HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

85.6% Overall Rating

700 out of 777 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/10/2014)

"Location: 5 minutes to Museums square, I amsterdam sign, Hard Rock Cafe and 10 minutes to Leidseplein Breakfast: Bread, jam, coffee, orange juice, tea, cornflakes, milk... It was nice but it would be great there was…"

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.51

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
22.14 USD

Hostel 83.1% 2284 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
43.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
27.83 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1476 reviews
Hotel Blyss
39.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
18.98 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Hotel Princess
10.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
hotel vossisvondelpark
43.96 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
20.24 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

700 out of 777 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 536 of 626 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martina Andreasson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2010 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere! I also liked the bed, I really slept well. Since I only stayed here one night, I didn't have time to use the kitchen or try the buffet breakfast but I think it is good that you can make your own dinner here and that breakfast is included in the price! I liked that there were only people my age (20-30) who stayed there.

Disliked: I didn't like the narrow stairs, it was difficult to climb these stairs up and down with my huge backpack...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Campbell McInally

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 August 2010 Campbell would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, one of the best I've stayed in for definite. Really good atmosphere with a nice bar and smoking area. Got a really good map with handy points for where to eat/drink etc in the city, helped a lot to stay clear of the more expensive places.

Disliked: The room we had was nice and clean, but slightly unnecessarily cramped it seemed due to the layout of the beds. One other thing I remember was that I'm sure it advertised free use of a luggage room but then on the day we left we had to pay for lockers. Minor niggles though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a really cool place, specially the bar and the smoking area.

Disliked: Rooms are sometimes a bit messy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bar

Disliked: stairs

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: youth energy

Disliked: nothing special

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, really good breakfast, laptops for use, really good location close to everything. Was quirky and had character

Disliked: They put my friend and I that I was travelling with in separate dorms which was inconvenient, pretty expensive

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for going out and visiting museums

Disliked: It was a bit grungy feeling

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2010

Liked: it is a great place to meet people. big party vibe but also chilled out in the smoking room. locations pretty good about 10min walk from leidesplan/tram stop but quite far out from the centre. right next door to vondelpark. lockers were those pull out things under your bed. however, for the money you pay the facilities are quite bad. it is not clean at all. toilets had vomit. we had broken heater and lights. no hot water in our room. we even had a cat in our room. our room also had a double bed bunk bed. the front door was always open. staff were pretty unfriendly and not particularly helpful. we were told at breakfast (standard cereal and toast) that there were no eggs because she (aussie chick) couldn't be bothered making them. the stairs are really narrow and there are lots to climb.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, great times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, located near a good set of amenities etc. nice people, helpful staff, offers a range of things to do, gives you a map with useful things marked on it.

Disliked: Bit of a way from the central station, could be seen as fairly overpriced, had to pay to store luggage etc after check-out, surprising that the dorms are mixed-sex, people who came in late turned the light on disturbing other people who were sleeping - perhaps a light for each bed would be useful?

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2010

Liked: Great location and lots of services such as free breakfast, fee tours

Disliked: Do not expect to get a good nights sleep! very loud and people love to party, reception is in the middle of bar and there is only 1 small bathroom for the entire floor. rooms are cramped.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Friesen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Newly renovated, nice rooms, good showers, free breakfast, close to Vondelpark.

Disliked: Stairs, stairs and more stairs! But there isn't much you can do about that condsidering the building it's in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... heaps to do. Nice clean rooms and safe!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: smoking roombar

Disliked: reception was not 24 hours

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area is very atmospheric and a great place to meet people and have a laugh with. It is east to feel comfortable there and its your hostel for the few days your there. Great week!

Disliked: The wash areas could have been better you would not want to be too large a person!!!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010

Liked: Walking distance to park

Disliked: Dirty, crap breakfast, rude staff, disgustingly dirty kitchen, and small kitchen, SOOO far away from everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds and a great bar downstairs to kickstart the night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, generally good hostel.

Disliked: it's near the museums, but a good walk from the center. i would probably choose a hostel just a little closer next time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Leah Lothringer

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2010 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: The quirkiness of the bar and the smoking room, the proximity to Leidseplein, the really helpful staff and the cat that lives in the building

Disliked: Breakfast choice was quite disappointing, every cereal being offered was full of sugar. I realise it's a hostel breakfast so it's not going to please everyone, but just once, it'd be nice to eat a breakfast cereal that is not laced with 10 tablespoons of sucrose.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The smoking room! awsome place to meet people, staffw ere awsome, locationwa s awsome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thought it was a really cool place to stay. Not regimented and good chat, near a lovely park.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe area newr the park, great bar and kitchen facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really chill. Nice bar and smoke room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really chill place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.