We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

85.7% Overall Rating

702 out of 779 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/11/2014)

Ashley Johnson thinks…

"Was allowed to put my stuff in my room right away when arriving. Staff was super friendly."

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.51

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
17.71 USD

Hostel 82.7% 2285 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
22.77 USD

Hostel 84.6% 1482 reviews
Hotel Blyss
26.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
15.18 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Hotel Princess
6.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
hotel vossisvondelpark
31.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
15.18 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

702 out of 779 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 538 of 628 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fernando Pires

05 August 2009 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to go to amsterdan, u must stay in Flying Pig!!

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Henriques

29 July 2009 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff; great breakfast, very friendly

Disliked: Gemma left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The flying pig downtown would have been more convenient but it was overall a good hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

21 July 2009

Liked: First, it was a really narrow and really close house. The atmosphere was stifling too much. Just in the small room, there were 16 people. it was too much, even we didn't wanna go into the hostel for every nights. What is worse, the airconditional was broken and they didn't fix it during our stay. so it was pretty hot. even the weather was not so hot, we couldn't sleep whole of the night. The only good thing is there's a party every nignt, but for the people who wanna rest, it's horrible. when I wanted to enjoy it, it is nice party to meet people. but when i wanted to sleep, NO!! I couldn't sleep until 3 am. They never consider the people who want to sleep.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

07 July 2009

Liked: Location is not good. Quite high price too. It wasn't really bad but I wouldn't go again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Fjendbo

06 July 2009 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: a good sleep a nice bath and nice people

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the people were great fun. great atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay. Really chill. They were doing some re-modeling when I was there, so they didn't have internet, which kind of sucked. But it was close to the Heineken Experience and some other cool stuff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, security

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was perfect, everything you could want. Just make sure you're on time for breakfast, don't miss out!Die Jugendherberge war perfekt, kann nicht klagen. Sei aber puenktlich fuer Fruehstueck, wenn zu spaet dann ist es schon Weg!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

20 May 2009

Liked: I cant think of anything really.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good services and a great friendly staff! The bar is the best place to meet new people!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Reid Kaplan

18 May 2009 Reid would recommend this property

Liked: Fun bar, helpful staff.

Disliked: Reid left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked that it was so close to the center. the people were quite nice. i felt save.next time they have to open their kitchen and i dont want to bring back a cold again :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and in a good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its currently under construction, so a lot of the facilities are not available. They are very helpful and allow you to use all the facilities at their other (Downtown) location, however. I had no problems with the noise from construction. It was a very nice location, near the Vondelpark

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Fateen

22 December 2008 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the free breakfast and internet. and the smoke room!!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Bianca Tat

24 November 2008 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: Bianca left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CRISTINA PARESCHI

18 November 2008 CRISTINA would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and characters of the hostel and the lunge area

Disliked: CRISTINA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emer Casey

16 November 2008 Emer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really cool, and i like the way you can go to the bar at either the uptown or downtown one when you are staying in either. It is located near good pubs and clubs and you can get trams to the coffee shops, red light district etc.

Disliked: Emer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 July 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers and breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 July 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how they hired travelers, so that they constantly had new youth working there. I also enjoyed the set up of the interconnections between the: tv room, bar, computers, kitchen, and outdoors. Also liked the comfortability of smoking in the kitchen and outside, wish they still let people smoke in the bar though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, the bar, the location. Nice place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.