HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.48USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

Showing 41-50 of 65 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice hostel, clean and had a good character. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Staff just gave us a map and sent us on our merry way, it's always nice to get local recommendations. Not a fantastic location, not terrible either. Bit expensive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for your review. Sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the lack of recommendations upon arrival. We try to keep our standard check-in talk to information about the hostel rules and services, but all of our receptionists are happy to provide extensive recommendations for any enquiring guest. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon! Cheers -The Flying Pig Uptown

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff was very helpful. Very 4:20 friendly.

Disliked: Had to pay to store bags before check in. Tons of stairs with no lift. To check in you have to go up a flight of stairs and then down a flight of stairs. And then the lockers were up on the third floor. Inconvenient.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for your review. We would love to have an elevator but the architecture of our building doesn't allow it, though receptionists and cleaning staff are happy to carry bags on request. We require guests/visitors to go downstairs so that all people entering/leaving the hostel have to pass reception to improve our security. Hopefully the stairs didn't put you off too much and you will come and stay with us again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere incredible and friendly staff! Loved the bar and smoking room - great place to meet new people.

Disliked: No elevator/lift!!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for the awesome review! We would love to have an elevator but our architecture doesn't allow it; receptionists and cleaning staff are happy to carry guest bags to any floor. Hopefully you will come and stay with us again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location near vondelpark and museumplein was great. Nicer than being right in the red light district. The bar and smoke room were great, however could get really packed and hectic at busy times. Definitely a party hostel so if that's what you are looking for then its great.

Disliked: Mixed dorms only. Really tiny bathrooms. Given the amount of people staying there, the common areas quite small so there is nowhere to go that is really very quiet or chilled - that's when you take advantage of being so close to vondelpark!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thank you for your comments. Due to the architecture of our building we are slightly restricted in the amount of space we can provide in our common areas, but we try to make the best possible use of the space. We hope you enjoyed your stay and come to see us again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very nice to have 24hrs access and friendly helpful staff at the desk if in need day or night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for your excellent review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come back and visit us again soon.
- The Flying Pig Uptown

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place to be in Amsterdam, perfect area to see the city especially in a short time. Great Breakfast.

Disliked: No laundry on site.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for your review. We hope that the lack of in-house laundry facilities didn't affect the quality of your stay too much and we hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. Reception can direct guests to a number of laundrettes within a 5 minute walk from our location for future reference. Thanks again.

- The Flying Pig Uptown

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, comfortable beds, quiet room

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. :)
- The Flying Pig Uptown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's close to everything. It's amazing to be able to walk to every attraction (the Vondelpark, the Van Gogh Museum, the RijksMuseum etc.). The staff is friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: - The place is too dark for me, especially the common room- The internet connection was terrible. Not reliable and very slow

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thanks for your feedback. We are in the process of improving our wireless service to cope with the number of internet users that stay with us. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel had very friendly and helpful staff, good atmosphere, a nice bar and smoking room, and a fantastic breakfast.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the downtown action (although that's to be guessed from the name). Quite a walk. But close to museums and the park!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed most aspects of the hostel. If you want to be close to the Red Light District and Rembrandt Square we are indeed a bit far out. The Flying Pig Downtown location accommodates for that. We are really close to the Vondelpark and the main art museums as you mentioned, and to Amsterdam's bar/club centre area around Leidseplein. Thanks again for your review! - The Flying Pig Uptown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Large tidy dorms with a bathroom in the room. Pretty secure. Good location

Disliked: It was a rabbit warren!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we hope you will come and stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown.

Check Availability