We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwendijk 100, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

91.0% Overall Rating

414 out of 460 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

Robyn Windsor thinks…

"The smoking room is excellent. A great place to meet people. Excellent location. Friendly staff. It has a lift!!"

Read all The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.22

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Dam Hotel
44.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 324 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
44.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Continental City Centre
38.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews
Season Star
88.37 USD

Hotel 61.0% 89 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
44.18 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Travel Hotel
33.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.2% 769 reviews
Damrak Inn
46.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 352 reviews
Hostel Croydon
35.35 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

414 out of 460 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 356 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Soner Aydemir

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2011 Soner would recommend this property

Liked: Staff especially the girls at the reception were very friendly

Disliked: 4bed Room was too small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, helpful staff, 24hr reception and the keycard system. Relaxed

Disliked: My rented towel disappeared after one night?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun with good atmosphere and good bar

Disliked: beds not made on arrival

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere

Disliked: layout a little confusing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect

Disliked: it´s not to clean but it´s ok

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jon Friedman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2011 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: The Flying Pig was great. The staff is very nice and the hostel itself is a good and chill time. If you're an easy going person you will love it. Definitely coming back.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was really good

Disliked: the stairs are pretty bad

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere. Most of the people hanging out in the bar were part time employees that stayed on the property. They were very welcoming.

Disliked: Not the best shower facilities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmin Tapala

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Absolutely the greatest hostel i've ever visited, the staff was so wonderful. I just loved hanging out at the hostel's bar and met so many awesome people there. The hostel was also right in the centre, so everything was in a walking distance. I recommend this place to all travellers who want to have a great hostel experience in Amsterdam!

Disliked: Loved everything about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people at the bar and the staff are friendly and easy going. Location is excellent. It is within walking distance of all the sites and easy to get to and from Amsterdam Central station on foot. Good free breakfast and Wi Fi included.

Disliked: As advertised this is a party hostel so think going looking for a quiet night. Most of the rooms have en suites, except for our room, which was annoying the it meant there was only one toilet on our floor and the shower wasn't that clean but hey it could be worse, it is a hostel after all with a lot of people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central

Disliked: The chill-out (and smoke) area is smaller than it used to be...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good accomodation, very good location , friendly staff , good breakfast :)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Findlay

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2011 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, value for money, friendly place

Disliked: You can only smoke in the smoking room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Willem de Bruijn

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2011 Willem would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast with fresh oranges, eggs, raisin bread and coffee free to take, an awesome late night bar, chill smoking room and great staff. Ready made beds and towels to borrow!

Disliked: Beware of some of the clientele: one of my dear roommates had puked when I entered the room at 2 am and another had taken my towel before I woke up. Ah, well: part of the charm of one of europe's most (in)famous hostels.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

William Glenn

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: How it fits in perfectly with the city atmosphere! The wall paintings for sure! Hard boiled eggs came with the breakfast and the espresso was surprisingly good.

Disliked: Due to the party nature, 2 out of 4 nights we had a hard time sleeping because of people having full on loud conversations at like 3am. But it's tough...that's just gonna happen I guess because it's in the middle of all the action.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, lockers in the room.

Disliked: My room is on the ground floor, where the bar is just infront and the smoking lounge behind the wall. The smell of pots and cigarettes is all over the room, which is really unfair for people who don't smoke. And it's so noisy in the bar don't ever think of getting to sleep until late at night when they slightly turn down the music. And the bathrooms are located on the basement! Which means you have to walk very very far to shower and they never turn on the heater in the bathrooms it is freezing cold once you step out from the shower cubicles. The bathrooms are also quite filthy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Shannon Ford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to the central train station and a great location in general. The security was safe. The bar was lively and a great way to meet people. The beds were super comfortable with individual lights.

Disliked: The toliets and showers were not clean. It was absolutely gross. There were only two showers for everyone to use so we had to wait a long time to use the gross shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010

Liked: Good facilities - kitchen, bar, wifi, smoking room. Nice rooms, well heated with comfy beds.

Disliked: it was overstaffed by a plethora of unprofessional, cliquey, elitist and disrespectful people. They gave it a high school / frat party feel. They were omnipresent and spent the majority of time complaining loudly about guests while in front of other guests. Cleaning a room is apparently a twelve person job at this hostel, requiring a dozen different potheads going in and out bedrooms all day. Seriously, they went around in teams of two to change one roll of toilet paper, all the while whining about how difficult and disgusting their job was. Its a shame that the place is clearly being mismanaged, because the facilities and location are amazing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: We paid 30 Euro for a 32 bed dorm, most expensive in Europe but we thought it would be really good. We were so dissappointed. We don't usually complain about hostels but we really disliked this place. It has a good bar and would be good to meet people but that is about it. The room was stinking hot and we were only given duvets (or doona's if you are Australian) and it was ridiculously hot! The room stunk like crap as there was one tiny window, it was really loud with 32 people coming in and out. The toliets stunk so badly and were really unclean!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Rust

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Great smoking room, fun place to meet people

Disliked: Breakfast could have been on longer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danielle Leduc

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great place to smoke. Everything on site!

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ismail Sayeed

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

12 November 2010 Ismail would recommend this property

Liked: smoking lounge

Disliked: small dampy bathrooms and crappy showers

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2010

Liked: Muy buena ubicación.

Disliked: Los ambientes muy sucios. Los baños y las habitaciones. Casi nunca puedes utilizar internet porque tienen 2 o 3 maquinas para cientos de personas que se hospedan ahi. Y el staff no es para nada amable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location with a friendly staff that were willing to help you with anything you needed, including food recommendations and directions to museums and such.

Disliked: Honestly, I didn't dislike anything. I had a great time and the atmosphere was awesome. Not a hostel for those who have a problem with loud music/smoking though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff and bar/smoke area, great people and lots of good times.

Disliked: rooms were cramped and facilities were minimal