HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

84.0% Overall Rating

697 out of 774 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

Lincoln Mohler thinks…

"The beds and pillows were great. I figured more people would be drinking but the main vibe is smoking so be aware. Breakfast is what you expect for free. Bread, cereal, hard boiled eggs juice etc."

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.54

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
36.84 USD

Hostel 90.3% 2264 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
43.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
40.19 USD

Hostel 85.3% 1438 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
32.15 USD

Hostel 61.5% 4255 reviews
Trianon
33.49 USD

Hostel 69.9% 306 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
33.48 USD

Hostel 69.1% 524 reviews
Hotel Abba
44.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.7% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

697 out of 774 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 533 of 623 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms, showers and wc ere neat, very very clean. nice breakfast. nice staff. close to everything must go in amsterdam!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olivia McAtamney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, safe location and environment.

Disliked: Location wasn't necessarily central to the city's main facilities and attractions, but still in a lovely area of Amsterdam.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was my favorite part. Super friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Cold showers!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ian Braunstein

Alone

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is what this hostel is all about. The rooms themselves are ok and the location is a bit far from center.

Disliked: Location a bit far. Rooms not the best.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere, the cleanliness, and espescially the friendliness of the staff!

Disliked: For the offered price, nothing to argue here. Best value for money you can get!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Schmit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Good lockers for personal items, really close to everything worth seeing, friendly family like atmosphere.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great party atmosphere but not one of those hostels where people are coming in at all hours making loads of noise- sleep is possible if you want it. Staff are mainly English people come over to Amsterdam to party, and they're all very helpful. Even though it's marketed as the hostel that's a bit out of town it was more central than we thought, you can walk to the main bar/club area in 5 mins and Dam Square in 25 mins if you don't take the tram.

Disliked: The kitchen is quite small and crowded so it's not easy to make your own food, but that's it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is next to Vondelpark on a quiet and beautiful road, which was really nice. 5 minute walk from Leidseplein and the buses/trams. Nice downstairs bar area and smoking lounge.

Disliked: The bathrooms are really tiny if you don't have your own in the room. Showers are a bit awkward to use.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

morgan elliott

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 morgan would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff who give a great party style service and very helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: morgan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Flying Pig Uptown, although seems to be a little bit out of the city centre, had a great location for us. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum are really close. The night life in Leidseplein is in 4-5 minutes walking distance. Also it is 3 minutes far from a bus&tram station where there is a bus to/from the Airport. So, my only worry about the hostel (that it was far from the centre) was not at all a worry in the end ;)

Disliked: I wish I was informed about the free daily city tours starting every morning from the hostel. We found it out on the last day and we enjoyed a 3-hour tour with a friendly city guide!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joanne Luu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Flying Pig Uptown was a great place to stay as it let you see more of Amsterdam in contrast to staying in the more touristy dowtown branch. The bedrooms and bathrooms were always spotless and the staff deserve A+++ in friendliness, helpfulness and being super approachable. The kitchen had sufficient appliances for cooking e.g. 3 small fridges, mini oven, microwave and a big stove. The smoking room was chilled and comfortable and the bar has literally the best hot chocolate you'll ever have in your life for €1.80!

Disliked: I was on the top floor so the amount of stairs was crazy. It is a shame that the wifi doesn't reach beyond the bar and the first floor. I didn't want to skype my family in a dark bar with people talking in the background so that was one issue. I also wish there were more power outlets in the rooms. In my 10 bed dorm there was one outlet to share. It was also really high up on the wall so we had to stack our electronics on top of a bin to charge them without hanging. The shower I used also seem to be only stuck on hot or very hot water.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Sparshott

Alone

City break

20 December 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: very clean all the time which is really nice. the breakfast is awesome very lovely grainy brown bread and unlimited tea coffee ect. staff were very helpful and lovely at all times as well. bar is very nice place to hang out and meet people.

Disliked: cant get wifi in your room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really trendy and clean and we felt really safe there. The staff were really helpful and the free breakfast was really good! Amazing value for money!

Disliked: the stairs!! Apart from that nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gary Wicksted

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Clean. Good bar. Good lockers for security. Great price

Disliked: Not much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zara Firmin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Zara would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy feel and good location. Bar open till 3

Disliked: No laundry facilities, no bike hire

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Samantha Teale

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 November 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely chilled out vibe, friendly staff, and the beds were very comfy aswell which was a surprise. The smoking room was a great place to chill and enjoy a hot chocolate :)

Disliked: My room was on a high floor, which meant lots of stairs to climb, not good when you have been enjoying the pleasures of Amsterdam

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, I always felt safe and well taken care of. The bar was the best bar I found in Amsterdam, can't wait to go back!

Disliked: There were a lot of stairs so just pack light and try to get a room close to the bottom if possible, however this is typical for most buildings in Amsterdam

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to leidesplein and vondelparkand close to museumplein.

Disliked: Too many stairs and these are too narrow. Missed a bg open space to shower. Single shower rooms are too tight. And it is a bit noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Work / volunteering

16 November 2012

Liked: N/a

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Morris-Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are good! Nice and allways clean and tidy. Brekfast is also free and included wich is good if your an early riser. The design and feeling of the place is like a home thats allways a home. Very cosy

Disliked: Honestly there really was none apart from the location, it is a fairly long walk into town about 20mins.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar

Disliked: no wifi in room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

laura bardach

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, really cool staff nice location away from ugly central Amsterdam righ in front of a nice park and canals and all the besto from Amsterdam!

Disliked: THE STAIRS! had to go up and down several stairs to get to reception, my room and lockers! not good if you´re carrying a 24K suitcase!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to Vondelpark which is beautiful, warm and cosy hostel, great location for nightclubbing

Disliked: Kitchen is really tiny and no dining room, location is quite far from central Amsterdam

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jure Beslic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Jure would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, from staff to guests, everything was in perfect order, easy-going atmosphere, smoking room, good breakfast, nice people...

Disliked: I disliked nothing so spectacular that needs to be mentioned here. As I said, everything was beyond my expectations, a true 5-star hostel... although a snack-pizza served at the bar should be a little bigger or at least little cheaper.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Leandro Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Bar downstairs. Separate smoking room so that the rest of us wouldn't stink.

Disliked: Had to go to bar area to get wifi, where the music was needlessly loud even during the day. Too many beds in my door, hard to get quiet time. Location required some walking, but nothing too bad.