HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwendijk 100, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

84.7% Overall Rating

404 out of 450 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

Gary Lum thinks…

"Nice big lockers to keep items safe and a socket at the front of each bed for charging phones etc."

Read all The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.27

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
46.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews
Dam Hotel
46.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
Amsterdam Mr.Beans Bed and Breakfast
40.19 USD

Hostel 47.4% 5 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
33.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Continental City Centre
26.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 118 reviews
Season Star
80.39 USD

Hotel 62.9% 88 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
53.59 USD

Apartment 78.3% 20 reviews
Travel Hotel
30.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

404 out of 450 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 320 of 346 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jon Friedman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2011 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: The Flying Pig was great. The staff is very nice and the hostel itself is a good and chill time. If you're an easy going person you will love it. Definitely coming back.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was really good

Disliked: the stairs are pretty bad

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere. Most of the people hanging out in the bar were part time employees that stayed on the property. They were very welcoming.

Disliked: Not the best shower facilities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmin Tapala

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Absolutely the greatest hostel i've ever visited, the staff was so wonderful. I just loved hanging out at the hostel's bar and met so many awesome people there. The hostel was also right in the centre, so everything was in a walking distance. I recommend this place to all travellers who want to have a great hostel experience in Amsterdam!

Disliked: Loved everything about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people at the bar and the staff are friendly and easy going. Location is excellent. It is within walking distance of all the sites and easy to get to and from Amsterdam Central station on foot. Good free breakfast and Wi Fi included.

Disliked: As advertised this is a party hostel so think going looking for a quiet night. Most of the rooms have en suites, except for our room, which was annoying the it meant there was only one toilet on our floor and the shower wasn't that clean but hey it could be worse, it is a hostel after all with a lot of people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central

Disliked: The chill-out (and smoke) area is smaller than it used to be...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good accomodation, very good location , friendly staff , good breakfast :)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Findlay

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2011 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, value for money, friendly place

Disliked: You can only smoke in the smoking room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Willem de Bruijn

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2011 Willem would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast with fresh oranges, eggs, raisin bread and coffee free to take, an awesome late night bar, chill smoking room and great staff. Ready made beds and towels to borrow!

Disliked: Beware of some of the clientele: one of my dear roommates had puked when I entered the room at 2 am and another had taken my towel before I woke up. Ah, well: part of the charm of one of europe's most (in)famous hostels.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

William Glenn

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: How it fits in perfectly with the city atmosphere! The wall paintings for sure! Hard boiled eggs came with the breakfast and the espresso was surprisingly good.

Disliked: Due to the party nature, 2 out of 4 nights we had a hard time sleeping because of people having full on loud conversations at like 3am. But it's tough...that's just gonna happen I guess because it's in the middle of all the action.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, lockers in the room.

Disliked: My room is on the ground floor, where the bar is just infront and the smoking lounge behind the wall. The smell of pots and cigarettes is all over the room, which is really unfair for people who don't smoke. And it's so noisy in the bar don't ever think of getting to sleep until late at night when they slightly turn down the music. And the bathrooms are located on the basement! Which means you have to walk very very far to shower and they never turn on the heater in the bathrooms it is freezing cold once you step out from the shower cubicles. The bathrooms are also quite filthy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Shannon Ford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to the central train station and a great location in general. The security was safe. The bar was lively and a great way to meet people. The beds were super comfortable with individual lights.

Disliked: The toliets and showers were not clean. It was absolutely gross. There were only two showers for everyone to use so we had to wait a long time to use the gross shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010

Liked: Good facilities - kitchen, bar, wifi, smoking room. Nice rooms, well heated with comfy beds.

Disliked: it was overstaffed by a plethora of unprofessional, cliquey, elitist and disrespectful people. They gave it a high school / frat party feel. They were omnipresent and spent the majority of time complaining loudly about guests while in front of other guests. Cleaning a room is apparently a twelve person job at this hostel, requiring a dozen different potheads going in and out bedrooms all day. Seriously, they went around in teams of two to change one roll of toilet paper, all the while whining about how difficult and disgusting their job was. Its a shame that the place is clearly being mismanaged, because the facilities and location are amazing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: We paid 30 Euro for a 32 bed dorm, most expensive in Europe but we thought it would be really good. We were so dissappointed. We don't usually complain about hostels but we really disliked this place. It has a good bar and would be good to meet people but that is about it. The room was stinking hot and we were only given duvets (or doona's if you are Australian) and it was ridiculously hot! The room stunk like crap as there was one tiny window, it was really loud with 32 people coming in and out. The toliets stunk so badly and were really unclean!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Rust

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Great smoking room, fun place to meet people

Disliked: Breakfast could have been on longer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danielle Leduc

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great place to smoke. Everything on site!

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ismail Sayeed

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

12 November 2010 Ismail would recommend this property

Liked: smoking lounge

Disliked: small dampy bathrooms and crappy showers

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2010

Liked: Muy buena ubicación.

Disliked: Los ambientes muy sucios. Los baños y las habitaciones. Casi nunca puedes utilizar internet porque tienen 2 o 3 maquinas para cientos de personas que se hospedan ahi. Y el staff no es para nada amable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location with a friendly staff that were willing to help you with anything you needed, including food recommendations and directions to museums and such.

Disliked: Honestly, I didn't dislike anything. I had a great time and the atmosphere was awesome. Not a hostel for those who have a problem with loud music/smoking though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff and bar/smoke area, great people and lots of good times.

Disliked: rooms were cramped and facilities were minimal

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In my last visit to Amsterdam, I both stayed in Bulldog and Flying Pig Downtown. First 2 days I stayed in Bulldog and last 2 days I stayed in Flying Pig. I know that people are getting confused to choose which one to stay, so I wrote the differences of them.Rooms:In Bulldog, rooms are newer than Pig, bathroom conditions are better. But Pig is also alright to stay, I got no problem.And do not bring your towels, both hostels are giving you towels for free when you ask to them.Safety:Both hostels use pass cards for rooms, so foreigners cannot access to the rooms. Both hostels have lockers in the rooms, so you can lock your private things with your own padlock (or you buy one from there). But do not expect to lock you all luggage. They don't fit to lockers. But also in Bulldog, the luggage rooms is getting locked, in your last day, you can leave your luggage after check out and make your last walks in the city till to you departure time..Breakfast:They are same which is not so good, but still you can eat and skip one meal in a day for saving money.Location:Both hostels locations are great: in the city center.Atmosphere:The music in Flying Pig is much better than Bulldog, absoluty! Pig is playing alternative tunes, no commercial ones. Also smoking room is separate in Pig, which is also great for me. But its not like a little cellar, it's a nice chill smoking room with lounge corners. In Bulldog, people can smoke in everywhere. Atmosphere in Pig is more housy and hot but also in Bulldog, I love the fireplace corner with large leather coaches. I enjoyed the Pig's atmosphere much more.. but this also depends to time and to other travelers around you met.. so this does not mean that Bulldog won't be better sometimes..Bulldog is having it's own coffeeshop which is one of the very famous in city, maybe this can be an advantage for someones..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karen Stewart

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

26 October 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very friendly and great atmosphere. It's central and definitely the party place! Loved the smoking room and the bar. We stayed in t 32 bedded dorm and would stay there again. Comfy, warm and clean beds! Staff all helpful and friendly. Even made it to breakfast - simple but great :)

Disliked: The only think i could fault was the toilet facilities... They were quite bad and smelly! There was a female only toilet which was clean and smelt fresh until later on in the evening when the guys started using it too. Could really do with more of them too. Still had a great stay and will be back!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Paolo Cadiz Bedini

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2010 Andrew Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: central, easy to find and vibey!

Disliked: not the cleanest place around, but for a night or two is cool :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: some people got moved around more than they wanted.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stuff, great location, good atmosphere

Disliked: all night party..too loud to sleep