HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of International Budget Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 65%

Location 87%

Safety 74%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.18USD
  • Towel 1.06USD

Important Information

** IMPORTANT **
Cancellation on arrival (or if you fail to arrive) will result in full payment for the first night and 50% for the remaining nights accomodation.
Weekend reservations are subject to a TWO NIGHT cancellation fee should the 48 hours notice not be observed.
**All reservations will be held until 23.00 p.m. unless arranged differently with reception.
**The reservation will be terminated if the hostel does not get authorisation on the credit card.
an authorization is not a payment but only as a guarantee for the hostel

the amount of the authorization is depending if the arrival date is on a weekday or weekend. Arriving on a weekday, the authorization will be the first night per person

and arriving in the weekend (Fri/Sat) the authorzation will be the first 2 nights per person as the minimum stay in the weekends is 2 nights.

24 hours check in is possible and we have free wifi in the rooms and reception

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 65%

Location 87%

Safety 74%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 21-19 of 19 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa

Liked: THE SMOKING LOUNGETHE CLEANLINESSWIFI

Disliked: NONSECURE LOCKERS IN ROOM

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, room clean and shower gel provided in the bathroom that's about it.

Disliked: Staff friendliness was not great when I was there. There's no real atmosphere and nothing that makes you want to hang around the hostel either which is a shame because its a nice building. It could be a much nicer hostel if they put more effort in. You just get the feeling there's not that much care and attention being put into it, for as long as people want to keep getting stoned they'll be holed up in the smoking room,first joint to lips and then they'll blissfully forget how much this hostel is not value for money, especially on the expensive weekend rates. The owners are laughing! I guess you can't get away from a smoking room in Amsterdam , which is just guys sinking down the back of sofas and watching TV. So if you are a stoner and this is your thing you will probably enjoy but if not I do not recommend this hostel at all because there's not another common room, people are too stoned to strike up conversation and you have the background noise to a seriously bad US TV series. I'd try somewhere else.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: They wake you up the day of checkout

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Decent price and good location.

Disliked: Our group of 3 would definitely NOT recommend this hostel. Here's why:1. 4 lockers in a 5 person room means one person is without a locker unless two people share, which is ridiculous, especially if the room is all singles.2. Stains on sheets; some kind of a bug fell from the ceiling3. Bathrooms tiny, and light turns off in literally 7 seconds with no motion. Absurd.4. They charge 1 Euro PER PAGE to print... come on...5. Helpfulness of staff is really hit and miss6. WiFi is REALLY bad. Not enough strong enough to send an email.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: it was very close to leidsplein

Disliked: a lot of thisngs.. first of all, stairs are dangerous, they also made so many problem before we arrive, they are rude when they are writing email. they ask for 5% for credit card use. rooms are cold. no towel no kitchen and very horrible stairs, very small WC.. it wasn't worth of it..

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, nice smoking room

Disliked: Wifi was very slow and unreliable, bathrooms and showers were slightly dirty. Staff was not very friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were lovely and really helpful. The location was fantastic and away from the awful touristy parts which was exactly what we were looking for.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, although we could store things in a fridge and use a microwave if needed. There was only 1 socket in a room with 5 beds. The bathrooms were dirty when we arrived and were often out of toilet roll. The whol hostel felt like you were in the underbelly of a ship, we called it "prison" for our stay there and the stairs when you get in the front door are the most ridiculously steep stairs I have ever seen. It was very bleak and had no atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good staff

Disliked: no kitchen, although staff could help you using the fridge and other things indirectly. Super expensive, even add tax on top of it

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything was pretty much what I expected for the cost

Disliked: its not really something I disliked but the stairs leading up to the place are very steep so just watch it when you've been drinking

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly right throughout- made us feel very comfortable/secure. We were upgraded upon our arrival, which was a fantastic start to our weekend-getaway.

Disliked: We were generally satisfied with all aspects, as our basic needs were met.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability