HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.43USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

Showing 181-37 of 37 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff and bar

Disliked: There was really nothing to dislike, great experience.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Wasn't too far to walk anywhere, it was clean and very safe with personal lockers which I liked..Tge bar was good and a great place to meet people for a solo traveler like myself

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I felt really safe there. Everything was always clean. The staff are so helpful and it was easy to meet people. I would definitely stay there again and reccommend it to other people. The location was not right in the middle of everything but it was only a short walk.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff are great; the atmosphere is second to none; they have a whole range of services and facilities you just don't find elsewhere (free wifi, laptops to rent, a smoking room, an all-night bar). Cannot be faulted.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were excellent, really helpfull. The map they give you when you check in is brilliant. Loved the smoking room and bar.

Disliked: The noise from prople using the stairs during the night. This was a minor issue and should be expected in a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were hot

Disliked: mud wrestling was only on one night a week

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the flying pig was amazing, i have been to dam 4 times now, 2 times i stayed in a hotel another i stayed in an appartment and the last time was in the flying pig, and i'm happy to say the flying pig wins hands down if your a smoker like me, the staff are all really nice and usually in the middle of the fun which always makes ya feel more at ease, the toilet/shower facilitys and the breakfast were better than expected so all in all a great trip, idealy i'd love to work/live at the pig cause its the combo of that place and bein in dam made me not wanna leave but sadly life calls so i'l just say i'l defo be goin back there next year :D

Disliked: i read the revews on the place b4 i booked and people said the showers were dirty and the stairs were narrow and hard to climb, i have no idew what those people were talking about, the showers were fine, and unless your obese you shouldnt have any probs with the stairs, i say if ya gonna complain about silly things like that then save it for when you've spent double what the pig charges on a hotel thats half as good

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, cool decorations, friendly people, loved the "smoking" section, I just honestly loved the feeling of familiarity and comfort that I got from the Flying Pig.

Disliked: There's only pizza on the menu? jajajaja no, I honestly liked everything.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: comfortable bedsvery polite staffright next to leidsepleine

Disliked: breakfast was very planea bit expansive

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location next to the park and near a ton of tourist sites without being in the middle of the Red Light District.

Disliked: The endless stairs and wifi limited to the bar/smoking area.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability