HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.45USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

Showing 11-20 of 55 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean hostel, very helpful staff and location right next to Vondelpark. Definitely recommended

Disliked: The atmosphere was not always very sociable while I was there but obviously this is not necessarily true all the time.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay!
We really appreciate it and we are happy to see you had a good time with us!
Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Amsterdam :)
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: Bed al opgedekt bij aankomst, zalig! Gezellige bar, maar geen geluidsoverlast hiervan in de kamer.Lekker uitgebreid ontbijt.Super vriendelijk personeel.Prijs - kwaliteit!

Disliked: Snurkende mensen in de kamer, misschien gratis oordopjes een idee?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your great review!
We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us :)
Sorry about the snoring people in your room :( We do have free earplugs at reception, sorry you didn't know this!
Thanks again for your time. Hopefully we will see you again in the future!
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Front desk staff was extremely helpful with all questions.

Disliked: Smoking room did sometimes smell outside of it but it wasn't a big deal at all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you very much for leaving such a great review!! We really appreciate it and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Hopefully we will see you again soon :)

Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Greater atmosphere

Disliked: steep stairs and small showers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thanks a lot for your feedback.
We are very happy to see you had a great time with us!
Hopefully we will see you again soon :)
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: hostel is great, key cards make the room safe.rooms are very clean and the beds are really comfy.theres a bar downstairs which serves food and drinks and a great smoking area.friendly staff and even saw them cleaning every day. location was good-was about a half an hour walk to the red light district but the area surrounding the hostel is great. lots of restaurants and coffee shops and a whole high street of shops . kitchen downstairs to make food whenever you want aswell.

Disliked: didnt dislike anything

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Wow.. Thanks so much for your kind words!!
We will pass this on to our staff :)
We are very happy you had such a good time with us and we hope to see you back soon!
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Chilled vibe , good drink range and location. Staff very pleasent

Disliked: Middle shower doesn't have a heating control which needs sorting on the third floor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review :)
We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thanks for letting us know about the shower, we will let our maintenance team take a look at it straight away and have it fixed.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon again!
Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's really good.

Disliked: It's a little bit far from city center.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your great review!

We really appreciate it you took the time to foll this out and it's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us!

You mentioned you found our location a bit far from the city centre. We do hope though, you like it that we are next to the Museum Square with all the famous museums, the beautiful Vondelpark and the main nightlife area :)

Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
The Flying Pig Uptown

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Was allowed to put my stuff in my room right away when arriving. Staff was super friendly.

Disliked: No real hang out area. There was a bar and smoking room but no area to just hang out.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location: 5 minutes to Museums square, I amsterdam sign, Hard Rock Cafe and 10 minutes to LeidsepleinBreakfast: Bread, jam, coffee, orange juice, tea, cornflakes, milk... It was nice but it would be great there was also some dutch cheese at breakfast :D Bathroom: Clean and there was hot water all the time, also hairdryer on the corridorBedrooms: there were secure lockers for per person and beds were comfy Atmosphere: Pub, smoking room, staff were goodHighly recommend to all travellers ;)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: First hostel I've ever stayed in. Was worried before I got there as many people had said hostels are awful and you're better off paying the extra money to get a hotel room. They were SO wrong! The hostel had a wonderful friendly atmosphere, the facilities were brilliant & the alcohol was cheap! Me and mu friend shared with 10 other people (12 bed dorm) and we were pleasantly suprised and the nice size room for that amount of people and also the fact that next to ever bed was a plug socket for you! Would so so so so recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Staff could have been a bit more helpful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is absolutely great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back some day! Safe travels. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

Check Availability