noisy at all, clean bedsheets. Breakfast is quite ok too. Check-out on Sunday is also possible, although the website of the hotel says it's not!

Disliked: A bit dirty, it wasn't possible to close the window properly so it was quite chilly in the room! In winter it can be quite a problem.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Rooms were not cleaned before our arrival. Bed sheets from the previous stay we're still in the bed. No clean towels or linen. Unhelpful staff. Dirty room that had not been cleaned in a very long time. Bed bugs reported to be in the building.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: Nothing at all!

Disliked: Basically everything was awful about that place. Worst experience ever.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy going Place. Cheap and Good Location clean Linnen

Disliked: No Good Central kitchen to Meet People Dirty and Used house

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014

Liked: location. nearby tram

Disliked: winding staircase not viable for carrying luggage up and down

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed clean bathrooms!

Disliked: Stairs are crazy :D but still I loved our stay ;)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: never seen a wall-to-wall carpet this dirty! and obviously they rarely clean the rooms...at least not under the beds.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

David Litchfield

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: I got what i paid for. Shared a room with 5 others and the cost was very cheap compared to other hotels and hostels. I expected it to be hell on Earth after reading some reviews but the room was clean, no bed bugs, and didn't see any rats! Showers were very basic but they did have hot water. Staff were friendly, even made us all a cup of tea when we staggered back at 6am and also patient with our tardiness when checking out. It was better than expected.

Disliked: The room door didn't seem especially secure, need to make sure that it is locked when you shut it or it could be pushed open. The look of the place was dull, carpets were stained, steep stairs. It was all very basic.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brittani O'Donnell

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 December 2013 Brittani would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean enough, overall good value for money

Disliked: steep stairs but thats about it that was bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dale thomas

Alone

Events / festivals

30 November 2013 dale would recommend this property

Liked: 24hr desk, no lock out.

Disliked: the stairs, narrow and steep. (But them it is Amsterdam)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ian cunliffe

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 October 2013 ian would recommend this property

Liked: i had read the reviews and i was expecting the worst hotel i had ever been in and i wasnt disappointed however it was nowhere near as bad as the reviews stated and pretty much what i would expect when i based my choice mainly on cost with location very important as well,if you aint fussy then its fine,however i would advise any light sleepers not to take a room on the lowest floor as you can hear noises above,didnt bother me but would be a problem for some,the beds were clean,the tv worked(no remote available tho)the shower worked well once you realised you had to operate it by taking the broken handles off the taps lol,breakfast was toast with cheese or ham slices- ok ,didnt expect anything else,its 2 star which is always a gamble so anybody who expects anything better needs to dig deeper in their pockets tbh,staff were ok,not especially friendly but nice enough ,to be fair to other reviewers i have no idea what the other rooms were like but it was fine for me, one big big plus was the heating,it was pretty cold in 'dam but always really warm in the room,it worked out at £15 a night for good location so no complaints from me

Disliked: this hotel would be so much better with a little effort and work from the owners,for not much expenditure- paint,remote controls,bit of basic maintenance they could make the whole place seem so much better cos it does look shabby and have a lot of minor faults which can be sorted easily,i also dont like these notices all over about fines for 'smoking,taking food in the rooms etc etc which are written like prison rules in a way which make you feel its more about money than standards however to be fair i was in a supposedly 4star hotel in bulgaria this year which had the same fine notices written in the same tone

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helping staff, when you have problem they always find the way to solve it.

Disliked: They don't clean often.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind staff, help when you need it, always is someone available in reception.

Disliked: They don't clean that often.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was very safe and secure, we had a big room very spacious and had our own shower, staff were helpful. It is easy to get into the centre of Amsterdam on a tram, close to the tram stops. There were no bed bugs or rats in the room as I have read in other reviews, sphinx hotel was good, some people are just too fussy. You pay for what u get so if u want the ritz then go there. I was happy here.

Disliked: The toilet was not always clean, the room was a bit dirty but expected a lot worse , we had a mammoth climb up to the top floor , very steep steps but you get over that as it was a good room.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Renate Knopf

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2013

Liked: Gar nichts, nie wieder

Disliked: Wir, zwei Ehepaare, haben noch nie in einer so schmutzigen und heruntergekommenen Unterkunft ( 100.-€ für das Doppelzimmer) geschlafen. Diees SHINX- Hotel müsste HostelBookers aus der Hompage streichen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice It had a cat Great value

Disliked: No real downsides

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

28 June 2013

Liked: niets ! was vies en vuil !

Disliked: de muurtapijt die van de muren viel en de urinegeur van de toilet en de vloertapijt stonk ook naar urine ! de douche zat vol schimmel gewoon afschuwelijk !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its a nice place very friendly people nice to get on with.i would make reservations again and yes i would recoremend to friends.thank you

Disliked: nothing to dislike

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: rooms were a bit tiny and a floor on a lower level, We had heavy bags. Also early check out timing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nikhilesh Mehta

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Nikhilesh would recommend this property

Liked: Any time we can come

Disliked: no security....

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the position is good. the price was really convenient, considerating that we went for queensday

Disliked: the breakfast was not so good