HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of International Budget Hostel

Hostel | Leidse gracht 76, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1016 CR

70.7% Overall Rating

162 out of 212 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

Steph Taylor thinks…

"It's a good location right by the canal side and in the middle of all the sites. The showers and bathrooms are generally kept prett clean."

Read all International Budget Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

** IMPORTANT ** Cancellation on arrival (or if you fail to arrive) will result in full payment for the first night and 50% for the remaining nights accomodation. Weekend reservations are subject to a TWO NIGHT cancellation fee should the 48 hours notice not be observed. **All reservations will be held until 23.00 p.m. unless arranged differently with reception. **The reservation will be terminated if the hostel does not get authorisation on the credit card. an authorization is not a payment but only as a guarantee for the hostel the amount of the authorization is depending if the arrival date is on a weekday or weekend. Arriving on a weekday, the authorization will be the first night per person and arriving in the weekend (Fri/Sat) the authorzation will be the first 2 nights per person as the minimum stay in the weekends is 2 nights. 24 hours check in is possible and we have free wifi in the rooms and reception

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Marnix City Centre
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.5% 1598 reviews
Quentin Hotel
52.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 14 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
24.02 USD

Hostel 73.1% 208 reviews
Golden Bear
43.64 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 81.9% 6 reviews
Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
22.76 USD

Hostel 67.3% 502 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
12.64 USD

Hostel 71.5% 907 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
25.29 USD

Hostel 68.0% 74 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
58.19 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

162 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'International Budget Hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 157 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Steph Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014 Steph would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good location right by the canal side and in the middle of all the sites. The showers and bathrooms are generally kept prett clean.

Disliked: It's not particularly easy to socialise in the hostel, especially if you don't smoke and though the staff are nice they are not notably friendly or helpful. The only other point is that the wifi connection is very poor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was brilliant. The staff were lovely.

Disliked: It needed an upgrade; cleanliness was really good but decor in the public areas not. It needed painted in the public areas, the carpet in the downstairs lobby was filthy and created a poor first impression. The menu did not look value for money and no one was eating! The front sitting room was full of smoke and stoned tweny year olds. It needed a major overhaul. Why not ban the smoking; plenty of other places. The doors have terrible closers on them that slam shut; really bad when people are coming and going at all times. You can get closers that slow to the final shut so no horrible banging.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Washrooms were clean as we're the rooms. I'd recommend this hostel.

Disliked: No access to the toaster or microwave to make your own food.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Huayu Sun

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014

Liked: None.

Disliked: It is the worst hostel I have lived in. Very difficult to find the location with very small sign. And the night guider always looked serious. The window in the room even could not closed and the bed sheet was not clear enough.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutely amazing, it is right of the grand place! The facilities were real clean and had a comfy common area.

Disliked: The check-in place is a bit of a walk from the hostel, but it understand why. The street the hostel is on is also alittle sketchy seeming if you are alone at night, but that is like any off street from the grand place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location and price for short student break. Had everything we needed.

Disliked: Very steep stairs to get to reception should be mentioned.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and talkative. Rooms were clean and has a nice spot when you want to feel the canals atmosphere in Amsterdam.

Disliked: There was a strange smell in the Lounge room, like old cleaning sponges or something. I didn't like it and I didn't want to spend a second in Lounge.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and common area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Ayling

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

14 November 2013 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: THE SMOKING LOUNGE THE CLEANLINESS WIFI

Disliked: NONSECURE LOCKERS IN ROOM

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013

Liked: Good location, room clean and shower gel provided in the bathroom that's about it.

Disliked: Staff friendliness was not great when I was there. There's no real atmosphere and nothing that makes you want to hang around the hostel either which is a shame because its a nice building. It could be a much nicer hostel if they put more effort in. You just get the feeling there's not that much care and attention being put into it, for as long as people want to keep getting stoned they'll be holed up in the smoking room,first joint to lips and then they'll blissfully forget how much this hostel is not value for money, especially on the expensive weekend rates. The owners are laughing! I guess you can't get away from a smoking room in Amsterdam , which is just guys sinking down the back of sofas and watching TV. So if you are a stoner and this is your thing you will probably enjoy but if not I do not recommend this hostel at all because there's not another common room, people are too stoned to strike up conversation and you have the background noise to a seriously bad US TV series. I'd try somewhere else.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: They wake you up the day of checkout

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013

Liked: Decent price and good location.

Disliked: Our group of 3 would definitely NOT recommend this hostel. Here's why: 1. 4 lockers in a 5 person room means one person is without a locker unless two people share, which is ridiculous, especially if the room is all singles. 2. Stains on sheets; some kind of a bug fell from the ceiling 3. Bathrooms tiny, and light turns off in literally 7 seconds with no motion. Absurd. 4. They charge 1 Euro PER PAGE to print... come on... 5. Helpfulness of staff is really hit and miss 6. WiFi is REALLY bad. Not enough strong enough to send an email.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice smoking room

Disliked: Wifi was very slow and unreliable, bathrooms and showers were slightly dirty. Staff was not very friendly.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Evrim Turgay

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

20 May 2013

Liked: it was very close to leidsplein

Disliked: a lot of thisngs.. first of all, stairs are dangerous, they also made so many problem before we arrive, they are rude when they are writing email. they ask for 5% for credit card use. rooms are cold. no towel no kitchen and very horrible stairs, very small WC.. it wasn't worth of it..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and really helpful. The location was fantastic and away from the awful touristy parts which was exactly what we were looking for.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, although we could store things in a fridge and use a microwave if needed. There was only 1 socket in a room with 5 beds. The bathrooms were dirty when we arrived and were often out of toilet roll. The whol hostel felt like you were in the underbelly of a ship, we called it "prison" for our stay there and the stairs when you get in the front door are the most ridiculously steep stairs I have ever seen. It was very bleak and had no atmosphere.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013

Liked: Good staff

Disliked: no kitchen, although staff could help you using the fridge and other things indirectly. Super expensive, even add tax on top of it

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Korey Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2013 Korey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was pretty much what I expected for the cost

Disliked: its not really something I disliked but the stairs leading up to the place are very steep so just watch it when you've been drinking

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly right throughout- made us feel very comfortable/secure. We were upgraded upon our arrival, which was a fantastic start to our weekend-getaway.

Disliked: We were generally satisfied with all aspects, as our basic needs were met.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Lucy Usher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: The resident cat.

Disliked: Everything else. Dark, dingy, dirty showers, incredibly thin walls meant loud noises all the time. All of this I might have expected from a hostel of this name - except they were charging 33 euros per night for a top bunk in a 5 bed room. Extortionate for what you got, which was the worst hostel we stayed in during a eurotrip. The flying pig, half the price, was three times as good. Sadly it was full so we couldn't stay there beyond our first night and moved here. A rather depressing hostel all in all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helping staff and secure atmosphere.

Disliked: Either check out should be late till 12.30 or check in should be earlier. Dont make people wait since we dont have much time always.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Emma Wray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

26 July 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just round the corner from Leidseplein (the main going out district) so lots of bars and clubs within walking distance. We also walked back from a night out in Rembrantplein. So hostel is close to all major attractions, red light district about a 25min walk away. Also close to a tram stop. Staff were friendly - marked places to go on a map for us. Rooms were clean and they had large lockers.

Disliked: Very basic, felt we paid a lot for not much. Wasn't a very social hostel when we were there, the common area was just a sofa, tv and a few tables.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to any destination in the city. The staff was very friendly and uncomplicated.

Disliked: Cleaned rooms and bathrooms would have been great, but it was ok anyways. Some kind of curtain would help us to get some shadow at daytime. But we helped ourselves with a blanket.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful and the cat that hangs out at the reception area is very cute! Fast wifi that worked in both the rooms and reception, large lockers in the rooms and the showers and bathrooms were generally kept very clean.

Disliked: The stairs leading up to reception and the rooms is very steep and difficult if you have big heavy bags!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Man Kwan Hui

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Man Kwan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. A lovely cat.

Disliked: Bathroom: no where to hang our stuff. Weak water. A nightmare to bathe. Crowded room. No guest kitchen. Can only hand all the stuff to staff for cleaning/ cooking/ freezing. Very steep ladder, no lift. If you carry a check-in luggage, you will be in trouble.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and clean room.

Disliked: Could have had more facilities for use such as bar.