We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

85.7% Overall Rating

702 out of 779 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/11/2014)

Ashley Johnson thinks…

"Was allowed to put my stuff in my room right away when arriving. Staff was super friendly."

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.51

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
17.71 USD

Hostel 82.7% 2285 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
22.77 USD

Hostel 84.6% 1482 reviews
Hotel Blyss
26.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
15.18 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Hotel Princess
6.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
hotel vossisvondelpark
31.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
15.18 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

702 out of 779 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 538 of 628 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really chill. Nice bar and smoke room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really chill place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madeleine Helgesson

23 June 2010 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very good location, you can walk everywhere. The staff is friendly and it is a great place to meet new friends. The breakfast is good for a hostel.

Disliked: Madeleine left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Octavio Galhardi

18 June 2010 Octavio would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very nice to meet new people, it's fun. The place is clean as well comfortable. No complains about flying pig, except for the location that is not in central amsterdam and that they could have a coffee shop in the hostel.

Disliked: Octavio left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar, Breakfast, Wireless what more could you ask for!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tapio Majanen

13 June 2010 Tapio would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome afterparty in lobby bar. Cya again and greetings from Finland!

Disliked: Tapio left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Impressively clean considering it's basically one giant party. I hope whoever gets paid to clean this place gets paid well though!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun atmosphere - the bar is great for meeting people. The directions on the email are terrible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great vibe and we met a lot of good people, but it felt a little crusty. I would stay there again though if I went back to amsterdam. It is perfect for your ultimate amsterdam experience!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomson Xavier

09 June 2010 Thomson would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to chill.... Laidback atmosphere..... Coool smoking roooom ;-)

Disliked: Thomson left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to spend our stay in amsterdam!!! Really chill people and vibe about the place. The stairs are a killer but worth it in the end!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was the best part of the hostel. the creepy people who are always there was my least favorite part.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erica Brooks

02 June 2010 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good place to stay. I gained a few stories to tell from my travels, including:+ waking up to find the couple in the single bunk above me were using MY TOWEL as a blanket+ hearing a couple having sex in the shower next to meThe place itself was fine, though. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and the in-room lockers were handy. It got quite chilly at night a few times, so I was glad to have some cozy socks to keep my feet warm.

Disliked: Erica left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The park opposite is nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

DIAH AYU PUJI ASTUTI

31 May 2010 DIAH AYU PUJI would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is rather small, although nice & clean. The room is simple and clean, although also rather small. Linens are provided. It would be nicer if they have closed luggage lockers. The bathroom was nice, love the hot shower, although a bathroom mat is highly recommended to prevent people leaving traces of water after leaving the bathroom. Breakfast was okay, choices of bread and fruit jam and cereals. The rate when we came was very high (32 euros), I don't think it's worth more than 25 euros though.

Disliked: DIAH AYU PUJI left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They give you free breakfast which is great, it is really laid back and super chill. The location was decent, the staff was nice. The rooms were a bit cramped and the bathrooms were older/tight space but you can get by. You do what you have to do, it was a decent value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 May 2010

Liked: -the beds were very comfortable and the people we met were quite fun-the bar was very cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvia Fox

29 May 2010 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved waking up in the morning on my first night in Amsterdam to be welcomed by mellow friendly faces, a bar of breakfast and good loud music. As of that moment, my morning routine has changed for life!

Disliked: Sylvia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brian Sidel

25 May 2010 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: It was such a chill atmosphere. Great people, awesome music and a bar right next to a smoking room. Loved my stay, would definitely do it again

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Motti

24 May 2010 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place...great bar...chill out staff...great place to meet people!!!

Disliked: Santiago left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amanda Lopez

21 May 2010 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend staying here. It is nice except washrooms should be cleaned more. Breakfast in the morn is toast and cereal. that is fine. We stayed in a room with 12 others...something to get used to if you haven't stayed in a hostel before. Pretty good place. Location is fairly good. Walking distance (5 to 30 mins) for most attractions. Hostel is located in Leidseplein which is a nice area.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Erthal

20 May 2010 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for meeting people and partying. We really enjoyed our stay!

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Billie Adamick

20 May 2010 Billie would recommend this property

Liked: the smoke lounge

Disliked: Billie left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 May 2010

Liked: not very clean.toilet sucks.very small.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.