HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam

Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.24USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 80%

Showing 51-45 of 45 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: the staff was quite helpful, the smoking rooms totally served its purpose (which is i think unique to this hostel), the room was quite large and the beds were comfy, good security with three checks from outside to the hostel room, also nice friendly atmosphere all among the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: One of the best hostels I´ve stay´d at. Do they have a loundry service? Didn´t need one this trip but if they do they have everything!

Disliked: The key cards! The only bad thing! Please make it work better/faster!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thanks for your great feedback! We can learn a lot from your experience with us, so we really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out.

Unfortunately we don't have a laundry ourselves, but there are a couple of self service laundries within 2 minutes walking from us.

Our key cards need a little bit attention and love sometimes, but they do work! And otherwise there is 24/7 someone here to help you out.

Thanks again for your time! Safe travels.

The Flying Pig

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The bed was very comfy, the vibe was great as was the breakfast and smoking room. There's a bar which is fun and the rooms were very warm (nice in winter!) I really liked how they offered us a Christmas dinner option for a good price on xmas day, very thoughtful for travellers. The toilets and showers were spotless.

Disliked: Service at the bar was quite slow and for such a big hostel and only 1 person at reception, checking out proved time consuming.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: brilliant atmosphere and a lovely reception with a very good social aspect

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the bar, the breakfast was really ok for a hostel

Disliked: the stairs :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

We indeed have a lot of stairs, but there is also an elevator! Have you seen it?

Thanks again and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Safe travels!

Cheers
The Flying Pig

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Very loud at night when sleeping On the first floor above the bar, even with ear plugs

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing location and the staff are very friendly and helpful, lots to do in the evening from the smoke room, to movies, pool table and a fouzeball table!

Disliked: The room smelt terribly of sweat, and it was very loud...there are assigned cages under the beds for your bags but there small so by the time I checked in mine was already taken

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cool atmosphere. Friendly staff. great location!

Disliked: Changing rates.higher on weekend! :(

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This is the ultimate Amsterdam backpacker experience right at the centre of the city, five minutes from Centraal Station. It has a excellent, well priced bar, pool table, smokers room with relaxing chairs, an excellent breakfast included in the price. The bar area turns into a lively place to be after dark and only hostel guests can use it so it doesn't get rammed even on Friday and Saturday nights. It's clean, there's free wifi and a laptop you can borrow for free, it's clean and safe. This is not a place for a relaxing or romantic weekend. This is a party place so remember that when booking. That said, the rooms were quiet even when the music was on and most of the guests there seemed like seasoned travellers that respected out people's space and experience.

Disliked: Accomodation is expensive in Amsterstam do perhaps I'm being unfair but this is the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed at but you do get a lot for it. The place is very clean but around mid/late morning the staff come in an clean the rooms. When I say staff, I mean it seems like the whole staff are in and out, each with their own tiny role. A little bit more sleeping/hang over time would be good.Some of - not all, mind - off the staff are a little bit too cool for their own good. I guess they're living the dream.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Love the super central location, it's literally 5 minutes away from Central Station, which has tons of tram and bus lines, and the Metro. It's also in close proximity to everything else you might want - coffeeshops, smartshops, actual shops. The street it's on, Nieuwendijk also has H&M, Bershka, HEMA (dutch chain store, kinda like a Tescos/supermarket but way prettier), Etos (like Boots/drugstore), some other clothing chains and this amazing Spirits store next to Etos.Love the smoking room and the super chilled vibe. Not as much as i love the swinging hammock seat downstairs!The beds were clean and pretty comfy, and it's pretty much really safe for a hostel.Lockers, food and drink and cigarette machines were so convenient! And the staff are always super helpful. I was waiting for my train which was about an hour after checkout, and rented a locker so i could go out, last minute souvenir shopping, and the receptionist recognized me when i got back and let me in right away. Pretty awesome.Love that you can rent a laptop for 1 Euro per half hour, and it's pretty fast laptop as well.It was really easy to meet people, and there were so many different types of people too, like chilled people or people were great to go out at night with.The hostel is really big on things to do, and the walking tour does pick ups in the morning, and they can recommend tons of places to go or where to rent bikes. Love the map and guide they give when you check in, super useful.Definitely going back to this hostel next time i go to Amsterdam.

Disliked: One of the showers, first from the right, doesn't work and is stuck on a really high temperature.The bar area isn't very big.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability