HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.49USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

Showing 71-64 of 64 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the atmosphere, the cleanliness, and espescially the friendliness of the staff!

Disliked: For the offered price, nothing to argue here. Best value for money you can get!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good lockers for personal items, really close to everything worth seeing, friendly family like atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Atmosphere is what this hostel is all about. The rooms themselves are ok and the location is a bit far from center.

Disliked: Location a bit far. Rooms not the best.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great party atmosphere but not one of those hostels where people are coming in at all hours making loads of noise- sleep is possible if you want it. Staff are mainly English people come over to Amsterdam to party, and they're all very helpful. Even though it's marketed as the hostel that's a bit out of town it was more central than we thought, you can walk to the main bar/club area in 5 mins and Dam Square in 25 mins if you don't take the tram.

Disliked: The kitchen is quite small and crowded so it's not easy to make your own food, but that's it.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel is next to Vondelpark on a quiet and beautiful road, which was really nice. 5 minute walk from Leidseplein and the buses/trams. Nice downstairs bar area and smoking lounge.

Disliked: The bathrooms are really tiny if you don't have your own in the room. Showers are a bit awkward to use.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: excellent staff who give a great party style service and very helpful and welcoming.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Flying Pig Uptown, although seems to be a little bit out of the city centre, had a great location for us. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum are really close. The night life in Leidseplein is in 4-5 minutes walking distance. Also it is 3 minutes far from a bus&tram station where there is a bus to/from the Airport. So, my only worry about the hostel (that it was far from the centre) was not at all a worry in the end ;)

Disliked: I wish I was informed about the free daily city tours starting every morning from the hostel. We found it out on the last day and we enjoyed a 3-hour tour with a friendly city guide!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: very clean all the time which is really nice. the breakfast is awesome very lovely grainy brown bread and unlimited tea coffee ect. staff were very helpful and lovely at all times as well. bar is very nice place to hang out and meet people.

Disliked: cant get wifi in your room.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Flying Pig Uptown was a great place to stay as it let you see more of Amsterdam in contrast to staying in the more touristy dowtown branch. The bedrooms and bathrooms were always spotless and the staff deserve A+++ in friendliness, helpfulness and being super approachable. The kitchen had sufficient appliances for cooking e.g. 3 small fridges, mini oven, microwave and a big stove. The smoking room was chilled and comfortable and the bar has literally the best hot chocolate you'll ever have in your life for €1.80!

Disliked: I was on the top floor so the amount of stairs was crazy. It is a shame that the wifi doesn't reach beyond the bar and the first floor. I didn't want to skype my family in a dark bar with people talking in the background so that was one issue. I also wish there were more power outlets in the rooms. In my 10 bed dorm there was one outlet to share. It was also really high up on the wall so we had to stack our electronics on top of a bin to charge them without hanging. The shower I used also seem to be only stuck on hot or very hot water.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff. Clean. Good bar. Good lockers for security. Great price

Disliked: Not much.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability