HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.24USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 81%

Showing 61-36 of 36 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Love the super central location, it's literally 5 minutes away from Central Station, which has tons of tram and bus lines, and the Metro. It's also in close proximity to everything else you might want - coffeeshops, smartshops, actual shops. The street it's on, Nieuwendijk also has H&M, Bershka, HEMA (dutch chain store, kinda like a Tescos/supermarket but way prettier), Etos (like Boots/drugstore), some other clothing chains and this amazing Spirits store next to Etos.Love the smoking room and the super chilled vibe. Not as much as i love the swinging hammock seat downstairs!The beds were clean and pretty comfy, and it's pretty much really safe for a hostel.Lockers, food and drink and cigarette machines were so convenient! And the staff are always super helpful. I was waiting for my train which was about an hour after checkout, and rented a locker so i could go out, last minute souvenir shopping, and the receptionist recognized me when i got back and let me in right away. Pretty awesome.Love that you can rent a laptop for 1 Euro per half hour, and it's pretty fast laptop as well.It was really easy to meet people, and there were so many different types of people too, like chilled people or people were great to go out at night with.The hostel is really big on things to do, and the walking tour does pick ups in the morning, and they can recommend tons of places to go or where to rent bikes. Love the map and guide they give when you check in, super useful.Definitely going back to this hostel next time i go to Amsterdam.

Disliked: One of the showers, first from the right, doesn't work and is stuck on a really high temperature.The bar area isn't very big.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Very warm and helpful staff!

Disliked: A lot of substance abuse, although this is why people go to Amsterdam?

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Everything about it,a great base for getting out and about in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing. Nice people on the desk and wonderful people everywhere. Clean, safe and secure. I will definitely will be back.

Disliked: Hmm... nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The atmosphere was really good esp suited for 17-28 age group, ppl were partying all through out the night till 5.00 AM, interesting crowd of bag packer and others, friendly staff , good music through out, good value for money ... Not suitable for older crowds

Disliked: not much

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Awesome hostel, Great staff, great location, get facilities (including good beer on tap, Hoegaarden and Leffe Brune), as clean as a hostel possibly can be, ideal location and a really fun chilled out place.Highly recommended.....

Disliked: If the onwers actually read these comments, the only improvement I think you can make is to buy a different brand of microwave pizza to sell at the bar. There are plenty of brands which don't taste like tomato sause on cardboard........

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

HI there,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very happy to read you had such a good time with us.

Although we never had any complaints about the pizzas we sell at the bar, we are going to look into it! Thanks a lot for bringing this up.

Hopefully we'll see you again in the future!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome location, fantastically central. The free Breakfasts are really good. The hostel is clean, and the rooms are very spacious. Great vibe, and it's always bust. Staff were friendly and helpful too.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and Atmosphere

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's super close to the Central Station and Coffee Shops. And it had great lockers and non wobbly bunk bed.

Disliked: It seems checkin's are happening all day and they will ignore you to do checkin's first. Even when I was doing checkin they will ask you to wait and forget you. Showers are so weak barely any pressure there's two to an 18 dorm room. Worst bathroom of all my trip pretty shocking considering the reviews and cost to book here. Also kitchen is closed from about 10:30 pm till 12:30 you can't even get a drink from the fridge. And the first floor dorm room you will hear the music from bar downstairs vibrating till 2 am! So you end up going down because you've given up on sleep. If you come want to come to Amsterdam and drink at hostel bar and smoke in hostel lounge all day this place is for you.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Fantastic location great atmosphere, friendly staff, great social areas to meet new people.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability