HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

84.6% Overall Rating

699 out of 776 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

Kristen Morrow thinks…

"First hostel I've ever stayed in. Was worried before I got there as many people had said hostels are awful and you're better off paying the extra money to get a hotel room. They were SO wrong! The…"

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
27.66 USD

Hostel 87.1% 2274 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
42.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
30.29 USD

Hostel 82.4% 1462 reviews
Hotel Blyss
45.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
25.02 USD

Hostel 65.3% 4270 reviews
Trianon
23.71 USD

Hostel 67.8% 318 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
16.46 USD

Hostel 64.6% 528 reviews
Hotel Abba
43.91 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

699 out of 776 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 535 of 625 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Yule

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, filled with fun travellers. I liked how the drinks were cheaper in the bar compared to other places in Amsterdam!

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sally Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Close to park and museums, however pretty far from the good night life, but there are still coffeeshops close by.

Disliked: Stayed in the downtown hostel, which is much better.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere in the hostel, with very clean facilities.

Disliked: Slightly far from city centre

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Steve Tate

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: The location, close to galleries and park and easy access to Amsterdam centre.

Disliked: Small bar/common room, especially at breakfast time. Improved while I was there with the removal of one smoking room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything is good~

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and smoking room atmosphere

Disliked: No washer and drier, was a big deal

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bar was fun place to meet people

Disliked: No elevator! Bathrooms were not always clean. Almost too lenient with drug use

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, location great next to park, rooms clean, valuables kept safe at reception which is open 24 hours. 2nd floor toilet. I had a wonderful send off in the smoking room, playing guitar and singing a song just before leaving.

Disliked: the loud music until 3am, though earplugs helped. Toilet on 1st floor too small and often dirty. There should be male and female toilets, men can't aim straight, women can. A small bag of cheese, herb teas and an insulated cup went missing from my room, I left it on the floor, and it may have been thrown away by cleaners, staff checked in a log book but nothing written about it. Otherwise someone in my 6 bed dorm knicked it. They obviously need those herb teas and cheese!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, breakfast, location

Disliked: bathrooms!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right on this really nice park which made it easy to find on maps, and was just a nice place to go. The breakfast was good, the bar looked fun, the beds were clean, they let us put our stuff in lockers before check in time, and the smoking room was always interesting. It was close to the museums, and not too far from city center. I liked that it wasn't right in the middle of everything, but was close enough.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean fresh linen every day, hot showers, good breakfast, fun fun fun!

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Leandro Rossi Biacnoni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Leandro Rossi would recommend this property

Liked: Recomendo este hostel!

Disliked: buble gumm in the beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriane Ward

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Adriane would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very helpful staff, located slightly out of the centre of the city, giving in a little more peace from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. Its located right beside a beautiful park, great for lounging in during the day. Great value for the cost!

Disliked: Nothing, the place was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Stoffregen

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place with a fun atmosphere in a great location. The staff was also very helpful. Not a bad place to meet people if you're traveling solo.

Disliked: Overall, it was nice and clean but my room smelled a bit funky (not pot, just funky) but it could have just been a fellow guest and not the hostel itself.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, the free breakfast and free internet. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: I stayed at the Flying Pig downtown before staying at the uptown location. It is slightly better than the uptown location in every category.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Edmund Barrett-Lennard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 April 2011

Liked: beds where comfy

Disliked: too many stairs, not very clean, stuffed up our booking and didnt offer anything to fix it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Darya Ausiannikava

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011

Liked: The central location and funny name)

Disliked: The room was dirty. It was very-very small. The breakfast was rather poor.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Daniel Catlin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011

Liked: It's tailor-made for the backpacker that wants to party. The guests are all young and naturally it's really loud there and it can get a bit rowdy. If you're into that, you should be satisfied. They have a full bar and a smoking room and of course a kitchen for guest use. The setting, next to Vondelpark, is both an asset and a disadvantage.

Disliked: Personally, I found this place obnoxious. Tons of people there, very loud, just a cliche of a hostel. Plus, the smoking room is tiny, and don't be surprised if the same ten people are in there all the time, making it difficult to pop in there for a quick toke. Plus, I figured out the Leidseplein area is kind of lame, and that's closest party area to this hostel. I unwittingly booked this hostel for a month later than I intended, but when I went to check in, the staff at reception either didn't notice or feel the need to inform me of my mistake. Thus, at 2 a.m. I was woken up by other guests who told me rudely my friend and I were in their beds. They had just arrived and had reservations for our places, but reception had no idea we were already there. Now they were overbooked, and we had to change rooms in the middle of the night, and I ended up on one of those thin mattresses on the floor. Granted, the staff member who helped us was as apologetic and helpful as could be, but that such a thing would happen is ridiculous. Sure I made the mistake... but why didn't they notice it? The next morning I asked to speak to a manager to see if I couldn't get some compensation for having been woken up and moved to the floor, but I was informed the manager "won't be here for a couple more hours, if you want to wait" (it was already after 9 am). Why should I pay full price after that? I say, pick a better hostel in a more interesting part of the city. Amsterdam's huge, with lots of amazing places to stay, you can do better. To each his own.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, On-site bar, smoking room, excellent breakfast

Disliked: lockers require that you bring/buy a padlock

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011

Liked: It's nice to have a smoking room and the location is fairly convenient.

Disliked: Seems like a place that kind of attracts d-bags, but that's sort of an Amsterdam issue in general, really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Evan Boyle

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011

Liked: The staff (especially Michelle and Jasper) were eternally helpful and fun to hang out with as well. The whole configuration of this hostel is inviting and I really cannot think of a better hostel in Amsterdam!

Disliked: nothing. Everything was fantastic.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Sullivan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, set a bit back from the city. quick walk, but you feel a bit separated (better night's sleep). bar and smoking room, good place to chill out if you're not up for the red light district.

Disliked: not much at the bar, beds are a bit small (and I'm not a big guy)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 March 2011

Liked: Good location and individual lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: It was fat too crowded, no space in the breakfast area, not enough cutlery and plates for everyone, the rooms far too crowded and the toilets extremally small. Do not recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very nice place to stay...was my first time travelling and also my first time in a hostel the flying pig uptown was got me hooked....thanks guys :-) !!!!

Disliked: nothing