HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.22USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

Showing 51-32 of 32 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: 조식이 푸짐하고, 크루들도 모두 친절하다. 중앙역에서 매우 가깝고 길찾기도 쉽다.

Disliked: 와이파이가 콸콸콸 터지지 않았다. 애플ios 때문인가??

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Backpacking around europe on and off over the last few years and the downtown hostel was one of the best hostels I've encountered. The staff are more than friendly, the atmosphere is superb and location is perfect for going anywhere around the city. The hostel is perfectly safe (with secure key only entrance, lockers and lockable storage under the beds) meant that I always felt safe and all my stuff was safe when unattended. I will stay here again when I return to Amsterdam!

Disliked: The cat didn't like me!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Proximity to stationWiFiCleanAffirdable

Disliked: Noise of bar downstairs

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The free breakfast was good. Having a lift up to the floors was a nice find. The smoking room was handy because it was cold outside. The staff were nice and friendly. Good location and easy to find.

Disliked: The room key swipe cards were very tempremental. The under bed lockers were too big for my lock so i had to buy another. The internet is only on 1 level and not very strong. The beds all had a plastic layer so it felt like u were going to slide out of bed all night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The most amazing happy room, friendly staff. As social as you want it to be. But the rooms are quiet mad comfortable. The hostel balances it's party atmosphere well with being a place where you can get a restful sleep. And the location is unbeatable. Will not even consider staying elsewhere in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Can't think of anything... maybe the kitchen can do with a new microwave as this one wasn't too functional! But I'm being picky!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: the staff was quite helpful, the smoking rooms totally served its purpose (which is i think unique to this hostel), the room was quite large and the beds were comfy, good security with three checks from outside to the hostel room, also nice friendly atmosphere all among the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: One of the best hostels I´ve stay´d at. Do they have a loundry service? Didn´t need one this trip but if they do they have everything!

Disliked: The key cards! The only bad thing! Please make it work better/faster!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thanks for your great feedback! We can learn a lot from your experience with us, so we really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out.

Unfortunately we don't have a laundry ourselves, but there are a couple of self service laundries within 2 minutes walking from us.

Our key cards need a little bit attention and love sometimes, but they do work! And otherwise there is 24/7 someone here to help you out.

Thanks again for your time! Safe travels.

The Flying Pig

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The bed was very comfy, the vibe was great as was the breakfast and smoking room. There's a bar which is fun and the rooms were very warm (nice in winter!) I really liked how they offered us a Christmas dinner option for a good price on xmas day, very thoughtful for travellers. The toilets and showers were spotless.

Disliked: Service at the bar was quite slow and for such a big hostel and only 1 person at reception, checking out proved time consuming.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: brilliant atmosphere and a lovely reception with a very good social aspect

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the bar, the breakfast was really ok for a hostel

Disliked: the stairs :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

We indeed have a lot of stairs, but there is also an elevator! Have you seen it?

Thanks again and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Safe travels!

Cheers
The Flying Pig

Check Availability