HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

84.3% Overall Rating

698 out of 775 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

Lincoln Mohler thinks…

"The beds and pillows were great. I figured more people would be drinking but the main vibe is smoking so be aware. Breakfast is what you expect for free. Bread, cereal, hard boiled eggs juice etc."

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
31.83 USD

Hostel 87.1% 2274 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
33.16 USD

Hostel 83.2% 1457 reviews
Hotel Blyss
67.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
27.86 USD

Hostel 62.1% 4268 reviews
Trianon
33.16 USD

Hostel 66.7% 314 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
25.19 USD

Hostel 64.6% 527 reviews
Hotel Abba
44.22 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

698 out of 775 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 534 of 624 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar, Breakfast, Wireless what more could you ask for!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tapio Majanen

13 June 2010 Tapio would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome afterparty in lobby bar. Cya again and greetings from Finland!

Disliked: Tapio left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Impressively clean considering it's basically one giant party. I hope whoever gets paid to clean this place gets paid well though!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun atmosphere - the bar is great for meeting people. The directions on the email are terrible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great vibe and we met a lot of good people, but it felt a little crusty. I would stay there again though if I went back to amsterdam. It is perfect for your ultimate amsterdam experience!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomson Xavier

09 June 2010 Thomson would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to chill.... Laidback atmosphere..... Coool smoking roooom ;-)

Disliked: Thomson left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to spend our stay in amsterdam!!! Really chill people and vibe about the place. The stairs are a killer but worth it in the end!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was the best part of the hostel. the creepy people who are always there was my least favorite part.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erica Brooks

02 June 2010 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good place to stay. I gained a few stories to tell from my travels, including:+ waking up to find the couple in the single bunk above me were using MY TOWEL as a blanket+ hearing a couple having sex in the shower next to meThe place itself was fine, though. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and the in-room lockers were handy. It got quite chilly at night a few times, so I was glad to have some cozy socks to keep my feet warm.

Disliked: Erica left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The park opposite is nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

DIAH AYU PUJI ASTUTI

31 May 2010 DIAH AYU PUJI would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is rather small, although nice & clean. The room is simple and clean, although also rather small. Linens are provided. It would be nicer if they have closed luggage lockers. The bathroom was nice, love the hot shower, although a bathroom mat is highly recommended to prevent people leaving traces of water after leaving the bathroom. Breakfast was okay, choices of bread and fruit jam and cereals. The rate when we came was very high (32 euros), I don't think it's worth more than 25 euros though.

Disliked: DIAH AYU PUJI left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They give you free breakfast which is great, it is really laid back and super chill. The location was decent, the staff was nice. The rooms were a bit cramped and the bathrooms were older/tight space but you can get by. You do what you have to do, it was a decent value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 May 2010

Liked: -the beds were very comfortable and the people we met were quite fun-the bar was very cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvia Fox

29 May 2010 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved waking up in the morning on my first night in Amsterdam to be welcomed by mellow friendly faces, a bar of breakfast and good loud music. As of that moment, my morning routine has changed for life!

Disliked: Sylvia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brian Sidel

25 May 2010 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: It was such a chill atmosphere. Great people, awesome music and a bar right next to a smoking room. Loved my stay, would definitely do it again

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Motti

24 May 2010 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place...great bar...chill out staff...great place to meet people!!!

Disliked: Santiago left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amanda Lopez

21 May 2010 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend staying here. It is nice except washrooms should be cleaned more. Breakfast in the morn is toast and cereal. that is fine. We stayed in a room with 12 others...something to get used to if you haven't stayed in a hostel before. Pretty good place. Location is fairly good. Walking distance (5 to 30 mins) for most attractions. Hostel is located in Leidseplein which is a nice area.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Erthal

20 May 2010 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for meeting people and partying. We really enjoyed our stay!

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Billie Adamick

20 May 2010 Billie would recommend this property

Liked: the smoke lounge

Disliked: Billie left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 May 2010

Liked: not very clean.toilet sucks.very small.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From the minute you walk in it has such a comfortable, easy going atmosphere. The staff a great, they know local hot spots and always keen to help out. THE GREEN ROOM is amazing!!!! Always full of stories and interesting people. The Bar goes off too.There was no internet but all the reast kinda outways that!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Renshaw

13 May 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Place was clean and warm. Amsterdam was fkn freezing (and is Spring). Most staff were good, one girl might have been having a bad day, but other than that everyone was relaxed, chilled out, but informative if you wanted to know something.There is a weed smoking room on-site, so all those trying for the first time can smoke downstairs, then you are not too far away from your bed and/or friends, instead of being lost in Amsterdam totally stoned.Good security locker system under the bed, a wire cage, but bring your own padlock.For me, it was too far away from Centraal Station, getting lost with all the streets and trams was a hassle for me.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 May 2010

Liked: The staff was really helpful and the location was good for what I was looking for, but I was a little frustrated with my hostelmates who seemed to only leave the hostel to buy weed and then came back to smoke it in the smoking room until they passed out. It was hard to meet travel companions since no one seemed to want to actually see Amsterdam, which is such a great city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent and the free breakfast in the moring sets you up for the day

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.