HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.43USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

Showing 51-37 of 37 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place to be in Amsterdam, perfect area to see the city especially in a short time. Great Breakfast.

Disliked: No laundry on site.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for your review. We hope that the lack of in-house laundry facilities didn't affect the quality of your stay too much and we hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. Reception can direct guests to a number of laundrettes within a 5 minute walk from our location for future reference. Thanks again.

- The Flying Pig Uptown

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, comfortable beds, quiet room

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. :)
- The Flying Pig Uptown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's close to everything. It's amazing to be able to walk to every attraction (the Vondelpark, the Van Gogh Museum, the RijksMuseum etc.). The staff is friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: - The place is too dark for me, especially the common room- The internet connection was terrible. Not reliable and very slow

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thanks for your feedback. We are in the process of improving our wireless service to cope with the number of internet users that stay with us. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel had very friendly and helpful staff, good atmosphere, a nice bar and smoking room, and a fantastic breakfast.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the downtown action (although that's to be guessed from the name). Quite a walk. But close to museums and the park!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed most aspects of the hostel. If you want to be close to the Red Light District and Rembrandt Square we are indeed a bit far out. The Flying Pig Downtown location accommodates for that. We are really close to the Vondelpark and the main art museums as you mentioned, and to Amsterdam's bar/club centre area around Leidseplein. Thanks again for your review! - The Flying Pig Uptown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Large tidy dorms with a bathroom in the room. Pretty secure. Good location

Disliked: It was a rabbit warren!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we hope you will come and stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Stayed in 5 hostels around Europe, but this one was the best! The atmosphere is superb, the room is big, secure. I really recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for you feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. :)
- The Flying Pig Uptown

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very kind and helpful. This is a very lively hostel is walking distance to restaurants, red light district and "cafes". The hostel caters to a younger crowd like most hostels and is well maintained. They even have a cute cat that roams the bar every now and then. They have WiFi at the bar but gets kinda spoty when I lay in my bed on the 3rd floor. The food is basic but above most other hostels: fruit, egg toast juice/tea and an assortment of jams. I will for sire return!

Disliked: The drinks at the bar are incredibly expensive and unfortunately.it is very hard to come by a shop that sells hard liquor. I guess that is the price you pay when you have smoke shops everywhere. The bunk beds are a bit low, even for someone who is 5'4.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thanks for your awesome feedback. On your next visit, mention your liquor requirements to reception and we will direct you to the nearest store! We hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere! The bar and happy hour specials are great. It's a great place to meet fellow travelers. The free breakfast is good as well. It included bread, fruit, cereal, nutella, jam, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, and orange juice. Good location right by Vondelpark and Museumplatz. It's on a quiet street by the park so you are able to get some sleep.

Disliked: Being on the 4th floor with no elevator was a bit rough! Especially when there is no air conditioning or fans in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheerful atmosphere, very relaxed, felt "at home" and a very reasonably priced bar.

Disliked: The multiple flights of stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean. Great facilities.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability