HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of International Budget Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 87%

Safety 75%

Staff 80%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.50USD
  • Towel 1.17USD

Important Information

** IMPORTANT **
Cancellation on arrival (or if you fail to arrive) will result in full payment for the first night and 50% for the remaining nights accomodation.
Weekend reservations are subject to a TWO NIGHT cancellation fee should the 48 hours notice not be observed.
**All reservations will be held until 23.00 p.m. unless arranged differently with reception.
**The reservation will be terminated if the hostel does not get authorisation on the credit card.
an authorization is not a payment but only as a guarantee for the hostel

the amount of the authorization is depending if the arrival date is on a weekday or weekend. Arriving on a weekday, the authorization will be the first night per person

and arriving in the weekend (Fri/Sat) the authorzation will be the first 2 nights per person as the minimum stay in the weekends is 2 nights.

24 hours check in is possible and we have free wifi in the rooms and reception

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 87%

Safety 75%

Staff 80%

Value 78%

Showing 41-18 of 18 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Central

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: Lockers

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's location was ideal, at arm's length from the red light district and characterless main shopping street.

Disliked: Due to a staff error, I was placed in the wrong room and had to contend with an angry fellow traveller trying to claim the bed I'd been given at 3am. The member of staff was friendly and apologetic the following morning, but the error was damaging to the stay.The room was extremely cramped, with seven beds (incl. 3 sets of bunks) in a space it was very awkward to manoeuvre around. I was placed on a far bunk, which had been constructed such that the steps to the top bunk were facing the wall, out of reach.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location! Availability of bike rentals, friendly front desk staff.. I missed my flight the night before so wasn't able to stay the full two days, just stayed one night, and the front desk staff helped me sell off my first night (for a bit less than what I paid for but that's alright) so I saved a bit. Nice chill area..

Disliked: Steep staircase! Otherwise, nothing much to dislike, lovely common area

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, very easy to find, clean and quiet.

Disliked: Reception and common area didn't have very good hours, could only get wifi in common area, expensive for what it was.


The property's response is

Dear Tiffany

Thank you for staying with us. We have wifi for free in the hole building, if you use us computer it is 1 eur for 3 minutes.


Ibh

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location. lockers can be provided. you can feel the friendly atmosphore of the staff.

Disliked: Someone (another traveller) took my bed putting his stuff on my towel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Ozlem

Thank you for you reply hope to see you again.

Regards

Ibh

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and great location.

Disliked: the shower. It was a drizzle.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was in a quiet neighborhood. It is a fairly small hostel so it is better for meeting people.

Disliked: While staying there I got bumps and rashes all over that may have been from bedbugs. The bed I was on looked very old and stained. The bathrooms are barely large enough for a person to fit in and the showers are not very good. The common room closes at 11pm every night. This forces people to use laptops, read, etc, in their rooms which keeps other people awake. Since reception only opens after 9am, you have to check out the night before to get your key deposit if you are leaving early. I would never have known this if I didn't happen to see someone else checking out in the evening. And the common room also doesn't open until 9am, so that makes it hard to have a bit of breakfast in the morning. This was the worst hostel I have stayed at and it was not worth saving a few dollars.

Check Availability