We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel

Hostel | Vossiussstraat 46-47, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071AJ

85.7% Overall Rating

702 out of 779 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/11/2014)

Ashley Johnson thinks…

"Was allowed to put my stuff in my room right away when arriving. Staff was super friendly."

Read all The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.51

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Vondelpark
24.04 USD

Hostel 82.7% 2285 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
18.98 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1483 reviews
Hotel Blyss
30.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
15.18 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Hotel Princess
7.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
hotel vossisvondelpark
33.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Trianon
16.45 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

702 out of 779 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 538 of 628 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 March 2011

Liked: Good location and individual lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: It was fat too crowded, no space in the breakfast area, not enough cutlery and plates for everyone, the rooms far too crowded and the toilets extremally small. Do not recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very nice place to stay...was my first time travelling and also my first time in a hostel the flying pig uptown was got me hooked....thanks guys :-) !!!!

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Julia Spahle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011

Liked: I liked having a bed to sleep in at the end of the night.

Disliked: I did not enjoy having to go down a flight of stairs in order to go up six more. the kitcchen staff constantly threw away my food even when it was labelled. The staff ranged from very rude to fairly helpful. Our room was not cleaned once, nor was the toilet fixed. The showers were moldy, and random people would come into our room in the middle of the night, I guess their keys are universal. The bar was also expensive, and they blasted techno at 8am.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, the bar is great! The staff was very helpful and friendly! Big Big breakfast included!!

Disliked: Could be cleaner

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexandra Warren

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 February 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location near the park and the center of town.

Disliked: STAIRS! Tiny bathrooms, crappy showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were fab, great location really recommend!!!

Disliked: toilet on first floor were disgusting and wasn't fixed at all, as we had to go to the 3rd floor when we needed it. 2nd floor one didn't have light... the only option were th 3Rd floor then! breakfast was really poor, bread, cereals, COLD MILK, and tea.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011

Liked: not all that much, there is a dearth of good hostels in this city

Disliked: the staff were mostly unfriendly, the hostel has too many beds, the bar is a bit gross

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere and homeliness about the place, it was obvious that people had been having fun in this place for years

Disliked: The toilets were tiny!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: music went on dsownstairs untill the early hours then started up again in the morning not the greatest for a good nights sleep

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Smoking area in bar, secure

Disliked: Room was a little cold the first night, but radiators were on after that

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ana Cecilia Martingano

Alone

City break

01 February 2011 Ana Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a good hostel

Disliked: They don´t have a luggage room, and have a lot of stairs (like in all Amsterdam, but maybe if you put the luggage room or the exit in the first floor....) it´s very unconfortable move in the hostel with your bags

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aislin Azcona

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Aislin would recommend this property

Liked: I travelled alone and was greeted by so many different people, it felt cozy being there

Disliked: no dislikes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Madden

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, the atmosphere was great, and the hostel was clean. The bar downstairs was never empty, and was a great place to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Fábio Maia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2011

Liked: The location is very good, near some good and cheap restaurants.

Disliked: This hostel is almost a coffee-shop, with lots of people going there to "smoke" - if you are not going there to do this, then don't go.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff, cool atmosphere.

Disliked: The shower's were often cold and the ones in the ensuite had a press in button that only stayed in for about 10 seconds of water. That was average.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Lusquinos

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The bar

Disliked: the 5 floors i had to climb!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little place and good value for money

Disliked: A bit far from the main entertainment area

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Levis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The decor!

Disliked: It was a bit chaotic in terms of cleaning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and fun

Disliked: try if the credit card debit is available, which makes me feel unsafe, not sure when of if my money will be back into my card...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chill atmosphere, funny paintings on walls and doors.

Disliked: No elevators, and many floors!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had character

Disliked: No free internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carla Werrin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Way too many stairs and really steep stairs, needs a lift

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun, great, clean

Disliked: One minor adjustment would be get a better map. But other than that-perfect

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

24 November 2010

Liked: was in good location. breakfast was good

Disliked: the room was very small and looked a bit untidy. toilets were very very small