HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.43USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

Showing 21-30 of 37 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location: 5 minutes to Museums square, I amsterdam sign, Hard Rock Cafe and 10 minutes to LeidsepleinBreakfast: Bread, jam, coffee, orange juice, tea, cornflakes, milk... It was nice but it would be great there was also some dutch cheese at breakfast :D Bathroom: Clean and there was hot water all the time, also hairdryer on the corridorBedrooms: there were secure lockers for per person and beds were comfy Atmosphere: Pub, smoking room, staff were goodHighly recommend to all travellers ;)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: First hostel I've ever stayed in. Was worried before I got there as many people had said hostels are awful and you're better off paying the extra money to get a hotel room. They were SO wrong! The hostel had a wonderful friendly atmosphere, the facilities were brilliant & the alcohol was cheap! Me and mu friend shared with 10 other people (12 bed dorm) and we were pleasantly suprised and the nice size room for that amount of people and also the fact that next to ever bed was a plug socket for you! Would so so so so recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Staff could have been a bit more helpful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is absolutely great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back some day! Safe travels. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere, free breakfast, comfortable beds

Disliked: Having to pay to storage luggage

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the atmosphere and comfy beds! By charging 2e for 24hours of luggage storage we are able to provide a secure, clean and organised space to store large bags, but we also provide a free safe at reception for any smaller valuables. We hope you come and stay with us again! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bar onsite was cool.Location was great.Staff were really nice.

Disliked: Showers and toilet areas were disgusting.No aircon in our dorm and a battle for fans.


The property's response is

Hi, thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that the shower/toilet areas were not clean: we always try to maintain high standards of cleanliness with multiple checks during the day and night. We will also immediately clean any showers or toilets that guests inform us are dirty or not to their standards.

The malfunctioning air conditioner in your room has now been repaired.

We hope you stay with us again soon. - The Flying Pig Uptown

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The beds and pillows were great. I figured more people would be drinking but the main vibe is smoking so be aware. Breakfast is what you expect for free. Bread, cereal, hard boiled eggs juice etc.

Disliked: I like to stretch out when I'm taking a dump. The toilet area was tiny, could not move. Showers cound use more hooks/shelves.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It's great that enjoyed our comfy beds and free breakfast. Regarding our toilet sizes, unfortunately our traditional architecture inhibits our space slightly. Because of this we chose to provide a larger number of showers and toilets rather than opting for fewer that were more spacious so's to make them more readily available for guests. We hope this doesn't stop you visiting us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to meet people. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Everything was a lot smaller than expected. You can barely fit in the bathrooms and shower rooms. We were on the third floor so that was tiring after a while as well but that's Europe for you!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thank's for your review, we're glad to hear that were able to meet some new people and enjoy our breakfast! Regarding our toilet sizes, unfortunately our traditional architecture inhibits our space slightly. Because of this we chose to provide a larger number of showers and toilets rather than opting for fewer that were more spacious so's to make them more readily available for guests. We hope this doesn't discourage you from visiting us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cool smoking room, nice beds, everything was clean, good atmosphere, staff are all well friendly!

Disliked: Poor WIFI connection, bar is quite expensive and the Happy Hour is a bit early and not even really that much cheaper

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thanks for your feedback, it's great that you enjoyed the smoking room and atmosphere. We're sorry to hear that you found the bar prices expensive, if you decide to stay with us again you should know that we offer 2 for 1 deals on a range of spirits all day/night and provide €2.80 pints of Dommelsch during our Happy Hour. We hope you decide to visit us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good BreakfastVery SociableGreat MapWifi

Disliked: Even though towels are described as provided you have to pay a deposit for them and are not offered to you on arrival - the deposit wouldn't have bothered me.The hostel has a cat which bit my friend. (She was not drunk or antagonising the cat, just stroking his head).Not that clean - particularly the bathroom. There are no hand towels or hand dryers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry our towels weren't offered to you on arrival. It is our policy to let everybody know that you can get a fresh towel for a 2 euro deposit which you will get back when you hand in the towel again. We try to set our standards for our cleanliness very high and apologize for the fact that apparently it wasn't good enough when you were here. We have installed some dryers now! Thanks again, we hope you stay with us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Word of mouth

Disliked: A bit crammed in the bar/smoking lounge. Especially around breakfast time. Breakfast should not be promoted as full buffet breakfast. More like continental.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! We are glad that overall you had a good stay! We feel like our breakfast has quite a bit of variety with several types of cereal, two types of bread, jams, chocolate spread, peanut butter, juices, coffee and tea, we are sorry if this wasn't up to your standards. We hope you decide to stay with us again next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Interior, atmosphere, stuff.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your awesome review! We hope to welcome you again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Check Availability