HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 87%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.42USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 87%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 88%

Showing 181-190 of 208 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway

Liked: We shared a double bunk at Flying Pig, which was pretty nice as we didnt need to have a private room to share a bed. The facilities were clean and despite being in a 14 person dorm, it wasnt too cramped. The location is right next to vodelpark which is a nice bit of town and there is a great area with lots of restaurants about 5 mins away.

Disliked: Terrible roomates... but other than that it was good! very cheap so you cant expect the best but it was sufficient :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Wonderful staff!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: cheap

Disliked: narrow staircase

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff and bar

Disliked: There was really nothing to dislike, great experience.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Wasn't too far to walk anywhere, it was clean and very safe with personal lockers which I liked..Tge bar was good and a great place to meet people for a solo traveler like myself

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I felt really safe there. Everything was always clean. The staff are so helpful and it was easy to meet people. I would definitely stay there again and reccommend it to other people. The location was not right in the middle of everything but it was only a short walk.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff are great; the atmosphere is second to none; they have a whole range of services and facilities you just don't find elsewhere (free wifi, laptops to rent, a smoking room, an all-night bar). Cannot be faulted.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were excellent, really helpfull. The map they give you when you check in is brilliant. Loved the smoking room and bar.

Disliked: The noise from prople using the stairs during the night. This was a minor issue and should be expected in a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were hot

Disliked: mud wrestling was only on one night a week

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the flying pig was amazing, i have been to dam 4 times now, 2 times i stayed in a hotel another i stayed in an appartment and the last time was in the flying pig, and i'm happy to say the flying pig wins hands down if your a smoker like me, the staff are all really nice and usually in the middle of the fun which always makes ya feel more at ease, the toilet/shower facilitys and the breakfast were better than expected so all in all a great trip, idealy i'd love to work/live at the pig cause its the combo of that place and bein in dam made me not wanna leave but sadly life calls so i'l just say i'l defo be goin back there next year :D

Disliked: i read the revews on the place b4 i booked and people said the showers were dirty and the stairs were narrow and hard to climb, i have no idew what those people were talking about, the showers were fine, and unless your obese you shouldnt have any probs with the stairs, i say if ya gonna complain about silly things like that then save it for when you've spent double what the pig charges on a hotel thats half as good

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability