HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.20EUR

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Perfekt

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Atmosphere & location was excellent. All the guests were so friendly and it was like our own little community.

Disliked: Quite noisy & the heat of the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Fantastic place to be, the facilities, staff and guests were all amazing! Already looking at coming back later this year!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: .

Disliked: Missing bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The staff was very helpful and having access to a bar and smoking room saved me from having to venture out often.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not very atmospheric. Expensive for what it was

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great bar area, helpful and friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

WOW Thank you so much for such a great review!! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed our bar area and friendly staff! We hope that you will return to stay with us some day :)

Take care and happy travelling
The Piggies

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very laidback, friendly staff. Facilities were clean. Elevator is a plus in an Amsterdamian hostel ;) The stairs are a bit scary. Breakfast was better than most hostels and included in the prize. Lockers in dorms were a plus.

Disliked: The waterpressure in the showers is as bad as in most hostels around Europe.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there ;)

Thank you for feeding back about your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our facilities clean and staff friendly ! Great that you were able to make use of our elevator instead of the stairs ;) We are sorry to hear that the water pressure was not what you would have hoped. We will be sure to get our maintenance team to take a look at the pressure in the room you stayed in right away! Thanks again and happy travels
The Piggies

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, very close to the train station, RLD, and shopping. Staff was helpful and friendly. Good wifi, free breakfast, comfortable bar and common spaces.

Disliked: Bathrooms were kept clean but are in need of updating. Under-bed lockers are large but are cages that don't afford same privacy and protection as regular lockers, plus they are very loud/squeaky.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. We are pleased that you found our staff helpful and friendly :) Great that you had time to relax in our bar and common areas. Thank you for mentioning that our bathrooms were kept clean. We are pleased to tell you that we are in the process of updating our rooms and bathrooms !

Thank you again and we wish you safe travels
The Piggies

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: I like the location

Disliked: Wasn't very people oriented and everyone ventured off on their own rather the hostel incorporate a group events

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability