HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Sphinx Amsterdam Hostel

Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 46%

Location 78%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights.

Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date.

The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed


The room-rate is excluding 5,5% city tax.

Earliest check in: 15.00
Latest check out: 11.00

Check in after 24:00 is not possible unless the late check-in is informed. After 24:00, reservations without advance informing (late check-in) are not guaranteed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 46%

Location 78%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

Showing 61-19 of 19 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Great value, nice staff, free towel and linen, can't complain about anything

Disliked: Nothing, some may find it far from the centre, but it was perfect for my needs as I was going to a concert just near there.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The oriental ladies were very friendly.

Disliked: Very dirty. Too much dust. No hoover on the carpet. No toilet inside the room as described. Only shower. TV not working. Long hairs on the beds.....

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is good. It is located central with some interesting places in the walking distance. Equipment was basic but we did not really miss anything. Staffs are lovely and helpful. A lot of free facilities.

Disliked: Everything was just fine

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. the stairs, the staff, the rooms, ext....

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: can't really say anything, that i liked!

Disliked: cleanliness. to expensive for taht what you get!

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free Wifi and computers

Disliked: accomodation, wayz too expensive, totally diguisting bathroom!

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everithing

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Mice and a very dirty places

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the breakfast was average

Disliked: it was dirty and smelly, locks didn't work, stairs were dangerous etc etc

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was admittedly a good location, had free wifi, and lots of coupons/pamphlets/tourist info available.

Disliked: It was filthy. There was a mouse trapped in the bin in my room one night, and I also saw one in the kitchen area. It doesn't seem like staff clean the bathrooms at all, I was practically afraid to shower and use the toilet. Our room smelled very strongly of urine the entire time. The beds were uncomfortable, sunken in the middle and partially broken, and I was concerned the bed was going to break. While the female staff were generally friendly, there was one particular male employee (who worked around the breakfast time) that I found very intimidating and unfriendly, who practically patrolled around you while you were eating breakfast, which was very uncomfortable. The stairs were incredibly steep and felt very dangerous (not possible for someone with difficulty moving or walking to get up the stairs) and on the second flight the handrail was actually broken so if you slipped there was no support to catch you. I felt incredibly uneasy, dirty and uncomfortable staying there and would not recommend this place to anyone.

Check Availability