HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

84.3% Overall Rating

698 out of 775 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

Kristen Morrow thinks…

"First hostel I've ever stayed in. Was worried before I got there as many people had said hostels are awful and you're better off paying the extra money to get a hotel room. They were SO wrong! The…"

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
27.68 USD

Hostel 87.1% 2274 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
42.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
30.31 USD

Hostel 82.1% 1460 reviews
Hotel Blyss
45.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
25.04 USD

Hostel 64.0% 4269 reviews
Trianon
23.72 USD

Hostel 67.8% 318 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
22.39 USD

Hostel 64.6% 528 reviews
Hotel Abba
43.94 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

698 out of 775 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 535 of 625 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's smoking room

Disliked: the stairs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location

Disliked: Cleanliness, showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sudeep Biswal

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Sudeep would recommend this property

Liked: I never had an experience like this before. I meet lot of people n all friendly. Staffs are very friendly and place is safe.I never had any complain of any sort.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011

Liked: The location is great. The staff are pretty nice and helpful. The free breakfast is OK. There is a bar. Tickets to museums/sites are available from reception so you can skip lines to heaps of attractions.

Disliked: The toilets and showers are SO small. Your knees touch the doors when you sit on the toilet. They also constantly smell. There are no laundry facilities. There's not much other than a bar and smoking area (like, no nice hangout spot). There were Jager shots advertised for 1€ during 6-7pm (HAPPY HOUR) but staff charged €2. I challenged them on this and they still insisted it was €2. A guy was sleeping in my bed, so a staff member put me in another one, yet no one cleaned the bed sheets for me. This would all be OK if it weren't supposed to be one of "Europe's Famous Hostels" and €30/night. I felt like I paid for a fun, decent hostel and got one that was just OK.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its next to the vondelpark!

Disliked: the terrace was closed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though it isn't in the heart of the Amsterdam party district, it's nice to stay out of the drunken mess that downtown can become sometimes. If you're looking for a peaceful place to stay or really like rollerblading in the Vondelpark this is a good choice, but if you're more into wildness you can easily walk downtown if you're tough or take public transportation if you're lazy. Staff was great, beds were comfortable, smoking room was chill.

Disliked: nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place to meet different travellers. breakfast is not bad.

Disliked: dorms too crowded. showers and toilets in level B are quite dirty and stinky.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cherralina Wong

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 August 2011 Cherralina would recommend this property

Liked: the bar!

Disliked: person sleeping on the upper bunk had REALLY smelly feet that stank the whole room out

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great facilities, beds and atmosphere. free use of roller blades!!

Disliked: a little expensive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: The colorful art on the walls. The shower was big, so that helped, especially when comparing the size of the bathroom. The bar seemed cool, although I wasn't in there the night I stayed.

Disliked: The steep steps to get in and out of the hostel. The small rooms, and they were not so clean. The small bathroom for dorms. The people in my room that spent the night talking and laughing loudly. That's ok, though, because when I had to leave at 4:30am the next morning, and I only got 2 hours of sleep, I just turned on the lights for the entire room and got myself ready to leave, no apologies there. I had no choice really, because my bed light did not work!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrroms, Showers, Staff

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Charlotte Aleman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Party Hostel

Disliked: I never found my ppl from pub crawl again lol

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francesca Annenberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, right by a great park, although not right in the centre, the hostel is in a great location, good breakfast and smoking room.

Disliked: Vomit on toilet seat - took forever for it to be cleaned, but that's what makes it I guess.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good location.

Disliked: Small bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hayley Moffat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel! Not right in the centre, but the walk isn't bad or you could take a tram which is about a 5 minute walk away. Rooms were clean and staff were helpful!

Disliked: We were lucky and only had one flight of stairs, but if you are on one of the higher floors, the stairs looked intimidating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was amazing, really wish we'd stayed longer. The staff was very friendly, and it was a huge plus to be able to leave your valuables in the reception.

Disliked: Nothing much. The toilets were small, as were the showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chrystle Wellburn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Chrystle would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good feel, nice breakfast, good vibe -this was my second visit in two months and I have to say It was a good choice for Amsterdam. Simple to get to, and in a nice area of town. They offer a good amount of information and can book tickets for attractions as well - saves time!

Disliked: Stairs, but I mean it's not really a huge deal - but when you have a heavy back you always remember it. Seriously guys its a good choice to book!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chrystle Wellburn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Chrystle would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, close to the tram and a nice breakfast

Disliked: The high level floors were a effort to bring the bag up... but no harm in a workout here and there I suppose.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel staff where nice....

Disliked: I prefer the downtown flying pig more...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewie Cox

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Lewie would recommend this property

Liked: The unneccessary amount of stairs.

Disliked: lack of garden, but not really an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff were great! Rooms were always clean. Bar was great if you wanted a night in. 100% happy.

Disliked: Nothing!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christopher Pooley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, Any place is generally good if it has it's own bar with cheap beers.

Disliked: There was nothing really wrong with this hostel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011

Liked: Location, friendliness of staff

Disliked: Main light in room didn't work, shower in room didn't work, room very small, no screens on window so pigeons can get in when window open

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the bar was great, awesome smoking area with instruments to play and heaps of people to talk to, the beds were amazing and it was close to the great parts of the city.

Disliked: The other people in our room had the lights off very early.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's location in a residential area was a nice breath away from the downtown scene. but it was within walking distance of major social neighborhoods.

Disliked: the main check in area/ hallway is way too crowded, can't get around.