HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Sphinx Amsterdam Hostel

Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 46%

Location 78%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights.

Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date.

The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed


The room-rate is excluding 5,5% city tax.

Earliest check in: 15.00
Latest check out: 11.00

Check in after 24:00 is not possible unless the late check-in is informed. After 24:00, reservations without advance informing (late check-in) are not guaranteed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 46%

Location 78%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

Showing 71-25 of 25 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff friendlygood location

Disliked: dangerous stairs.rooms not cleantwin room with bunk beds instead with two beds on the floorrooms too smallrooms smelled awfullyTV did not work in our room

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: that our two rooms where right next to each other.

Disliked: On our last night we found out that in our room we had got some little animals who came and helped themselves to some of our stuff which we had out to put in our bags. That in the bathroom there was all black all over the walls.One of our girls where ill, and one of my leaders went to take the birty sheets up to the owner to get ride of it and he told use to leave it in our room.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: very nice people at the front desk. nice atmosphere and cool building. free internet 24h. lots of free maps, coupons and travel guids. extremelly close to the Heineken Experience, 15 min walk to the Leidse Plaein and Straat where all the action is.

Disliked: minimal breakfest, not a walking distence from the main train station.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a sandwich place opposite that was delicious

Disliked: The fact I had to climb about 7 flights of stairs to reach my room

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: to be fair, its very simple bed for the night, met some amazing people during our stay which made our holiday much brighter. beds were relatively comfortable to. staff were okay.

Disliked: may have been bed bugs, only one key per room, not enough lockers for people.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The room was squalid and reeked of urine. There were no lockers in the dorm style rooms hence if you have any valuables larger than a camera (i.e. a laptop) you need to carry them with you as the safes in the foyer area are small. Additionally, there is no lockable luggage room before you arrive and if you wish to put your backpack in the lockable luggage room that does exist it's an additional €3 per night. Each dorm style room has one key card so if you don't know the people you are traveling with you have to either (a) rely on them opening the door for you when you knock or (b) hope that they've left the key back down in reception after checking into the room. Not a good system. I would not recommend this place and will not stay there again if I return to Amsterdam.

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything! the staff were rude the rooms were filthy it was far away from amenities all over a terrible stay

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good hostel with friendly people. The room was rather nice and the computers by reception were extremely helpful.

Disliked: The bunk bed we stayed in was breaking a bit and I was worried about falling on and impaling my friend in the night...

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Near the center of amsterdam

Disliked: bathrooms, and lack of information/missunderstood about availably rooms...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability