HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwendijk 100, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

85.4% Overall Rating

406 out of 452 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

Clare Metcalfe thinks…

"The hostel had a great atmosphere and location and the staff were happy to go out of their way to help you."

Read all The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.25

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
30.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
24.04 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Continental City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Season Star
37.95 USD

Hotel 62.9% 88 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
50.60 USD

Apartment 78.3% 20 reviews
Travel Hotel
17.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 718 reviews
Damrak Inn
23.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

406 out of 452 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 321 of 348 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jumana Rizwan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 November 2011 Jumana would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located and great atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, good bar. This hostel has a party atmosphere and is perfect if you're visiting Amsterdam with that agenda, either as a group or on your own. There is a 'coffee shop' directly opposite.

Disliked: Its very noisy, so it can be difficlult getting to sleep. The lockers are cages under the bed - their security is slightly questionable, but more annoying is the noise made when you open them and other room mates are trying to sleep! This hostel is quite expensive - but it is Amsterdam.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the chill atmosphere. Can't beat a great bar and a chill smoke room! The location was excellent, right in the middle of everything. It wasn't easy sleeping with the noise from the other roommates, but its a hostel so that's understandable. The beds were SO comfortable though. and the noise from the rest of the hostel was easily heard from the rooms. Overall the place was clean, which is always a nice quality for a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing really. This place was really awesome overall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia Fenwick

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 October 2011 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere and nearly all of the staff were awesome. would definately go back :)

Disliked: that i didn't get to stay longer!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Slepchuk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 October 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome bar area. They also have lockers for rent, which was nice. Great location downtown.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location very near to the central station. Nice prices at the bar ,the atmosphere of the smoking room was pretty awesome, they also rent netbooks with 1E/half hour which was interesting.

Disliked: the smoking room should be bigger for a hostel of such size

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

sean kennedy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 October 2011 sean would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a very good location from the main train station and has a very nice bar with relaxing smoking room and pool table! Daily drink specials!

Disliked: The beds are exactly 194cm so if your a tall person your feet with be hitting the end of the bed. One of the beds needed some lube because every time he would move, every one will be woken up from the noise it made. No internet in our room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Augustus Burghardt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Marcus Augustus would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel. I would like that all Hostels look like this one.

Disliked: Nothing to complain.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011

Liked: I like the staff service, very nice and helpful.

Disliked: My room was very dirty and it smelled pretty bad the 2 night I stayed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Winston Mitchell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Winston would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Best hostel I have stayed at yet. Cool, friendly people, great staff, fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Cant say I have bad comments about this place. 2 thumbs up!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok

Disliked: Excellent

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a really great social enviornent and very inexpensive (32 queen size beds)

Disliked: It seemed like the staff was too busy handling all the guests entering and leaving, that there wasn't a lot of time to ask for advice about the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maya Pennington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 May 2011 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: Flying Pig is great, I had a blast there. It is more of a party atmosphere on some nights but that was perfectly fine with me! The staff was always friendly and helpful, location was great and easy to find. I definitely recommend this place to travelers who are looking to meet fun people and have a good time. They also cleaned the entire place from top to bottom every morning, and they had a great breakfast. I love the Flying PIg!

Disliked: Nothing,

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station

Disliked: The staff was not particularly friendly. They had smiles on their faces, but the feeling was like they were rushing you out of the front desk area. The reception area made a mistake on my bed #. When I went down to tell them there was a problem, they didn't really believe me...as if I can't read where it is clearly marked "BED #".

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good faciities, clean sheets, clean facilities, good location

Disliked: bad smell in the room, staff not particularly friendly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved everything. the kitchen, the bar, the nice staff, the other visitors.. had an amazing time. thank you guys :)

Disliked: its not the best comfort, but its clean, central and cool people there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011

Liked: I was traveling through Europe with a friend mainly with the objective of visiting new places, meeting people and having fun without expending too much money. When visiting Amsterdam we stayed in this hostel mainly because we were told that it was a good one, but we found out that it depends on what you are looking. The good things about the place where: 1. Location, excellent, close to the train station, in the middle of the center (Amsterdam is small), could walk to any place 2. Staff: really nice and willing to help

Disliked: The reason why I said that is good or not depending on what you are looking for is because we found that most of the people in this hostel are there for "smoking", or going to coffee shops, so don't expect to much interaction if you are in other mood, but if your plan is the same, go there, for that it's the right place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawna Goleski

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Shawna would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location, nice staff, decent enough breakfast, each bed had it's own outlet. overall excellent.

Disliked: my roommates... although that is nothing they can control. there was a balcony in the room so they went out there to smoke with the door open... blowing it all right back in. also layout a biut confusing the first time but not too bad once you figured it out.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

achmad supardi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2011 achmad would recommend this property

Liked: The room is clean and tidy, including the shower. I stayed in a room for 4 people with ensuite shower, so I have no idea about the communal shower.

Disliked: The stairs too narrow and the lift should be improved, although it was not a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location were excellent - slept surprisingly well for first time in a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Soner Aydemir

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2011 Soner would recommend this property

Liked: Staff especially the girls at the reception were very friendly

Disliked: 4bed Room was too small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, helpful staff, 24hr reception and the keycard system. Relaxed

Disliked: My rented towel disappeared after one night?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun with good atmosphere and good bar

Disliked: beds not made on arrival

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere

Disliked: layout a little confusing