HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 87%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.42USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 87%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 88%

Showing 191-200 of 208 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, cool decorations, friendly people, loved the "smoking" section, I just honestly loved the feeling of familiarity and comfort that I got from the Flying Pig.

Disliked: There's only pizza on the menu? jajajaja no, I honestly liked everything.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: comfortable bedsvery polite staffright next to leidsepleine

Disliked: breakfast was very planea bit expansive

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location next to the park and near a ton of tourist sites without being in the middle of the Red Light District.

Disliked: The endless stairs and wifi limited to the bar/smoking area.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it's smoking room

Disliked: the stairs

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice location uptown, close to the Van Gogh museum and a few good restaurants. Smoking room on premises. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

Disliked: Staff was very hit or miss. My first day there, the receptionist was super sweet and helpful. The second day, the girl I encountered was extremely rude and dismissive. Because I had to check out that morning, I needed to place my bag in the locker. However, the machine read that all the lockers were full, so I asked the receptionist where else I could leave it. First she told me to stand there and wait a bit. After 10 minutes of her ignoring me, I asked again and she told me to go find the manager. I went back upstairs and asked another staff member, who said I could leave the bag with reception since it was pretty small. So I went back downstairs and waited another 10 minutes while the receptionist completely ignored me. When I finally got her attention and told her, she was livid and demanded to know who told me that. She then got on the phone with her manager and after a quick call told me to follow her upstairs. Apparently there were a ton of empty lockers, but no one had reset the machine yet. And then I waited another 10 minutes while the manager taught her how to reset the machines (after which she went and reset every single empty locker before letting me put my bag there). I was also put off by the girl who came to change the sheets in the morning of check-out. Check-out time was for 10 AM and I was just a few minutes behind when some girl burst into the room and started taking off the sheets, while all my things were still on there. She threw my stuff everywhere as she hastily tried to change the sheets, without saying a single word to me or acknowledging my presence. Perhaps if they hadn't blared loud rock music all night, I might have been able to wake up earlier in the morning.It is clear that the Flying Pig has become yet another commercialized hostel with the sole purpose of fitting as many beds and naive backpackers into its dorm rooms as possible.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: sehr zu empfehlen, gute Lage, sauber, freundlich, etwas eng aber das macht nix, tolle leute und Stimmung

Disliked: etwas eng

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I never had an experience like this before. I meet lot of people n all friendly. Staffs are very friendly and place is safe.I never had any complain of any sort.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Decent location

Disliked: Cleanliness, showers

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its next to the vondelpark!

Disliked: the terrace was closed

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability