HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of International Budget Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 67%

Location 88%

Safety 76%

Staff 81%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.36USD
  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

** IMPORTANT **
Cancellation on arrival (or if you fail to arrive) will result in full payment for the first night and 50% for the remaining nights accomodation.
Weekend reservations are subject to a TWO NIGHT cancellation fee should the 48 hours notice not be observed.
**All reservations will be held until 23.00 p.m. unless arranged differently with reception.
**The reservation will be terminated if the hostel does not get authorisation on the credit card.
an authorization is not a payment but only as a guarantee for the hostel

the amount of the authorization is depending if the arrival date is on a weekday or weekend. Arriving on a weekday, the authorization will be the first night per person

and arriving in the weekend (Fri/Sat) the authorzation will be the first 2 nights per person as the minimum stay in the weekends is 2 nights.

24 hours check in is possible and we have free wifi in the rooms and reception

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 67%

Location 88%

Safety 76%

Staff 81%

Value 78%

Showing 21-19 of 19 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: They wake you up the day of checkout

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Decent price and good location.

Disliked: Our group of 3 would definitely NOT recommend this hostel. Here's why:1. 4 lockers in a 5 person room means one person is without a locker unless two people share, which is ridiculous, especially if the room is all singles.2. Stains on sheets; some kind of a bug fell from the ceiling3. Bathrooms tiny, and light turns off in literally 7 seconds with no motion. Absurd.4. They charge 1 Euro PER PAGE to print... come on...5. Helpfulness of staff is really hit and miss6. WiFi is REALLY bad. Not enough strong enough to send an email.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: it was very close to leidsplein

Disliked: a lot of thisngs.. first of all, stairs are dangerous, they also made so many problem before we arrive, they are rude when they are writing email. they ask for 5% for credit card use. rooms are cold. no towel no kitchen and very horrible stairs, very small WC.. it wasn't worth of it..

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, nice smoking room

Disliked: Wifi was very slow and unreliable, bathrooms and showers were slightly dirty. Staff was not very friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were lovely and really helpful. The location was fantastic and away from the awful touristy parts which was exactly what we were looking for.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, although we could store things in a fridge and use a microwave if needed. There was only 1 socket in a room with 5 beds. The bathrooms were dirty when we arrived and were often out of toilet roll. The whol hostel felt like you were in the underbelly of a ship, we called it "prison" for our stay there and the stairs when you get in the front door are the most ridiculously steep stairs I have ever seen. It was very bleak and had no atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good staff

Disliked: no kitchen, although staff could help you using the fridge and other things indirectly. Super expensive, even add tax on top of it

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything was pretty much what I expected for the cost

Disliked: its not really something I disliked but the stairs leading up to the place are very steep so just watch it when you've been drinking

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly right throughout- made us feel very comfortable/secure. We were upgraded upon our arrival, which was a fantastic start to our weekend-getaway.

Disliked: We were generally satisfied with all aspects, as our basic needs were met.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The resident cat.

Disliked: Everything else. Dark, dingy, dirty showers, incredibly thin walls meant loud noises all the time. All of this I might have expected from a hostel of this name - except they were charging 33 euros per night for a top bunk in a 5 bed room. Extortionate for what you got, which was the worst hostel we stayed in during a eurotrip. The flying pig, half the price, was three times as good. Sadly it was full so we couldn't stay there beyond our first night and moved here. A rather depressing hostel all in all.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The helping staff and secure atmosphere.

Disliked: Either check out should be late till 12.30 or check in should be earlier. Dont make people wait since we dont have much time always.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability