HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.24USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 81%

Showing 41-36 of 36 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: Weak breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -Good atmosphere-Nice people-Nice breakfast

Disliked: -Expensive

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: When i went to check in, i realized that i had lost my passport/atm card/money. A nightmare come true..and Charlie at the reception desk was sooo sweet and helpful and gave me a beer to help settle me down..Thank you charlie! the rest of the staff were great and the atmosphere there was amazing..smoking room with pillows to relax on?? awesome! i really enjoyed this place and will definitely come back again..i met some really amazing people and had a blast..definitely recommend the pig..

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: i like flying pig! think she has this certain spirit associated with hostel living...its not 100% clean..yet v liveable, lively yet not overbearing and loud. it has v nice hip touches like flying pigs mural on their ceiling, and cosy worn sofas. indeed it is a hostel with character and hostelling spirit!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Chilled out vibe. Friendly atmosphere (staff and guests). Bar and smoking area top notch.

Disliked: No seating in rooms - difficult to perch off end of a bunk bed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Brilliant atmosphere. Cheap drink, food, lots to do in the evening. Great location. Less than two mins away from the train station and the high street. Very secure. Big lockers in th rooms , take your own padlock though! Very clean, good showers an toilets. Designed for youths.

Disliked: Party goes on all night, and I went to bed after a long day early one night, and couldn't get to sleep till very late. If you go be prepared to stay up with everyone all night cause you won't get a good nights sleep anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: 조식이 푸짐하고, 크루들도 모두 친절하다. 중앙역에서 매우 가깝고 길찾기도 쉽다.

Disliked: 와이파이가 콸콸콸 터지지 않았다. 애플ios 때문인가??

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Backpacking around europe on and off over the last few years and the downtown hostel was one of the best hostels I've encountered. The staff are more than friendly, the atmosphere is superb and location is perfect for going anywhere around the city. The hostel is perfectly safe (with secure key only entrance, lockers and lockable storage under the beds) meant that I always felt safe and all my stuff was safe when unattended. I will stay here again when I return to Amsterdam!

Disliked: The cat didn't like me!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Proximity to stationWiFiCleanAffirdable

Disliked: Noise of bar downstairs

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The free breakfast was good. Having a lift up to the floors was a nice find. The smoking room was handy because it was cold outside. The staff were nice and friendly. Good location and easy to find.

Disliked: The room key swipe cards were very tempremental. The under bed lockers were too big for my lock so i had to buy another. The internet is only on 1 level and not very strong. The beds all had a plastic layer so it felt like u were going to slide out of bed all night.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability