HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.47USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

Showing 71-55 of 55 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The people inside were really young and i heard a lot of activities.The bar in the low level is really cool.Very close to some big attraction.People could smoke only in the desigeted area.

Disliked: The reception near the bar can be very noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Wonderful atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, safe location and environment.

Disliked: Location wasn't necessarily central to the city's main facilities and attractions, but still in a lovely area of Amsterdam.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was my favorite part. Super friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Cold showers!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We have recently upgraded our boiler to cope with the number of showers we now have. We hope you will come back and stay with us again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the atmosphere, the cleanliness, and espescially the friendliness of the staff!

Disliked: For the offered price, nothing to argue here. Best value for money you can get!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good lockers for personal items, really close to everything worth seeing, friendly family like atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Atmosphere is what this hostel is all about. The rooms themselves are ok and the location is a bit far from center.

Disliked: Location a bit far. Rooms not the best.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great party atmosphere but not one of those hostels where people are coming in at all hours making loads of noise- sleep is possible if you want it. Staff are mainly English people come over to Amsterdam to party, and they're all very helpful. Even though it's marketed as the hostel that's a bit out of town it was more central than we thought, you can walk to the main bar/club area in 5 mins and Dam Square in 25 mins if you don't take the tram.

Disliked: The kitchen is quite small and crowded so it's not easy to make your own food, but that's it.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel is next to Vondelpark on a quiet and beautiful road, which was really nice. 5 minute walk from Leidseplein and the buses/trams. Nice downstairs bar area and smoking lounge.

Disliked: The bathrooms are really tiny if you don't have your own in the room. Showers are a bit awkward to use.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: excellent staff who give a great party style service and very helpful and welcoming.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Flying Pig Uptown, although seems to be a little bit out of the city centre, had a great location for us. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum are really close. The night life in Leidseplein is in 4-5 minutes walking distance. Also it is 3 minutes far from a bus&tram station where there is a bus to/from the Airport. So, my only worry about the hostel (that it was far from the centre) was not at all a worry in the end ;)

Disliked: I wish I was informed about the free daily city tours starting every morning from the hostel. We found it out on the last day and we enjoyed a 3-hour tour with a friendly city guide!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability