We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of International Budget Hostel

Hostel | Leidse gracht 76, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1016 CR

71.5% Overall Rating

165 out of 215 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2015)

Jamie Richardson thinks…

"I really liked that it was clean and I felt safe there. I also enjoyed that there was no curfew. The location was perfect. We were close to the city center but not so close that we walked straight…"

Read all International Budget Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.29
  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

** IMPORTANT ** Cancellation on arrival (or if you fail to arrive) will result in full payment for the first night and 50% for the remaining nights accomodation. Weekend reservations are subject to a TWO NIGHT cancellation fee should the 48 hours notice not be observed. **All reservations will be held until 23.00 p.m. unless arranged differently with reception. **The reservation will be terminated if the hostel does not get authorisation on the credit card. an authorization is not a payment but only as a guarantee for the hostel the amount of the authorization is depending if the arrival date is on a weekday or weekend. Arriving on a weekday, the authorization will be the first night per person and arriving in the weekend (Fri/Sat) the authorzation will be the first 2 nights per person as the minimum stay in the weekends is 2 nights. 24 hours check in is possible and we have free wifi in the rooms and reception

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Marnix City Centre
39.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.0% 1607 reviews
Quentin Hotel
32.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.0% 18 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
38.05 USD

Hostel 71.7% 232 reviews
Golden Bear
59.86 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 84.0% 10 reviews
Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
21.96 USD

Hostel 61.5% 508 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
10.97 USD

Hostel 68.8% 928 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
46.12 USD

Hostel 66.4% 81 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
36.61 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.5%

Overall Rating

165 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'International Budget Hostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 160 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful and the cat that hangs out at the reception area is very cute! Fast wifi that worked in both the rooms and reception, large lockers in the rooms and the showers and bathrooms were generally kept very clean.

Disliked: The stairs leading up to reception and the rooms is very steep and difficult if you have big heavy bags!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Man Kwan Hui

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Man Kwan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. A lovely cat.

Disliked: Bathroom: no where to hang our stuff. Weak water. A nightmare to bathe. Crowded room. No guest kitchen. Can only hand all the stuff to staff for cleaning/ cooking/ freezing. Very steep ladder, no lift. If you carry a check-in luggage, you will be in trouble.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and clean room.

Disliked: Could have had more facilities for use such as bar.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location where you could easily walk around day or night and get where you needed to go on foot or by tram (which was a 30 second walk). It was really safe in this location at night when outside which was really nice, and really quiet. Also, the beds were comfortable and the sheets were obviously cleaned before we came. The bathrooms, while shared were also cleaned every day which made it comfortable to shower. And they have a really cute cat in the common room, which is awesome!

Disliked: They charge for internet and when sleeping on the top bunk (near the door) you could clearly hear every person slamming the door on the floor above. It made it really hard to sleep because of how loud it was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Cassidy

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff were really nice and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and the staff were super helpful and friendly. There's a good lounge area if you want to hang out and meet other travelers and there are decent-sized lockers in rooms for your stuff.

Disliked: No kitchen, so I had to eat out for every meal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Megan Wilker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2012 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing extraordinary about the hostel, but nothing terrible either. Good value for the money. Location is good, and the staff was really helpful.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had no problems to make a late check-in.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. Lots of pub's and bars and restaurants nearby and only 2 km walk to central station, less to Dam Square. Staff was super friendly. Room was average, but clean. There was hot water coming in the shower and toilets were clean and there where enough those. Common area was nice and clean. Security was good, there was doorcode downstairs.

Disliked: Little bit cold in the room. No padlocks in the room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

MATTHEW AGIUS

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 February 2012 MATTHEW would recommend this property

Liked: Central

Disliked: MATTHEW left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: Lockers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012

Liked: Good location, very easy to find, clean and quiet.

Disliked: Reception and common area didn't have very good hours, could only get wifi in common area, expensive for what it was.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011

Liked: It's location was ideal, at arm's length from the red light district and characterless main shopping street.

Disliked: Due to a staff error, I was placed in the wrong room and had to contend with an angry fellow traveller trying to claim the bed I'd been given at 3am. The member of staff was friendly and apologetic the following morning, but the error was damaging to the stay. The room was extremely cramped, with seven beds (incl. 3 sets of bunks) in a space it was very awkward to manoeuvre around. I was placed on a far bunk, which had been constructed such that the steps to the top bunk were facing the wall, out of reach.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Availability of bike rentals, friendly front desk staff.. I missed my flight the night before so wasn't able to stay the full two days, just stayed one night, and the front desk staff helped me sell off my first night (for a bit less than what I paid for but that's alright) so I saved a bit. Nice chill area..

Disliked: Steep staircase! Otherwise, nothing much to dislike, lovely common area

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and friendly, rooms were fine. Showers were a bit weak but I think thats just to do with the water pressure.

Disliked: Showers were a bit iffy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. lockers can be provided. you can feel the friendly atmosphore of the staff.

Disliked: Someone (another traveller) took my bed putting his stuff on my towel.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011

Liked: Clean and great location.

Disliked: the shower. It was a drizzle.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011

Liked: The location was in a quiet neighborhood. It is a fairly small hostel so it is better for meeting people.

Disliked: While staying there I got bumps and rashes all over that may have been from bedbugs. The bed I was on looked very old and stained. The bathrooms are barely large enough for a person to fit in and the showers are not very good. The common room closes at 11pm every night. This forces people to use laptops, read, etc, in their rooms which keeps other people awake. Since reception only opens after 9am, you have to check out the night before to get your key deposit if you are leaving early. I would never have known this if I didn't happen to see someone else checking out in the evening. And the common room also doesn't open until 9am, so that makes it hard to have a bit of breakfast in the morning. This was the worst hostel I have stayed at and it was not worth saving a few dollars.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elisaveta Zaripov

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 May 2011 Elisaveta would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the view from the room.

Disliked: I disliked the staff who were not very friendly, unhelpful, and incompetent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice place and very cheap

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good ! It was close to a nice square LeidsePlein and the canal.

Disliked: I didn't like the stairs... too dangerous, and there wasn't the lift.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to LiedtzePlein and 3 tram stops to center. Rooms are very clean totaly recomend it .

Disliked: nothig everything was perfect

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, simple, helpful staff, no fuss made and view onto canal was great

Disliked: bed was a bit wonky

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Armstrong

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 May 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the location of this property and the staff were excellent. my friend lost her money as soon as we arrived and the owner (we think) took her to the trams and tried his very best to help. The property was really clean too so if your going for just a place to sleep, its excellent value for money.

Disliked: There was nothing we disliked about this property.

The property's response is...