We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

85.9% Overall Rating

705 out of 783 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2015)

sarah johnson thinks…

"hostel is great, key cards make the room safe.rooms are very clean and the beds are really comfy.theres a bar downstairs which serves food and drinks and a great smoking area.friendly staff and even…"

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.44

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
26.13 USD

Hostel 87.4% 2309 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
37.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 34 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
16.33 USD

Hostel 89.7% 1521 reviews
Hotel Blyss
27.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.0% 12 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.42 USD

Hostel 72.7% 4294 reviews
Budget Hostel Princess
70.77 USD

Hostel 71.2% 15 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
54.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
19.60 USD

Hostel 65.0% 328 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

705 out of 783 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 541 of 632 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david chamberlain

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: the flying pig was amazing, i have been to dam 4 times now, 2 times i stayed in a hotel another i stayed in an appartment and the last time was in the flying pig, and i'm happy to say the flying pig wins hands down if your a smoker like me, the staff are all really nice and usually in the middle of the fun which always makes ya feel more at ease, the toilet/shower facilitys and the breakfast were better than expected so all in all a great trip, idealy i'd love to work/live at the pig cause its the combo of that place and bein in dam made me not wanna leave but sadly life calls so i'l just say i'l defo be goin back there next year :D

Disliked: i read the revews on the place b4 i booked and people said the showers were dirty and the stairs were narrow and hard to climb, i have no idew what those people were talking about, the showers were fine, and unless your obese you shouldnt have any probs with the stairs, i say if ya gonna complain about silly things like that then save it for when you've spent double what the pig charges on a hotel thats half as good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefan Schott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 September 2011 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: sehr zu empfehlen, gute Lage, sauber, freundlich, etwas eng aber das macht nix, tolle leute und Stimmung

Disliked: etwas eng

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana de Castro Sucre

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, cool decorations, friendly people, loved the "smoking" section, I just honestly loved the feeling of familiarity and comfort that I got from the Flying Pig.

Disliked: There's only pizza on the menu? jajajaja no, I honestly liked everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hen Yacobson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Hen would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent!! (Leidseplein and part of the museums are 5 minutes walk), with huge park just outside the frontdoor, basic nice breakfast, well-accessorized kitchen, nice rooms with quite big lockers, smoking room, helpfull staff...and one big advantage - check-in from 10:30!!! recommended from the bottom of my heart!!!

Disliked: There is no elevator and the stairs are fucking narrow, so it is quite challenge (but possible) to reach the high floors with suitcase

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds very polite staff right next to leidsepleine

Disliked: breakfast was very plane a bit expansive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Piedra Cueva

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 September 2011 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's smoking room

Disliked: the stairs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location

Disliked: Cleanliness, showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sudeep Biswal

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Sudeep would recommend this property

Liked: I never had an experience like this before. I meet lot of people n all friendly. Staffs are very friendly and place is safe.I never had any complain of any sort.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011

Liked: The location is great. The staff are pretty nice and helpful. The free breakfast is OK. There is a bar. Tickets to museums/sites are available from reception so you can skip lines to heaps of attractions.

Disliked: The toilets and showers are SO small. Your knees touch the doors when you sit on the toilet. They also constantly smell. There are no laundry facilities. There's not much other than a bar and smoking area (like, no nice hangout spot). There were Jager shots advertised for 1€ during 6-7pm (HAPPY HOUR) but staff charged €2. I challenged them on this and they still insisted it was €2. A guy was sleeping in my bed, so a staff member put me in another one, yet no one cleaned the bed sheets for me. This would all be OK if it weren't supposed to be one of "Europe's Famous Hostels" and €30/night. I felt like I paid for a fun, decent hostel and got one that was just OK.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its next to the vondelpark!

Disliked: the terrace was closed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though it isn't in the heart of the Amsterdam party district, it's nice to stay out of the drunken mess that downtown can become sometimes. If you're looking for a peaceful place to stay or really like rollerblading in the Vondelpark this is a good choice, but if you're more into wildness you can easily walk downtown if you're tough or take public transportation if you're lazy. Staff was great, beds were comfortable, smoking room was chill.

Disliked: nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place to meet different travellers. breakfast is not bad.

Disliked: dorms too crowded. showers and toilets in level B are quite dirty and stinky.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cherralina Wong

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 August 2011 Cherralina would recommend this property

Liked: the bar!

Disliked: person sleeping on the upper bunk had REALLY smelly feet that stank the whole room out

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great facilities, beds and atmosphere. free use of roller blades!!

Disliked: a little expensive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: The colorful art on the walls. The shower was big, so that helped, especially when comparing the size of the bathroom. The bar seemed cool, although I wasn't in there the night I stayed.

Disliked: The steep steps to get in and out of the hostel. The small rooms, and they were not so clean. The small bathroom for dorms. The people in my room that spent the night talking and laughing loudly. That's ok, though, because when I had to leave at 4:30am the next morning, and I only got 2 hours of sleep, I just turned on the lights for the entire room and got myself ready to leave, no apologies there. I had no choice really, because my bed light did not work!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrroms, Showers, Staff

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Charlotte Aleman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Party Hostel

Disliked: I never found my ppl from pub crawl again lol

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francesca Annenberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, right by a great park, although not right in the centre, the hostel is in a great location, good breakfast and smoking room.

Disliked: Vomit on toilet seat - took forever for it to be cleaned, but that's what makes it I guess.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good location.

Disliked: Small bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hayley Moffat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel! Not right in the centre, but the walk isn't bad or you could take a tram which is about a 5 minute walk away. Rooms were clean and staff were helpful!

Disliked: We were lucky and only had one flight of stairs, but if you are on one of the higher floors, the stairs looked intimidating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was amazing, really wish we'd stayed longer. The staff was very friendly, and it was a huge plus to be able to leave your valuables in the reception.

Disliked: Nothing much. The toilets were small, as were the showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chrystle Wellburn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Chrystle would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good feel, nice breakfast, good vibe -this was my second visit in two months and I have to say It was a good choice for Amsterdam. Simple to get to, and in a nice area of town. They offer a good amount of information and can book tickets for attractions as well - saves time!

Disliked: Stairs, but I mean it's not really a huge deal - but when you have a heavy back you always remember it. Seriously guys its a good choice to book!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chrystle Wellburn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Chrystle would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, close to the tram and a nice breakfast

Disliked: The high level floors were a effort to bring the bag up... but no harm in a workout here and there I suppose.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel staff where nice....

Disliked: I prefer the downtown flying pig more...