HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.24USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 79%

Showing 31-35 of 35 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, really friendly and helpfull staff. In a very good location in the city, this hostel is perfect for young travellers and party goers.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfect location: in the city center and neaer by the main train station; good breakfast

Disliked: Big and many people; WiFi doesn't work in the rooms at the 3rd floor.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: geniunely friendly staff, good facilities

Disliked: the narrow staircases

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location only. That is why I picked this hostel.

Disliked: I have been to over 100 hostels over the last 20 years, this has been the worst one by far.


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you took the time to fill it out.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, we will contact you personally to
get more information about your stay.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Cheers,

The Flying Pig

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The amount they charge for a mixed 4 bed room is too much for what you get for.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Lockers were not secure

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was my first stay at a hostel, and it was one of the best experiences I've ever had. The staff were so helpful and couldn't have had a better time.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: atmosphereBar

Disliked: Internet signal at our room was poor

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The bar area was nice and opened until late selling cheap drinks. Beds are comfortable and the fellow travelers staying there were quite nice too, maybe because this is not the cheapest hostel in Amsterdam. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great location.

Disliked: As the place is right in the city centre, you could have some dodgy people on the streets during the night however the location is great as you're close to everything. The carpet in the room seemed dirty even after the cleaning team passed by. The shower in my room was the worst I've ever had in a hostel (tiny, with water splashing everywhere) and there was nothing (apart from a crappy shower curtain) stopping the water to go all over the sink, toilet, etc. If you need the toilet after someone had a shower, you have to dry everything with toilet paper. I'm sure it doesn't cost more than 100 euros to change the shower head and put something to stop the water going everywhere on the floor so I think this is not acceptable for a hostel that charges around 35 euros per night for a shared bedroom with dozens of people! Breakfast could also be a bit better.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent facilities and helpful staff. The description provided by the hostel is completely true

Disliked: Breakfast could have a little more variety

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability