HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.45USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

Showing 151-55 of 55 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was awesome, bar had an awesome vibe and the staff were great! Dylon your a legend! loved it.

Disliked: nothing!!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bar is a great place to hang out at night an meet people, they had some good DJ's as well.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere was fantastic. Great people, great staff, good free breakfast every morning, separate smoking room and lounge/bar area, clean rooms, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Quite dirty; dishes in kitchen weren't cleaned properly, bathrooms were a tad dirtier than what would be considered "clean," and kitchen was quite small.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's placed on a calm part of the city, and the rooms, showers and bathrooms are very clean and tidy. There's also a smoking room, very nice idea, not present in al of the hostels in Amsterdam.

Disliked: There's some sort of security deposit they charge you BEFORE you check-in, and you only get repaid for that after 5 days... as I booked hostel for all of my friends who went with me there, I had a problem, because for each one of them 22 EURO were discounted on my card. Also the kitchen is not that good,.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Every thing was good and entertaining. Free breakfast for the munchies was awesome if ya like to wake n bake!

Disliked: If I have to be really picky I'll say it wasn't exactly near the centre of town, but still not bad location. Near enough any way

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The environment.

Disliked: They use the pre authorization in your credit card one day in advance(before the arrival). It can cause problems for travelers who use pre paid credit card like me. Usually backpackers are counting with this money, and it return to your account 5 days later(when you don't need anymore).

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Amazing amosphere in cosy bar and smoking room. Nice location near park. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Only one toilet on each floor.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Bit too much crammed into a small space

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic hostel! Very clean, extremely helpful and friendly staff, great atmostphere, everything you need in a hostel! the rooms are quite spacious and beds were perfectly fine!

Disliked: nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the smoking room, and all the murals were awesome. Most of the staff were quite nice and helpful, and having a bar right there was great since the hostel is a little out of the party area of the city, though I managed to find my way without too much trouble when I wanted to which was also nice. I could just follow signs to the Museum area or ask how to get to Van Gogh or the I AMsterdam sign and then easily find the place from there!

Disliked: One girl at the counter wasn't remotely friendly, and stared at me with rude eyes before answering any question. I did not like her. Also, the beds I got didn't have an electrical plug anywhere near them which made it difficult to charge anything.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability