HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.43USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

Showing 11-20 of 37 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Really great atmosphere, everyone was so friendly and helpful, the location was great as well and the hostel was always clean. Really glad I stayed here!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey There!

Thank you so much for taking the team to leave such a great review! We really appreciate it :)

We are delighted you had a great stay here.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future!

All the best, The Flying Pig Uptown!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Excellent location beside the Vondelpark, staff incredibly helpful, kitchen with fridge available for guests.

Disliked: Only instant coffee with breakfast and the water for the tea wasn't hot enough to steep it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There!

Thank you so much for leaving us a review! We can learn a lot from your experience.

We have just purchased a new water boiler for the Hostel a couple of weeks ago, so the water should be good and hot! Sorry for the inconvenience this caused!

Hopefully we will see you here again in the future!

Thanks again for the review! The Flying Pig Uptown

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean hostel, very helpful staff and location right next to Vondelpark. Definitely recommended

Disliked: The atmosphere was not always very sociable while I was there but obviously this is not necessarily true all the time.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay!
We really appreciate it and we are happy to see you had a good time with us!
Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Amsterdam :)
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: Bed al opgedekt bij aankomst, zalig! Gezellige bar, maar geen geluidsoverlast hiervan in de kamer.Lekker uitgebreid ontbijt.Super vriendelijk personeel.Prijs - kwaliteit!

Disliked: Snurkende mensen in de kamer, misschien gratis oordopjes een idee?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your great review!
We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us :)
Sorry about the snoring people in your room :( We do have free earplugs at reception, sorry you didn't know this!
Thanks again for your time. Hopefully we will see you again in the future!
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Front desk staff was extremely helpful with all questions.

Disliked: Smoking room did sometimes smell outside of it but it wasn't a big deal at all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you very much for leaving such a great review!! We really appreciate it and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Hopefully we will see you again soon :)

Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Greater atmosphere

Disliked: steep stairs and small showers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thanks a lot for your feedback.
We are very happy to see you had a great time with us!
Hopefully we will see you again soon :)
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: hostel is great, key cards make the room safe.rooms are very clean and the beds are really comfy.theres a bar downstairs which serves food and drinks and a great smoking area.friendly staff and even saw them cleaning every day. location was good-was about a half an hour walk to the red light district but the area surrounding the hostel is great. lots of restaurants and coffee shops and a whole high street of shops . kitchen downstairs to make food whenever you want aswell.

Disliked: didnt dislike anything

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Wow.. Thanks so much for your kind words!!
We will pass this on to our staff :)
We are very happy you had such a good time with us and we hope to see you back soon!
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Chilled vibe , good drink range and location. Staff very pleasent

Disliked: Middle shower doesn't have a heating control which needs sorting on the third floor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review :)
We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thanks for letting us know about the shower, we will let our maintenance team take a look at it straight away and have it fixed.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon again!
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's really good.

Disliked: It's a little bit far from city center.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your great review!

We really appreciate it you took the time to foll this out and it's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us!

You mentioned you found our location a bit far from the city centre. We do hope though, you like it that we are next to the Museum Square with all the famous museums, the beautiful Vondelpark and the main nightlife area :)

Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Was allowed to put my stuff in my room right away when arriving. Staff was super friendly.

Disliked: No real hang out area. There was a bar and smoking room but no area to just hang out.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability