HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.22USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

Showing 41-31 of 31 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: atmosphereBar

Disliked: Internet signal at our room was poor

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The bar area was nice and opened until late selling cheap drinks. Beds are comfortable and the fellow travelers staying there were quite nice too, maybe because this is not the cheapest hostel in Amsterdam. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great location.

Disliked: As the place is right in the city centre, you could have some dodgy people on the streets during the night however the location is great as you're close to everything. The carpet in the room seemed dirty even after the cleaning team passed by. The shower in my room was the worst I've ever had in a hostel (tiny, with water splashing everywhere) and there was nothing (apart from a crappy shower curtain) stopping the water to go all over the sink, toilet, etc. If you need the toilet after someone had a shower, you have to dry everything with toilet paper. I'm sure it doesn't cost more than 100 euros to change the shower head and put something to stop the water going everywhere on the floor so I think this is not acceptable for a hostel that charges around 35 euros per night for a shared bedroom with dozens of people! Breakfast could also be a bit better.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent facilities and helpful staff. The description provided by the hostel is completely true

Disliked: Breakfast could have a little more variety

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice bar with good atmosphere, friendly staff. They rent out towels and give free ear plugs. It's very close to the center and they have an elevator, which is not so common in Amsterdam and was very helpful.

Disliked: The heating in my room wasn't working properly, it was noisy and not heating as we would like, but it wasn't a big problem.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: Weak breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -Good atmosphere-Nice people-Nice breakfast

Disliked: -Expensive

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: When i went to check in, i realized that i had lost my passport/atm card/money. A nightmare come true..and Charlie at the reception desk was sooo sweet and helpful and gave me a beer to help settle me down..Thank you charlie! the rest of the staff were great and the atmosphere there was amazing..smoking room with pillows to relax on?? awesome! i really enjoyed this place and will definitely come back again..i met some really amazing people and had a blast..definitely recommend the pig..

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: i like flying pig! think she has this certain spirit associated with hostel living...its not 100% clean..yet v liveable, lively yet not overbearing and loud. it has v nice hip touches like flying pigs mural on their ceiling, and cosy worn sofas. indeed it is a hostel with character and hostelling spirit!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Chilled out vibe. Friendly atmosphere (staff and guests). Bar and smoking area top notch.

Disliked: No seating in rooms - difficult to perch off end of a bunk bed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Brilliant atmosphere. Cheap drink, food, lots to do in the evening. Great location. Less than two mins away from the train station and the high street. Very secure. Big lockers in th rooms , take your own padlock though! Very clean, good showers an toilets. Designed for youths.

Disliked: Party goes on all night, and I went to bed after a long day early one night, and couldn't get to sleep till very late. If you go be prepared to stay up with everyone all night cause you won't get a good nights sleep anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability