HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.45USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

Showing 81-51 of 51 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Flying Pig Uptown, although seems to be a little bit out of the city centre, had a great location for us. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum are really close. The night life in Leidseplein is in 4-5 minutes walking distance. Also it is 3 minutes far from a bus&tram station where there is a bus to/from the Airport. So, my only worry about the hostel (that it was far from the centre) was not at all a worry in the end ;)

Disliked: I wish I was informed about the free daily city tours starting every morning from the hostel. We found it out on the last day and we enjoyed a 3-hour tour with a friendly city guide!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: very clean all the time which is really nice. the breakfast is awesome very lovely grainy brown bread and unlimited tea coffee ect. staff were very helpful and lovely at all times as well. bar is very nice place to hang out and meet people.

Disliked: cant get wifi in your room.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Flying Pig Uptown was a great place to stay as it let you see more of Amsterdam in contrast to staying in the more touristy dowtown branch. The bedrooms and bathrooms were always spotless and the staff deserve A+++ in friendliness, helpfulness and being super approachable. The kitchen had sufficient appliances for cooking e.g. 3 small fridges, mini oven, microwave and a big stove. The smoking room was chilled and comfortable and the bar has literally the best hot chocolate you'll ever have in your life for €1.80!

Disliked: I was on the top floor so the amount of stairs was crazy. It is a shame that the wifi doesn't reach beyond the bar and the first floor. I didn't want to skype my family in a dark bar with people talking in the background so that was one issue. I also wish there were more power outlets in the rooms. In my 10 bed dorm there was one outlet to share. It was also really high up on the wall so we had to stack our electronics on top of a bin to charge them without hanging. The shower I used also seem to be only stuck on hot or very hot water.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff. Clean. Good bar. Good lockers for security. Great price

Disliked: Not much.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was really trendy and clean and we felt really safe there. The staff were really helpful and the free breakfast was really good! Amazing value for money!

Disliked: the stairs!! Apart from that nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cosy feel and good location. Bar open till 3

Disliked: No laundry facilities, no bike hire

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Lovely chilled out vibe, friendly staff, and the beds were very comfy aswell which was a surprise. The smoking room was a great place to chill and enjoy a hot chocolate :)

Disliked: My room was on a high floor, which meant lots of stairs to climb, not good when you have been enjoying the pleasures of Amsterdam

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right next to leidesplein and vondelparkand close to museumplein.

Disliked: Too many stairs and these are too narrow. Missed a bg open space to shower. Single shower rooms are too tight. And it is a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, I always felt safe and well taken care of. The bar was the best bar I found in Amsterdam, can't wait to go back!

Disliked: There were a lot of stairs so just pack light and try to get a room close to the bottom if possible, however this is typical for most buildings in Amsterdam

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: N/a

Disliked: n/a

Check Availability