HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.47USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

Showing 11-20 of 58 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Greater atmosphere

Disliked: steep stairs and small showers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thanks a lot for your feedback.
We are very happy to see you had a great time with us!
Hopefully we will see you again soon :)
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: hostel is great, key cards make the room safe.rooms are very clean and the beds are really comfy.theres a bar downstairs which serves food and drinks and a great smoking area.friendly staff and even saw them cleaning every day. location was good-was about a half an hour walk to the red light district but the area surrounding the hostel is great. lots of restaurants and coffee shops and a whole high street of shops . kitchen downstairs to make food whenever you want aswell.

Disliked: didnt dislike anything

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Wow.. Thanks so much for your kind words!!
We will pass this on to our staff :)
We are very happy you had such a good time with us and we hope to see you back soon!
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Chilled vibe , good drink range and location. Staff very pleasent

Disliked: Middle shower doesn't have a heating control which needs sorting on the third floor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review :)
We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thanks for letting us know about the shower, we will let our maintenance team take a look at it straight away and have it fixed.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon again!
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's really good.

Disliked: It's a little bit far from city center.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your great review!

We really appreciate it you took the time to foll this out and it's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us!

You mentioned you found our location a bit far from the city centre. We do hope though, you like it that we are next to the Museum Square with all the famous museums, the beautiful Vondelpark and the main nightlife area :)

Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Was allowed to put my stuff in my room right away when arriving. Staff was super friendly.

Disliked: No real hang out area. There was a bar and smoking room but no area to just hang out.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location: 5 minutes to Museums square, I amsterdam sign, Hard Rock Cafe and 10 minutes to LeidsepleinBreakfast: Bread, jam, coffee, orange juice, tea, cornflakes, milk... It was nice but it would be great there was also some dutch cheese at breakfast :D Bathroom: Clean and there was hot water all the time, also hairdryer on the corridorBedrooms: there were secure lockers for per person and beds were comfy Atmosphere: Pub, smoking room, staff were goodHighly recommend to all travellers ;)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: First hostel I've ever stayed in. Was worried before I got there as many people had said hostels are awful and you're better off paying the extra money to get a hotel room. They were SO wrong! The hostel had a wonderful friendly atmosphere, the facilities were brilliant & the alcohol was cheap! Me and mu friend shared with 10 other people (12 bed dorm) and we were pleasantly suprised and the nice size room for that amount of people and also the fact that next to ever bed was a plug socket for you! Would so so so so recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Staff could have been a bit more helpful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is absolutely great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back some day! Safe travels. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere, free breakfast, comfortable beds

Disliked: Having to pay to storage luggage

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the atmosphere and comfy beds! By charging 2e for 24hours of luggage storage we are able to provide a secure, clean and organised space to store large bags, but we also provide a free safe at reception for any smaller valuables. We hope you come and stay with us again! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bar onsite was cool.Location was great.Staff were really nice.

Disliked: Showers and toilet areas were disgusting.No aircon in our dorm and a battle for fans.


The property's response is

Hi, thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that the shower/toilet areas were not clean: we always try to maintain high standards of cleanliness with multiple checks during the day and night. We will also immediately clean any showers or toilets that guests inform us are dirty or not to their standards.

The malfunctioning air conditioner in your room has now been repaired.

We hope you stay with us again soon. - The Flying Pig Uptown

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The beds and pillows were great. I figured more people would be drinking but the main vibe is smoking so be aware. Breakfast is what you expect for free. Bread, cereal, hard boiled eggs juice etc.

Disliked: I like to stretch out when I'm taking a dump. The toilet area was tiny, could not move. Showers cound use more hooks/shelves.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It's great that enjoyed our comfy beds and free breakfast. Regarding our toilet sizes, unfortunately our traditional architecture inhibits our space slightly. Because of this we chose to provide a larger number of showers and toilets rather than opting for fewer that were more spacious so's to make them more readily available for guests. We hope this doesn't stop you visiting us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Check Availability