HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

84.0% Overall Rating

697 out of 774 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

Lincoln Mohler thinks…

"The beds and pillows were great. I figured more people would be drinking but the main vibe is smoking so be aware. Breakfast is what you expect for free. Bread, cereal, hard boiled eggs juice etc."

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.54

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
35.09 USD

Hostel 91.5% 2263 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
45.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 28 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
37.79 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1431 reviews
Hotel Blyss
45.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
32.39 USD

Hostel 62.2% 4248 reviews
Trianon
31.04 USD

Hostel 70.6% 305 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
26.98 USD

Hostel 71.5% 521 reviews
Hotel Abba
45.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

697 out of 774 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 533 of 623 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010

Liked: Staff and atmosphere were great.

Disliked: We stayed there for one night. There was no warm water either in the evening or in the morning. I was told it happenes because the building is old.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ashley Doyle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Its a healthy walk away from the RLD, giving u the chance to digest whatever "meal" you ate. Reception staff were very nice and helpfull. Towels are free with deposit

Disliked: The map they give you is crap. The bar is small and always crowded especially at breakfast time. The showers aren't hot. 6 bed dorm is tiny and sleeps 8 people, only half of which had a personal locker. Quite expensive but hey, its Amsterdam I guess. Wifi doesn't reach the rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 October 2010

Liked: I liked the bar area and the atmosphere of the hostel.

Disliked: I REALLY disliked the bathrooms (about two stalls per floor that were incredibly cramped) and I found the map they gave us very confusing and unhelpful.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2010

Liked: The staff were super nice and laid back.

Disliked: The kitchen is considerably small and there was not enough space to store food. Also there is not a place to just chill that is not the smoking room or the loud bar.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all right

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2010

Liked: It was in front of a beautiful park and near nightclubs and pubs.

Disliked: The rooms smelled very bad, I stayed there three nights and I was moved to a different room each night and even in different floors. I had to use the lockers they have to put my stuff between switching beds but my things didn't fit. They have a smoking area but it's inside the bar so the smoke got inside the no smoking area which for the people that doen't smoke as me it was very upsetting.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Daniel Cobucci

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice breakfast and good price.

Disliked: Cleanliness.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was a fun place to hang out and had cheap drink specials.

Disliked: The reception staff were not attentive and even lost my friends Passport. I don't like having to give your Passport as a deposit to use the internet, you should never have to leave your Passport anywhere. Especially if they then lose it and are not too fussed about finding it ("It'll turn up.")

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean and the breakfast was good.

Disliked: too many stairs, which is not so great when you're with big, heavy luggages. Doesn't seem so secure, if you're not willing to lock your stuff by giving money.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Shopping
Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was great in a lot of ways and bad in others. They had large kitchen facilities and had mini laptops for hire. The smoking room down stairs was great and the general atmosphere of the place was fantastic. Everyone i met were lovely and they had some pretty cheap drink deals at the bar. The breakfast was pretty standard; toast or cereal, but it was good. The beds were comfy.

Disliked: We liked this hostel but it was a pain in the ass. They have the most narrow steep stair cases i've seen in my life, and if you went on a shopping holiday like myself, lugging two bags up about 10 flights of stairs was physically impossible. The stairs are so steep and narrow that only two person traffic is not possible, and i literally could not carry by bags up them, someone had to help me. The fact that they didnt have lifts was ludicrous. The showers on the floor were good but there was only about 7 to the whole floor and about 4 toilets for everyone to use which were a pretty tight squeeze. My main issue was with the stairs though. Given, stairs are everywhere in Europe, but these ones are just ridiculous if you're trying to carry bags.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bed

Disliked: stairs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Free breakfast was also good.

Disliked: The bar constantly smelled like the adjoining smoking room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Confusing building layout

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eleanor hoccom

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2010 eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere is brilliant

Disliked: could have done with another blanket on the bed was a little cold one night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ATMOSPHEREBREAKFAST

Disliked: ONLY ONE POWER POINT IN A TEN BED DORM; QUITE BAD

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very social atmosphere, the staff is very personable and helpful.

Disliked: I'm on the 4th floor and there is no lift so it is inconvenient to climb all those stairs to get up to my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jim Harris

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2010 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Across from park...nice

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giuseppe maugeri

Alone

City break

04 September 2010 giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: really nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: they got my reservations wrong and ended up increasing the price of the stay

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: House was cool.

Disliked: There was no vaporizer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zoran Lisovac

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

28 August 2010 Zoran would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast, good value for ,oney overall...

Disliked: Zoran left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Alexander Ware

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: It seemed like a friendly place, breakfast was included in the price and the bar and smoking area was very good, made it easy to meet people.

Disliked: It was on the far south side of the city, meaning a long walk to get to/from the station and into town. It was also more expensive than most.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martina Andreasson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2010 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere! I also liked the bed, I really slept well. Since I only stayed here one night, I didn't have time to use the kitchen or try the buffet breakfast but I think it is good that you can make your own dinner here and that breakfast is included in the price! I liked that there were only people my age (20-30) who stayed there.

Disliked: I didn't like the narrow stairs, it was difficult to climb these stairs up and down with my huge backpack...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Campbell McInally

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 August 2010 Campbell would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, one of the best I've stayed in for definite. Really good atmosphere with a nice bar and smoking area. Got a really good map with handy points for where to eat/drink etc in the city, helped a lot to stay clear of the more expensive places.

Disliked: The room we had was nice and clean, but slightly unnecessarily cramped it seemed due to the layout of the beds. One other thing I remember was that I'm sure it advertised free use of a luggage room but then on the day we left we had to pay for lockers. Minor niggles though.