HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.43USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 41-50 of 209 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staffs are friendly, it's a very good atmosphere, and the room is big and clean.

Disliked: I had problems with lights in my room and they didn't fix it, I just wish they've been more attentive. In case you want to have more calm places to rest this may be not the best options since the bar is opened until 3 am every day.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thanks for your review, we are very sorry to hear that your lights weren't fixed more quickly. We always try to solve any maintenance problems as soon as they are brought to our attention and will review our procedures to ensure issues of that nature are resolved more swiftly in future. We hope you consider staying with us again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Close to Vondelpark and Musuems

Disliked: - If you stay on fourth floor, you have to be ready for numerous stairs

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review, we hope the stairs didn't affect the quality of your stay too much. Staff are always happy to carry luggage up to any floor on request. Please come and stay with us again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere, really friendly/helpful staff - they are all travelers themselves, good location, easy to meet people, pretty decent free breakfast

Disliked: Staying on the fourth floor which is really like the sixth floor! So many stairs. But that's just how the houses are in Amsterdam so can't really complain!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the great review! We hope you got a good workout from our stairs and come to stay with us again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was nice, social feel to the hostel, very relaxed and comfortable.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review, we hope you come and stay with us again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you liked the atmosphere! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was helpful

Disliked: Too many people, party hostel very very noisy there's no curfew

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thank you for your review. We try to encourage guests to be respectful with the amount of noise they make in dorm rooms but it can be difficult with certain groups. If there are noisy/partying guests in dorms the staff will gladly come and speak to them and explain that it is not acceptable. Stay with us again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Disliked: .

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good vives, smoking área inside the hostel, central location (but not in downtown), friendly staff

Disliked: Uncomfortable showers and toilet, small rooms, too many stairs (my room was in the fourth floor)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thank you for the review. We would love to have an elevator but our architecture doesn't allow it; receptionists and cleaning staff are happy to carry guest bags to any floor. We Hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Breakfast was awesome!! And all staff we're friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere :)

Disliked: Lots of stairs if your at the top but that's backpacking for you :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the excellent review! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers -The Flying Pig Uptown

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice hostel, clean and had a good character. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Staff just gave us a map and sent us on our merry way, it's always nice to get local recommendations. Not a fantastic location, not terrible either. Bit expensive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thanks for your review. Sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the lack of recommendations upon arrival. We try to keep our standard check-in talk to information about the hostel rules and services, but all of our receptionists are happy to provide extensive recommendations for any enquiring guest. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon! Cheers -The Flying Pig Uptown

Check Availability