HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam

Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.24USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 80%

Showing 71-45 of 45 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was close to all the main attractions and the train station.

Disliked: It was very noisy in my bedroom at night because it was directly opposite the bar and courtyard so you could hear the music and people talking like they were sitting right next to you.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was excellent...right in the heart of the most touristy area. The atmosphere at the hostel was perfect...everyone came to get down. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, and the rooms were reasonably priced...Also the staff was very helpful and accomadating to your needs...definitely stay here if you are looking for the Amsterdam experience.

Disliked: I would not recommend this Hostel to families with small children, or to older adults who don't want to be around a college student type atmosphere....other than that though...I had no dislikes or complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location - right by central train station.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good atmosphere, nice location. btw they are renting laptops for only 1 euro.

Disliked: shower facilities could be better

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Smoking room, EXCELLENT location

Disliked: nothing maybe the metal trunk storage can be noisy especially when you or others are trying to sleep

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Convenience and friendliness of everyone there!

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Really good clean and friendly hostel.

Disliked: No luggage room, had to pay to store my bag before my flight. The lockable cage draw under your bed for your bag was really awkward and a pain to keep opening up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thanks for your review. We can learn a lot from it.

We think safety and security a very important aspect when staying in a hostel. For that reason we have offer a free safe at reception and lockers in your room. We also provide secured lockers for our guests for a small fee, so you are also able to store you bags safely after check out.

We will check out the lockers in your room. Thanks for your help!

Cheers,

The Flying Pig

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Promisty to train station, good breakfast, clean rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Soooo good. Nice atmosphere, there is a room where you can smoke. It's pretty cool.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the location and the atmosphere.

Disliked: I liked everything, there was no problem.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability