HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of International Budget Hostel Amsterdam Hostel

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 66%

Location 87%

Safety 76%

Staff 76%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

** IMPORTANT **
Cancellation on arrival (or if you fail to arrive) will result in full payment for the first night and 50% for the remaining nights accomodation.
Weekend reservations are subject to a TWO NIGHT cancellation fee should the 48 hours notice not be observed.
**All reservations will be held until 23.00 p.m. unless arranged differently with reception.
**The reservation will be terminated if the hostel does not get authorisation on the credit card.
an authorization is not a payment but only as a guarantee for the hostel

the amount of the authorization is depending if the arrival date is on a weekday or weekend. Arriving on a weekday, the authorization will be the first night per person

and arriving in the weekend (Fri/Sat) the authorzation will be the first 2 nights per person as the minimum stay in the weekends is 2 nights.

24 hours check in is possible and we have free wifi in the rooms and reception

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 66%

Location 87%

Safety 76%

Staff 76%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 52 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked that it was clean and I felt safe there. I also enjoyed that there was no curfew. The location was perfect. We were close to the city center but not so close that we walked straight out of the hostel into the hustle and bustle of people. The staff was very friendly and helpful when ever we had questions. I liked that it was non-smoking inside the hostel so that really made the environment enjoyable as well.

Disliked: I know that it was super expensive but I wasn't a big fan that we had to either provide our own pad locks or pay to borrow one from them. On the site it said secure lockers (which was true) but it was only secure if you were able to purchase a pad lock.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very centrally located. The staff was also very nice and the security was good too. If you just need a place to sleep, with nothing else mattering, then this place isn't terrible.

Disliked: While the staff was nice, they didn't seem to know specifics about Amsterdam, only some areas to check out. The rooms had mold in them and overall the place had a bit of a dirty feel to it.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice cheap accommodation, pretty close to the town and major tram lines. Has got plenty of character , and is fantastic for the price!! The stairs are always and adventure!!

Disliked: There was some mold in one corner, of the room we were staying in.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a good location right by the canal side and in the middle of all the sites. The showers and bathrooms are generally kept prett clean.

Disliked: It's not particularly easy to socialise in the hostel, especially if you don't smoke and though the staff are nice they are not notably friendly or helpful. The only other point is that the wifi connection is very poor.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location was brilliant. The staff were lovely.

Disliked: It needed an upgrade; cleanliness was really good but decor in the public areas not. It needed painted in the public areas, the carpet in the downstairs lobby was filthy and created a poor first impression. The menu did not look value for money and no one was eating! The front sitting room was full of smoke and stoned tweny year olds. It needed a major overhaul. Why not ban the smoking; plenty of other places. The doors have terrible closers on them that slam shut; really bad when people are coming and going at all times. You can get closers that slow to the final shut so no horrible banging.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Washrooms were clean as we're the rooms. I'd recommend this hostel.

Disliked: No access to the toaster or microwave to make your own food.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: None.

Disliked: It is the worst hostel I have lived in. Very difficult to find the location with very small sign. And the night guider always looked serious. The window in the room even could not closed and the bed sheet was not clear enough.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is absolutely amazing, it is right of the grand place! The facilities were real clean and had a comfy common area.

Disliked: The check-in place is a bit of a walk from the hostel, but it understand why. The street the hostel is on is also alittle sketchy seeming if you are alone at night, but that is like any off street from the grand place.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Ideal location and price for short student break. Had everything we needed.

Disliked: Very steep stairs to get to reception should be mentioned.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was really friendly and talkative. Rooms were clean and has a nice spot when you want to feel the canals atmosphere in Amsterdam.

Disliked: There was a strange smell in the Lounge room, like old cleaning sponges or something. I didn't like it and I didn't want to spend a second in Lounge.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability