HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Sphinx Amsterdam Hostel

Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 46%

Location 78%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights.

Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date.

The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed


The room-rate is excluding 5,5% city tax.

Earliest check in: 15.00
Latest check out: 11.00

Check in after 24:00 is not possible unless the late check-in is informed. After 24:00, reservations without advance informing (late check-in) are not guaranteed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 46%

Location 78%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

Showing 41-26 of 26 reviews

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: nothing

Disliked: smelly, unfriendly and bad services. Breakfast was awful

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: none

Disliked: Too noisy and too steep stairs

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is close to heineken experience with good connections to centre

Disliked: it was not really clean, door didn't work, bathroom dirty

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Not to far from city center, tram close by. Nice surrounding area.

Disliked: Windows on rooms not very secure (broken) and shabby.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing..

Disliked: Not clean.. Bad bathroom.. Stair not safe.. Excpensive Poor brakfast and same each day

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: curtain came off,mold grew on the wall

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: .

Disliked: Only thing i didn't like was that there was only one key for each room, which, when you're in a dorm room and you're the last one home, means you've gotta bang on the door til someone opens it for you..

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location

Disliked: Stair are hard

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: one staff was really rude to me when i got there, but later let me use the phone which was really nice of her!!

Disliked: The staff werent very nice the older guy that works at night tried to get in a fight with me cause i gave a guy in my room the key when i was leaving rather than him (idk why he was so upset) the internet wouldnt work on my labtop. i paid far to much since it was the weekend and the showers/bathroom were soooo small and a bit stinky. the beds squeek really bad, makes it hard not wake ppl up when u come in at 5am plus i dont think they clean the linen after someone sleeps there - just roll up the blanket again for another person

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast was decent.

Disliked: Not very clean and the staff were not very welcoming.

Check Availability