HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The White Tulip Hostel

Hostel | Warmoesstraat 87, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HZ

77.6% Overall Rating

793 out of 1104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

"Good quality hostel. Really good value for money. Great atmosphere and friendly staff."

Read all The White Tulip Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All bookings exclude 5.5% City Tax. This needs to be paid upon arrival at check-in. There will be no service charge for payments by credit card

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Croydon
23.52 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.59 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
Travel Hotel
27.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.8% 677 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
62.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.3% 390 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
53.95 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
27.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
41.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.4% 146 reviews
Dam Hotel
34.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.0% 310 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

793 out of 1104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The White Tulip Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 730 of 827 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality hostel. Really good value for money. Great atmosphere and friendly staff.

Disliked: Bathroom on our floor was being refurbished so had to use the one on the floor below. Was very busy and flooded.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos Amaris

Alone

Business / conference

08 April 2014 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. It's right in the center.

Disliked: The fact that is located in the center makes it a little bit noisy in the night because of the people that are drunk and walking by.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Renovation of toilets and showers in early hours of morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, nice helpful staff

Disliked: If you want to sleep in a serene environment, this area is probably not for you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Nicholson

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 March 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really good had a great view.

Disliked: The stairs as they were very steep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jonathan ott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: nice place

Disliked: no place to smoke

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Melody Rainford-Markarian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014

Liked: People I met.

Disliked: I was scared of rats and mice and the smell wasn't very good either

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yeliz catak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Yeliz would recommend this property

Liked: Its so warm and friendly Hostel. its location is perfect for to go everywhere.

Disliked: l cant so much things from a cheap hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Cullens

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 January 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: A big shout out to the bar staff, especially Jordan and Rob! Very helpful and sound.

Disliked: The church bells outside our bedroom window, really loud like!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alexander Kireev and Nadezda Kireeva

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: The noise from the bar and the streets until 4 am. A lot of youth stoned. Very small shover (1x1m).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 December 2013

Liked: Good location to party and close to Central Station.

Disliked: Bathrooms were very average and I saw a mouse in the room. If a place has vermin and dirty bathrooms, then I will never recommend it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Willian Oya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 November 2013 Willian would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and good price.

Disliked: Willian left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

sophie koch

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Love the staff! Makes you feel welcome the minute you walk in! The place have a lot of character evrn though it is a little bit dirty. I did enjoy my stay and would recommend it to people who don't mind noise and nasty showers. Tips is to bring flipflops with you ;)

Disliked: Showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mateus Rocha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Mateus would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, wide and clean dorms, nice staff

Disliked: Small shower cabin and no kitchen

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013

Liked: İt is close to every where

Disliked: Not clean, internet was not working

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and outweighed any negative aspects.

Disliked: The staff was really lazy

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool people that shared our dorm, superb location- step outside and your right in the middle of where it's all happening.

Disliked: Cramped area and not very clean. Can't say much for the price though.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Robert Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013

Liked: Nothing!!!!

Disliked: Everything! Where to start... I stayed here with my partner for 2nights (2nights to long) as soon as we arrived it was like walking into a cupboard, no space at all. We had to pay 5€ deposit for the room key! And where then told our room would not be ready for another 20mins even though we arrived 2hrs after check in time. We walked up the very small steep stairs to the "common room" aka a hallway with a dirty sofa and small table outside the bedrooms. We were given beds at different sides of the room. The hostel is in the middle of the red light district!!! There is a pub next door which you can hear the music in to the early hours. On the first morning at 7am we could hear drills, music and hammering, went to see what was going on and the 'common area' had been ripped apart there was builders everywhere. You could not get in or out of the bathroom (showers where also broken) I went down to complain and all I got was 'well we don't give any money back and all I can do is change your room' not happy at all. The hostel was also never dirty and I could not wait to get out!!! Do not stay here. The other people in the hostel where all sex tourists who were stoned, drunk and very loud, un considerate and untidy (not the hostels fault but because of its location it's the type of people who go there, we did not do much research before booking which I will always do now after this experience)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Bathrooms were dirty all the time and smelled bad, showers didn't drain at all and some of the fixtures had fallen off the wall. The church bells are annoying.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2013

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: The bathroom (4 showers and 4 toilets) was terrible. Only Two out of the four showers worked. one had no lock and the other the shower head was broken. Cubicles are sooo small that you have to leave your belongings outside the shower cubicle (anyone could just walk past and take your stuff). Construction was taking place to the first floor, which meant banging early in the morning. The hallways were very dirty due to construction, meaning polyfiller putty got caught in shoes and was dragged into the bedroom. Security is very bad, one night a guy came in to our dorm and took a piss out the window (not realising it was closed), causing a big scene. He left, then we realised he wasn't even sleeping in our dorm! AVOID THIS PROPERTY

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thelmo Egidio Cargnelutti Neto

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 August 2013 Thelmo would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel has a very good location

Disliked: So many differents staff... Never we saw the same guy!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marcela Martins dos Passos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Terrible bathrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Much better than anticipated, brilliant location, directions provided were very helpful and easy to use. Loved how you could sit and over look the street outside with the big windows that opened up. Bar downstairs which you get a discount in is decent. Cleaned extremely well for a hostel and big lockers provided, 24hr reception is good as well. Also we made a mistake with the dates we booked, one email explaining and was sorted out quickly and easily.

Disliked: All of the people I was with commented that they thought the negative reviews about this hostel were unfair, you have to be realistic, it's in the centre of Amsterdam and caters for young backpackers, take an eye mask and some ear plugs and you'll sleep fine!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .