HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Sphinx Amsterdam Hostel

Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 46%

Location 78%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights.

Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date.

The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed


The room-rate is excluding 5,5% city tax.

Earliest check in: 15.00
Latest check out: 11.00

Check in after 24:00 is not possible unless the late check-in is informed. After 24:00, reservations without advance informing (late check-in) are not guaranteed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 46%

Location 78%

Safety 54%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

Showing 11-20 of 24 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I really enjoyed clean bathrooms!

Disliked: Stairs are crazy :D but still I loved our stay ;)

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: location

Disliked: never seen a wall-to-wall carpet this dirty! and obviously they rarely clean the rooms...at least not under the beds.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I got what i paid for. Shared a room with 5 others and the cost was very cheap compared to other hotels and hostels. I expected it to be hell on Earth after reading some reviews but the room was clean, no bed bugs, and didn't see any rats! Showers were very basic but they did have hot water. Staff were friendly, even made us all a cup of tea when we staggered back at 6am and also patient with our tardiness when checking out. It was better than expected.

Disliked: The room door didn't seem especially secure, need to make sure that it is locked when you shut it or it could be pushed open. The look of the place was dull, carpets were stained, steep stairs. It was all very basic.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great location, clean enough, overall good value for money

Disliked: steep stairs but thats about it that was bad

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: 24hr desk, no lock out.

Disliked: the stairs, narrow and steep. (But them it is Amsterdam)

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: i had read the reviews and i was expecting the worst hotel i had ever been in and i wasnt disappointed however it was nowhere near as bad as the reviews stated and pretty much what i would expect when i based my choice mainly on cost with location very important as well,if you aint fussy then its fine,however i would advise any light sleepers not to take a room on the lowest floor as you can hear noises above,didnt bother me but would be a problem for some,the beds were clean,the tv worked(no remote available tho)the shower worked well once you realised you had to operate it by taking the broken handles off the taps lol,breakfast was toast with cheese or ham slices- ok ,didnt expect anything else,its 2 star which is always a gamble so anybody who expects anything better needs to dig deeper in their pockets tbh,staff were ok,not especially friendly but nice enough ,to be fair to other reviewers i have no idea what the other rooms were like but it was fine for me, one big big plus was the heating,it was pretty cold in 'dam but always really warm in the room,it worked out at £15 a night for good location so no complaints from me

Disliked: this hotel would be so much better with a little effort and work from the owners,for not much expenditure- paint,remote controls,bit of basic maintenance they could make the whole place seem so much better cos it does look shabby and have a lot of minor faults which can be sorted easily,i also dont like these notices all over about fines for 'smoking,taking food in the rooms etc etc which are written like prison rules in a way which make you feel its more about money than standards however to be fair i was in a supposedly 4star hotel in bulgaria this year which had the same fine notices written in the same tone

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Kind staff, help when you need it, always is someone available in reception.

Disliked: They don't clean that often.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Helping staff, when you have problem they always find the way to solve it.

Disliked: They don't clean often.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hotel was very safe and secure, we had a big room very spacious and had our own shower, staff were helpful. It is easy to get into the centre of Amsterdam on a tram, close to the tram stops. There were no bed bugs or rats in the room as I have read in other reviews, sphinx hotel was good, some people are just too fussy. You pay for what u get so if u want the ritz then go there. I was happy here.

Disliked: The toilet was not always clean, the room was a bit dirty but expected a lot worse , we had a mammoth climb up to the top floor , very steep steps but you get over that as it was a good room.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Gar nichts, nie wieder

Disliked: Wir, zwei Ehepaare, haben noch nie in einer so schmutzigen und heruntergekommenen Unterkunft ( 100.-€ für das Doppelzimmer) geschlafen. Diees SHINX- Hotel müsste HostelBookers aus der Hompage streichen.

Check Availability