HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

84.6% Overall Rating

699 out of 776 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

Kristen Morrow thinks…

"First hostel I've ever stayed in. Was worried before I got there as many people had said hostels are awful and you're better off paying the extra money to get a hotel room. They were SO wrong! The…"

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
24.95 USD

Hostel 87.2% 2275 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
42.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
32.83 USD

Hostel 82.4% 1462 reviews
Hotel Blyss
42.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
19.70 USD

Hostel 64.8% 4272 reviews
Trianon
22.98 USD

Hostel 67.8% 318 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
18.37 USD

Hostel 62.6% 529 reviews
Hotel Abba
43.78 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

699 out of 776 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 535 of 625 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fredrik Halvorsen

20 January 2010 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Fredrik left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I got a better rate by booking on HostelBookers that I would have directly through the hostel's website. thanks hostel bookers! It was great value for the money, but beware: you have to go down a flight of stairs to enter, then they label the ground floor as '0'. So if you end up on the '4th' floor - it is more like being on the 6th floor. There is no elevator. The breakfast isn't the best - toast and cereal, but it is free and is available until almost lunch time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristi Bryan

15 January 2010 Kristi would recommend this property

Liked: Such a fun place! Very neat interior, friendly staff blending with the travelers, very cool stuff to look at! I woke up early one morning (about 5am) sobbing because of a very painful ear infection and the guy at the desk took very very good care of me! He had me calmed down, full of painkillers, smoking and drinking tea in no time. I felt very loved and very comfortable "bumming" off the staff and asking for favors. They were all just very happy to help out! Loved the place, location was great, had an amazing experience!

Disliked: Kristi left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 January 2010

Liked: OVerall, an average place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Findley

13 January 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a great vibe about it, if you're between the ages of 16-26 you'll enjoy this place, it's just like a hostel should be, a common house for youth traveling through the area.It's located a bit far from the main-downtown district, but the tram has numerous stops < 4 blocks away, and 2 bike rentals are also close by.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are quite helpful and friendly!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 January 2010

Liked: I liked the low price of the property, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I arrived too early to go to the room, but they let me sit in the bar and eat the free breakfast even though I hadn't stayed the night before. Also the free wifi was also great. They seemed to offer a lot of perks, like free skate rental, a walking tour (not that I took advantage). My complaints about the hostel are probably things I could have handled if I were younger and more flexible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming hostel. I appreciated the staff dedication.I did not really meet people since I directly jumped to a party at friend's place.I think it can be a nice meeting place.Lot of activities organize.Great place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to meet other people, great bar, helpful staff. stairs are awful to climb with your bags, and bathrooms are so small... free laptops to surf in the internet... I´d recommend to everyone...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelli Trinidad

17 November 2009 Kelli would recommend this property

Liked: awesome, was a great place to stay. Unfortunatly me and my partner didnt get a double bed like we booked, but the staff were really nice and moved us to a double bed for the second night.

Disliked: Kelli left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only thing I would suggest to others, is to bring an extension lead if you need to charge cameras/phones/laptops...our 6 person bedroom only had one plug! Otherwise this hostel is highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Annelise Müller

31 October 2009 Annelise would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and very nice location.

Disliked: Annelise left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

chantal gil

31 October 2009 chantal would recommend this property

Liked: Its fantastic and ill definitly go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: chantal left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how it was close to busyness but off on the side of a quiet street.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Debbie Haughey

30 October 2009 Debbie would recommend this property

Liked: They do a great free breakfast and the location is handy to town. I enjoyed my time here. However I think the whole place is in desperate need of a proper good clean!

Disliked: Debbie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Peralta

29 October 2009 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Awsome i really enjoyed i will come back everytime i visit amsterdamm....... thank you flying pigs1!!!!!

Disliked: Luis left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar/ common area and a great atmosphere. Free wifi and inline skate hire makes me happy! Be warned though, the trams are expensive, though you can walk to town in about 25 mins

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

25 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thought the property was a fun atmosphere but a little farther from the city centre than I would have hoped. Overall it was doable and fun. There is a bar that is located downstairs which is a good way to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alan Turner

23 October 2009 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: surprisingly, i got a good night sleep both nights i was here. the beds were firm and the dorm room was quiet. breakfast was pretty good too.

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

14 October 2009

Liked: Staff very friendly, good nights to be had in the bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kyle Cameron

14 October 2009 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom ceilings have mold in them. The free breakfast is good. Checkout is at 10:30 am.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Isaac Maclurcan

09 October 2009 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good buzz around the place, cosy hostel with plenty of travellers!

Disliked: Isaac left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was mold in the bathroom ceiling and my bed squeaked so loudly when I would make the slightest movement.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

02 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: unique and friendly staff, underconstruction and sitting in a hotboxed room is your thing, then this is the hostel for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.