HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Sphinx Amsterdam

Hostel

Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 45%

Cleanliness 44%

Facilities 46%

Location 76%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights.

Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date.

The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed


The room-rate is excluding 5,5% city tax.

Earliest check in: 15.00
Latest check out: 11.00

Check in after 24:00 is not possible unless the late check-in is informed. After 24:00, reservations without advance informing (late check-in) are not guaranteed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 45%

Cleanliness 44%

Facilities 46%

Location 76%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

Showing 31-32 of 32 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: LocationPriceFree wifiTwin room was actually clean

Disliked: Horrible stairsNoisy

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff, good for its value. I recommend. If you travel by car, it's comfortable to leave it on P+R Olympisch stadion, 8 EUR/day + you get 1 hour transport tickets (10 minutes on tram to the hostel+6 minutes to Dam square, this is the same line 16 or 24). Good breakfast... and russian-speaking receptionist :) hi from Geneva :)

Disliked: Dangerous stairs when you're a little high :D

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: kk

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the location of this property the best. also the 24 h reception and free internet access was of benefit.

Disliked: I disliked the decoration, there was no such. Also i disliked the non existent cleanliness of the showers and filthy bathrooms. Needs immediate improvement. The rooms also need a little more cleaning. The linen was clean though.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Free wifi and good location

Disliked: The steep stairs were a nightmare and the light in the room didn't work properly

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The number one thing that I liked about this hostel was that their front door is open 24/24/7/7. They have absolutely no problem with people going all hours of the day and night. Also, I'm not sure why so many people rated this hostel poorly, it was my first experience with a hostel, but I didn't have any problems with the staff being rude. Those who said that they were being rude I'm sure were large groups of tourists which in the overall I've gotten the sense aren't particularly welcome in Amsterdam as they don't appreciate being looked upon as a city to go to to get high. I did watch a few groups get told to not be loud after 11 PM and that absolutely no smoking is allowed inside, and I could tell that they've clearly had a problem with that. As long as you aren't rude to people in this city, they won't be rude to you. Same goes for this hostel. I think some folks were confused about this place being as they call themselves a hotel... they're a hostel, that's what you're getting.

Disliked: I wish things were a little bit more clean, though it was clean where it counts. The walls in the bathroom were a little bit moldy, but the shower floor and sink were immaculate.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Facilities and general area very clean, when staff are at counter they are helpful, free amenities are useful, beds are comfortable.

Disliked: I am pretty sure I got bed bug bites which is unfortunate. Not as close to the centre as you may think (about 25-35 minute walk) but the local area is very nice with many things in close proximity (coffee shops, bars, etc).

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: cheap and cheerful

Disliked: private dorm was rather dirty, can only imagine what the shared rooms are like

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: it's close to the city

Disliked: no hot water, unfriendly stuff

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location is quite good, the museums and city center are close enough. Breakfast was nice as well.

Disliked: The room was in the basement, moldy and unclean, with only one very small window facing the street (passers-by are walking right next to it). Perhaps rooms on the higher floors are better, but this one was easily the worst I've stayed in, and I've traveled quite a bit.

Check Availability