We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

86.5% Overall Rating

713 out of 791 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2015)

Adnan Khaliq thinks…

"Meeting people and the great vibe at the hostel. Great stay for people travelling alone or in groups. Comfortable beds and clean!"

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.45

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
26.98 USD

Hostel 85.6% 2332 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
33.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 38 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
16.86 USD

Hostel 84.9% 1569 reviews
Hotel Blyss
56.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.99 USD

Hostel 71.8% 4328 reviews
Budget Hostel Princess
15.74 USD

Hostel 62.6% 33 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
47.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
23.61 USD

Hostel 64.8% 338 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

713 out of 791 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 547 of 640 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Lusquinos

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The bar

Disliked: the 5 floors i had to climb!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little place and good value for money

Disliked: A bit far from the main entertainment area

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Levis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The decor!

Disliked: It was a bit chaotic in terms of cleaning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and fun

Disliked: try if the credit card debit is available, which makes me feel unsafe, not sure when of if my money will be back into my card...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chill atmosphere, funny paintings on walls and doors.

Disliked: No elevators, and many floors!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had character

Disliked: No free internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carla Werrin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Way too many stairs and really steep stairs, needs a lift

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun, great, clean

Disliked: One minor adjustment would be get a better map. But other than that-perfect

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

24 November 2010

Liked: was in good location. breakfast was good

Disliked: the room was very small and looked a bit untidy. toilets were very very small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Domingo Perez

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2010 Domingo would recommend this property

Liked: Absolute great place to meet people, very good atmosphere and excellent service from staff, because they also are travelers.

Disliked: Nothing at all, the location was VERY slightly out of the way, but excellent compared to other places i looked at.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Imran Choudhury

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 November 2010 Imran would recommend this property

Liked: FRIENDLY STAFF

Disliked: LOCATION

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: conveniently located next to a park

Disliked: too many australians

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LUCIANE MACHADO

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

05 November 2010 LUCIANE would recommend this property

Liked: the bar, the decoration, location, nice staff and comfortable

Disliked: LUCIANE left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hannah Ulrick

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 November 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location.

Disliked: I woke up at 11am and there was no hot water.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010

Liked: Staff and atmosphere were great.

Disliked: We stayed there for one night. There was no warm water either in the evening or in the morning. I was told it happenes because the building is old.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ashley Doyle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Its a healthy walk away from the RLD, giving u the chance to digest whatever "meal" you ate. Reception staff were very nice and helpfull. Towels are free with deposit

Disliked: The map they give you is crap. The bar is small and always crowded especially at breakfast time. The showers aren't hot. 6 bed dorm is tiny and sleeps 8 people, only half of which had a personal locker. Quite expensive but hey, its Amsterdam I guess. Wifi doesn't reach the rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 October 2010

Liked: I liked the bar area and the atmosphere of the hostel.

Disliked: I REALLY disliked the bathrooms (about two stalls per floor that were incredibly cramped) and I found the map they gave us very confusing and unhelpful.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2010

Liked: The staff were super nice and laid back.

Disliked: The kitchen is considerably small and there was not enough space to store food. Also there is not a place to just chill that is not the smoking room or the loud bar.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all right

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2010

Liked: It was in front of a beautiful park and near nightclubs and pubs.

Disliked: The rooms smelled very bad, I stayed there three nights and I was moved to a different room each night and even in different floors. I had to use the lockers they have to put my stuff between switching beds but my things didn't fit. They have a smoking area but it's inside the bar so the smoke got inside the no smoking area which for the people that doen't smoke as me it was very upsetting.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Daniel Cobucci

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice breakfast and good price.

Disliked: Cleanliness.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was a fun place to hang out and had cheap drink specials.

Disliked: The reception staff were not attentive and even lost my friends Passport. I don't like having to give your Passport as a deposit to use the internet, you should never have to leave your Passport anywhere. Especially if they then lose it and are not too fussed about finding it ("It'll turn up.")

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean and the breakfast was good.

Disliked: too many stairs, which is not so great when you're with big, heavy luggages. Doesn't seem so secure, if you're not willing to lock your stuff by giving money.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Shopping
Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was great in a lot of ways and bad in others. They had large kitchen facilities and had mini laptops for hire. The smoking room down stairs was great and the general atmosphere of the place was fantastic. Everyone i met were lovely and they had some pretty cheap drink deals at the bar. The breakfast was pretty standard; toast or cereal, but it was good. The beds were comfy.

Disliked: We liked this hostel but it was a pain in the ass. They have the most narrow steep stair cases i've seen in my life, and if you went on a shopping holiday like myself, lugging two bags up about 10 flights of stairs was physically impossible. The stairs are so steep and narrow that only two person traffic is not possible, and i literally could not carry by bags up them, someone had to help me. The fact that they didnt have lifts was ludicrous. The showers on the floor were good but there was only about 7 to the whole floor and about 4 toilets for everyone to use which were a pretty tight squeeze. My main issue was with the stairs though. Given, stairs are everywhere in Europe, but these ones are just ridiculous if you're trying to carry bags.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bed

Disliked: stairs