HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.49USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

Showing 21-30 of 64 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to meet people. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Everything was a lot smaller than expected. You can barely fit in the bathrooms and shower rooms. We were on the third floor so that was tiring after a while as well but that's Europe for you!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thank's for your review, we're glad to hear that were able to meet some new people and enjoy our breakfast! Regarding our toilet sizes, unfortunately our traditional architecture inhibits our space slightly. Because of this we chose to provide a larger number of showers and toilets rather than opting for fewer that were more spacious so's to make them more readily available for guests. We hope this doesn't discourage you from visiting us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cool smoking room, nice beds, everything was clean, good atmosphere, staff are all well friendly!

Disliked: Poor WIFI connection, bar is quite expensive and the Happy Hour is a bit early and not even really that much cheaper

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thanks for your feedback, it's great that you enjoyed the smoking room and atmosphere. We're sorry to hear that you found the bar prices expensive, if you decide to stay with us again you should know that we offer 2 for 1 deals on a range of spirits all day/night and provide €2.80 pints of Dommelsch during our Happy Hour. We hope you decide to visit us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good BreakfastVery SociableGreat MapWifi

Disliked: Even though towels are described as provided you have to pay a deposit for them and are not offered to you on arrival - the deposit wouldn't have bothered me.The hostel has a cat which bit my friend. (She was not drunk or antagonising the cat, just stroking his head).Not that clean - particularly the bathroom. There are no hand towels or hand dryers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry our towels weren't offered to you on arrival. It is our policy to let everybody know that you can get a fresh towel for a 2 euro deposit which you will get back when you hand in the towel again. We try to set our standards for our cleanliness very high and apologize for the fact that apparently it wasn't good enough when you were here. We have installed some dryers now! Thanks again, we hope you stay with us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Word of mouth

Disliked: A bit crammed in the bar/smoking lounge. Especially around breakfast time. Breakfast should not be promoted as full buffet breakfast. More like continental.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! We are glad that overall you had a good stay! We feel like our breakfast has quite a bit of variety with several types of cereal, two types of bread, jams, chocolate spread, peanut butter, juices, coffee and tea, we are sorry if this wasn't up to your standards. We hope you decide to stay with us again next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Interior, atmosphere, stuff.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your awesome review! We hope to welcome you again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The smoking room was great in the Flying Pig Uptown, a great place to meet people in the hostel. The location is great! The staff was very kind in accommodating us on changing rooms.

Disliked: Make sure your food is very clearly labeled or it will get eaten (by the staff). They offer a kitchen for the guests, but only from 1pm. to 10pm, which is annoying. Also make sure all food is put in the kitchen or mice will eat that shit up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The kitchen opening hours are necessary as we use the same space for breakfast preparation before it is open to guests and close it for cleaning at night. Food can be stored or collected 24hrs a day by asking the reception staff. You will be contacted privately to discuss your reasons for believing staff took your food. We hope you stay with us again soon! Thanks - The Flying Pig Uptown

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The ambiance was really good and everyone very friendly. The hostel has nice common areas.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! - The Flying Pig Uptown

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had a great atmostphere, nice staff, a smoking room, good breakfast and wifi. It also had really cool art and fun music! They also had a chill cat.

Disliked: Steep stairs, bad directions on how to get there.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review! Your experience helps us to improve! We are glad you enjoyed almost everything! We have just revised our directions to our hostel on this website and changed them slightly. We hope they are clearer now. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly people (staff and guests)! There is a smoking room, showers are great, location is good. The perfect place if you want to meet people and get stoned!

Disliked: Small rooms, bad internet. You have to pay if you want to leave you luggage after check out.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! We are glad you appreciated most about our hostel. We are sorry that the Internet was acting up when you were here! We will look into this. We understand you didn't like paying for leaving your luggage after you checked out. Our reason to choose this option is safety. With our electronic lockers you can create your own PIN code, with which your luggage is very secure. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great staff, great location, great price, great time!

Disliked: My ONLY complaint is that the bunk beds are so short you cant sit upright on the bottom bed. A small complaint all things considered, not enough to change my rating.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed it, and that the lack of sitting space on the bed hasn't affected your stay too much! We hope to see you again some day! If you would prefer top bunks next time, please contact us a few days before your arrival - The Flying Pig Uptown

Check Availability