We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

86.5% Overall Rating

713 out of 791 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2015)

Adnan Khaliq thinks…

"Meeting people and the great vibe at the hostel. Great stay for people travelling alone or in groups. Comfortable beds and clean!"

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.45

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
26.83 USD

Hostel 86.1% 2333 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
32.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 38 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
16.77 USD

Hostel 84.9% 1569 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.89 USD

Hostel 69.7% 4330 reviews
Budget Hostel Princess
15.65 USD

Hostel 62.6% 33 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
992.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
24.60 USD

Hostel 64.8% 338 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

713 out of 791 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 547 of 640 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shelby Knapp

21 March 2010 Shelby would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really helpful and fun. the bar is lively at night, which is fun for meeting people. The location is great and close to many attractions and the nearby tram/bus station can take you anywhere in the city. The breakfast consisted of PB & J and bad coffee, but cant expect much from a hostel anyway. On the bad side, there is no airport shuttle or computers to rent, as the website says there is.

Disliked: Shelby left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place had a good vibe and the atmosphere was gr8.staff were very helpful where possible.other than having weed stolen when i turned my back at breakfast it was gr8.other than that incident the flying pig was excellent in every aspect.i travelled alone and felt completely safe and comfortable there.the only dissapointment to my entire visit was that 1 incident.so as a whole id reccommend this place to lone travellers or groups just looking for few days of fun.if the price is still as reasonable as it was when i stayed,ill stay there again when im next in amsterdam..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Light and spacious dorm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent place to stay and in a good location. Make sure you get the right directions for Flying Pig Uptown and not Downtown (there's 2 different locations).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark robb

21 February 2010 mark would recommend this property

Liked: awesome.

Disliked: mark left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 February 2010

Liked: kitchen doesnt open till 2pm?!no internet. have to get up at 8.30 if you want to pay for another night. why not just do it the night before?maybe this place is okay if your 18.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was nice with its own bar, that had decent specials on drinks, and also the staff were pretty helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maarten Koster

15 February 2010 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: Lekker ontbijt, goede locatie en sfeer

Disliked: Maarten left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was such a friendly, relaxed atmosphere that it was difficult to tell who was staff and who was a guest! Definitely a favourite for a twenty something. Just in the right location to be walking distance from town, but far enough from the noise of the city. Great deals on booze and a handy kitchen. Couldn't ask for more.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leo Cookman

04 February 2010 Leo would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of personality, lots of cool people, great location though a little out of the way but all in all Great! My only problem is, while they have WI-Fi, they do not have computers for the internet. Other than that I highly recommend it for younger travellers. Keep up the good work.

Disliked: Leo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun friendly atmosphere- pub crawl advertised in the hostel was heaps of fun!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and reception area downstairs is pretty cool. Unfortunately we stayed in the tiniest room possible with an ensuite and there is no room to put anything or use the sink. We shared a room with two other girls and someone from the reception came and woke up the whole room at 4.30am because someone wasn't in the right bed?? I thought that was pretty unnecessary. Also they advertise computers with internet are available but all were broken??

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fredrik Halvorsen

20 January 2010 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Fredrik left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I got a better rate by booking on HostelBookers that I would have directly through the hostel's website. thanks hostel bookers! It was great value for the money, but beware: you have to go down a flight of stairs to enter, then they label the ground floor as '0'. So if you end up on the '4th' floor - it is more like being on the 6th floor. There is no elevator. The breakfast isn't the best - toast and cereal, but it is free and is available until almost lunch time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristi Bryan

15 January 2010 Kristi would recommend this property

Liked: Such a fun place! Very neat interior, friendly staff blending with the travelers, very cool stuff to look at! I woke up early one morning (about 5am) sobbing because of a very painful ear infection and the guy at the desk took very very good care of me! He had me calmed down, full of painkillers, smoking and drinking tea in no time. I felt very loved and very comfortable "bumming" off the staff and asking for favors. They were all just very happy to help out! Loved the place, location was great, had an amazing experience!

Disliked: Kristi left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 January 2010

Liked: OVerall, an average place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Findley

13 January 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a great vibe about it, if you're between the ages of 16-26 you'll enjoy this place, it's just like a hostel should be, a common house for youth traveling through the area.It's located a bit far from the main-downtown district, but the tram has numerous stops < 4 blocks away, and 2 bike rentals are also close by.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are quite helpful and friendly!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 January 2010

Liked: I liked the low price of the property, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I arrived too early to go to the room, but they let me sit in the bar and eat the free breakfast even though I hadn't stayed the night before. Also the free wifi was also great. They seemed to offer a lot of perks, like free skate rental, a walking tour (not that I took advantage). My complaints about the hostel are probably things I could have handled if I were younger and more flexible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming hostel. I appreciated the staff dedication.I did not really meet people since I directly jumped to a party at friend's place.I think it can be a nice meeting place.Lot of activities organize.Great place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to meet other people, great bar, helpful staff. stairs are awful to climb with your bags, and bathrooms are so small... free laptops to surf in the internet... I´d recommend to everyone...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelli Trinidad

17 November 2009 Kelli would recommend this property

Liked: awesome, was a great place to stay. Unfortunatly me and my partner didnt get a double bed like we booked, but the staff were really nice and moved us to a double bed for the second night.

Disliked: Kelli left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only thing I would suggest to others, is to bring an extension lead if you need to charge cameras/phones/laptops...our 6 person bedroom only had one plug! Otherwise this hostel is highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Annelise Müller

31 October 2009 Annelise would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and very nice location.

Disliked: Annelise left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

chantal gil

31 October 2009 chantal would recommend this property

Liked: Its fantastic and ill definitly go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: chantal left no negative feedback.