HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Uptown Amsterdam Hostel

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.45USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

Showing 91-55 of 55 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the bar

Disliked: no wifi in room

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere, really cool staff nice location away from ugly central Amsterdam righ in front of a nice park and canals and all the besto from Amsterdam!

Disliked: THE STAIRS! had to go up and down several stairs to get to reception, my room and lockers! not good if you´re carrying a 24K suitcase!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Right next to Vondelpark which is beautiful, warm and cosy hostel, great location for nightclubbing

Disliked: Kitchen is really tiny and no dining room, location is quite far from central Amsterdam

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked everything, from staff to guests, everything was in perfect order, easy-going atmosphere, smoking room, good breakfast, nice people...

Disliked: I disliked nothing so spectacular that needs to be mentioned here. As I said, everything was beyond my expectations, a true 5-star hostel... although a snack-pizza served at the bar should be a little bigger or at least little cheaper.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was a great place to stay when in Amsterdam- the directions on how to get there were excellent and it's in a truly stunning location. The staff are all friendly and laid-back, and more than happy to hang out after finishing work. Its a really wonderful location for going to the museums, easy to get back to the red light district and the free walking tour shows you all the best places to go for various items.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Envoirenment

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: LOVED this hostel.. it was a little quiet when i was there but thats not their fault! really impressed - such friendly staff, super clean, good kitchen if you use one. best of all its really social and a great place to meet other travellers, loved the painted walls in the bar too! couldn't recommend this place more, my favourite kind of hostel for sure.

Disliked: got a little lost trying to find it but thats just because i'm hopeless with a map!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very helpful and pleasant, made us feel very welcome. Showers and room were clean, we stayed on the 3rd floor and the noise at night from the bar and smoking room was non-existent.

Disliked: Not much to dislike really, there were a lot of stairs in the hostel which could be my only bad point as after a few smokes it was a big hard to get up them!But real minor detail/

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great - right next to the Vondelpark and the museumplein and a walking distance from all the nice places in the center of Amsterdam. Also the staff was very professional and answered all the questions. We were able to leave our luggage for a day after we checked out, which was very convenient. Also the hostels inside design is very nice.

Disliked: The staff was very strict and unwilling to compromise about timings - if the checkout and check in time was at 10:30 i couldn't do it at 10:25 or at 10:35, which was a bit annoying. Also, but i guess that's the Amsterdam buildings' fault, the hostel is very small and crowded and full of stairs - very uncomfortable when carrying many big suitcases.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds are really good and comfy, the drinks were cheap, the staff were fun, meet some awesome people, would stay there again.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability