We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

86.4% Overall Rating

710 out of 788 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2015)

"Clean hostel, very helpful staff and location right next to Vondelpark. Definitely recommended"

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.44

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
26.64 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2318 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
32.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 35 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
16.65 USD

Hostel 81.4% 1540 reviews
Hotel Blyss
30.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 13 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
17.76 USD

Hostel 73.3% 4304 reviews
Budget Hostel Princess
13.32 USD

Hostel 68.0% 25 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
49.68 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
21.09 USD

Hostel 63.7% 333 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

710 out of 788 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 544 of 637 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Darya Ausiannikava

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011

Liked: The central location and funny name)

Disliked: The room was dirty. It was very-very small. The breakfast was rather poor.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Daniel Catlin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011

Liked: It's tailor-made for the backpacker that wants to party. The guests are all young and naturally it's really loud there and it can get a bit rowdy. If you're into that, you should be satisfied. They have a full bar and a smoking room and of course a kitchen for guest use. The setting, next to Vondelpark, is both an asset and a disadvantage.

Disliked: Personally, I found this place obnoxious. Tons of people there, very loud, just a cliche of a hostel. Plus, the smoking room is tiny, and don't be surprised if the same ten people are in there all the time, making it difficult to pop in there for a quick toke. Plus, I figured out the Leidseplein area is kind of lame, and that's closest party area to this hostel. I unwittingly booked this hostel for a month later than I intended, but when I went to check in, the staff at reception either didn't notice or feel the need to inform me of my mistake. Thus, at 2 a.m. I was woken up by other guests who told me rudely my friend and I were in their beds. They had just arrived and had reservations for our places, but reception had no idea we were already there. Now they were overbooked, and we had to change rooms in the middle of the night, and I ended up on one of those thin mattresses on the floor. Granted, the staff member who helped us was as apologetic and helpful as could be, but that such a thing would happen is ridiculous. Sure I made the mistake... but why didn't they notice it? The next morning I asked to speak to a manager to see if I couldn't get some compensation for having been woken up and moved to the floor, but I was informed the manager "won't be here for a couple more hours, if you want to wait" (it was already after 9 am). Why should I pay full price after that? I say, pick a better hostel in a more interesting part of the city. Amsterdam's huge, with lots of amazing places to stay, you can do better. To each his own.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, On-site bar, smoking room, excellent breakfast

Disliked: lockers require that you bring/buy a padlock

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011

Liked: It's nice to have a smoking room and the location is fairly convenient.

Disliked: Seems like a place that kind of attracts d-bags, but that's sort of an Amsterdam issue in general, really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Evan Boyle

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011

Liked: The staff (especially Michelle and Jasper) were eternally helpful and fun to hang out with as well. The whole configuration of this hostel is inviting and I really cannot think of a better hostel in Amsterdam!

Disliked: nothing. Everything was fantastic.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Sullivan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, set a bit back from the city. quick walk, but you feel a bit separated (better night's sleep). bar and smoking room, good place to chill out if you're not up for the red light district.

Disliked: not much at the bar, beds are a bit small (and I'm not a big guy)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 March 2011

Liked: Good location and individual lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: It was fat too crowded, no space in the breakfast area, not enough cutlery and plates for everyone, the rooms far too crowded and the toilets extremally small. Do not recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very nice place to stay...was my first time travelling and also my first time in a hostel the flying pig uptown was got me hooked....thanks guys :-) !!!!

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Julia Spahle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011

Liked: I liked having a bed to sleep in at the end of the night.

Disliked: I did not enjoy having to go down a flight of stairs in order to go up six more. the kitcchen staff constantly threw away my food even when it was labelled. The staff ranged from very rude to fairly helpful. Our room was not cleaned once, nor was the toilet fixed. The showers were moldy, and random people would come into our room in the middle of the night, I guess their keys are universal. The bar was also expensive, and they blasted techno at 8am.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, the bar is great! The staff was very helpful and friendly! Big Big breakfast included!!

Disliked: Could be cleaner

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexandra Warren

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 February 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location near the park and the center of town.

Disliked: STAIRS! Tiny bathrooms, crappy showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were fab, great location really recommend!!!

Disliked: toilet on first floor were disgusting and wasn't fixed at all, as we had to go to the 3rd floor when we needed it. 2nd floor one didn't have light... the only option were th 3Rd floor then! breakfast was really poor, bread, cereals, COLD MILK, and tea.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011

Liked: not all that much, there is a dearth of good hostels in this city

Disliked: the staff were mostly unfriendly, the hostel has too many beds, the bar is a bit gross

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere and homeliness about the place, it was obvious that people had been having fun in this place for years

Disliked: The toilets were tiny!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: music went on dsownstairs untill the early hours then started up again in the morning not the greatest for a good nights sleep

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Smoking area in bar, secure

Disliked: Room was a little cold the first night, but radiators were on after that

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ana Cecilia Martingano

Alone

City break

01 February 2011 Ana Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a good hostel

Disliked: They don´t have a luggage room, and have a lot of stairs (like in all Amsterdam, but maybe if you put the luggage room or the exit in the first floor....) it´s very unconfortable move in the hostel with your bags

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aislin Azcona

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Aislin would recommend this property

Liked: I travelled alone and was greeted by so many different people, it felt cozy being there

Disliked: no dislikes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Madden

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, the atmosphere was great, and the hostel was clean. The bar downstairs was never empty, and was a great place to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Fábio Maia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2011

Liked: The location is very good, near some good and cheap restaurants.

Disliked: This hostel is almost a coffee-shop, with lots of people going there to "smoke" - if you are not going there to do this, then don't go.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff, cool atmosphere.

Disliked: The shower's were often cold and the ones in the ensuite had a press in button that only stayed in for about 10 seconds of water. That was average.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Lusquinos

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The bar

Disliked: the 5 floors i had to climb!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little place and good value for money

Disliked: A bit far from the main entertainment area

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Levis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The decor!

Disliked: It was a bit chaotic in terms of cleaning.