HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.24USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 79%

Showing 61-36 of 36 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cool atmosphere. Friendly staff. great location!

Disliked: Changing rates.higher on weekend! :(

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This is the ultimate Amsterdam backpacker experience right at the centre of the city, five minutes from Centraal Station. It has a excellent, well priced bar, pool table, smokers room with relaxing chairs, an excellent breakfast included in the price. The bar area turns into a lively place to be after dark and only hostel guests can use it so it doesn't get rammed even on Friday and Saturday nights. It's clean, there's free wifi and a laptop you can borrow for free, it's clean and safe. This is not a place for a relaxing or romantic weekend. This is a party place so remember that when booking. That said, the rooms were quiet even when the music was on and most of the guests there seemed like seasoned travellers that respected out people's space and experience.

Disliked: Accomodation is expensive in Amsterstam do perhaps I'm being unfair but this is the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed at but you do get a lot for it. The place is very clean but around mid/late morning the staff come in an clean the rooms. When I say staff, I mean it seems like the whole staff are in and out, each with their own tiny role. A little bit more sleeping/hang over time would be good.Some of - not all, mind - off the staff are a little bit too cool for their own good. I guess they're living the dream.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Love the super central location, it's literally 5 minutes away from Central Station, which has tons of tram and bus lines, and the Metro. It's also in close proximity to everything else you might want - coffeeshops, smartshops, actual shops. The street it's on, Nieuwendijk also has H&M, Bershka, HEMA (dutch chain store, kinda like a Tescos/supermarket but way prettier), Etos (like Boots/drugstore), some other clothing chains and this amazing Spirits store next to Etos.Love the smoking room and the super chilled vibe. Not as much as i love the swinging hammock seat downstairs!The beds were clean and pretty comfy, and it's pretty much really safe for a hostel.Lockers, food and drink and cigarette machines were so convenient! And the staff are always super helpful. I was waiting for my train which was about an hour after checkout, and rented a locker so i could go out, last minute souvenir shopping, and the receptionist recognized me when i got back and let me in right away. Pretty awesome.Love that you can rent a laptop for 1 Euro per half hour, and it's pretty fast laptop as well.It was really easy to meet people, and there were so many different types of people too, like chilled people or people were great to go out at night with.The hostel is really big on things to do, and the walking tour does pick ups in the morning, and they can recommend tons of places to go or where to rent bikes. Love the map and guide they give when you check in, super useful.Definitely going back to this hostel next time i go to Amsterdam.

Disliked: One of the showers, first from the right, doesn't work and is stuck on a really high temperature.The bar area isn't very big.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Very warm and helpful staff!

Disliked: A lot of substance abuse, although this is why people go to Amsterdam?

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Everything about it,a great base for getting out and about in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing. Nice people on the desk and wonderful people everywhere. Clean, safe and secure. I will definitely will be back.

Disliked: Hmm... nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The atmosphere was really good esp suited for 17-28 age group, ppl were partying all through out the night till 5.00 AM, interesting crowd of bag packer and others, friendly staff , good music through out, good value for money ... Not suitable for older crowds

Disliked: not much

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Awesome hostel, Great staff, great location, get facilities (including good beer on tap, Hoegaarden and Leffe Brune), as clean as a hostel possibly can be, ideal location and a really fun chilled out place.Highly recommended.....

Disliked: If the onwers actually read these comments, the only improvement I think you can make is to buy a different brand of microwave pizza to sell at the bar. There are plenty of brands which don't taste like tomato sause on cardboard........

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

HI there,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very happy to read you had such a good time with us.

Although we never had any complaints about the pizzas we sell at the bar, we are going to look into it! Thanks a lot for bringing this up.

Hopefully we'll see you again in the future!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome location, fantastically central. The free Breakfasts are really good. The hostel is clean, and the rooms are very spacious. Great vibe, and it's always bust. Staff were friendly and helpful too.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and Atmosphere

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability