HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.22USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 31 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Staff was awesome

Disliked: Bed linen is gross. Stains and holes. I dont know if they even change the linen between people. Whoever comes to clean the bathroom...sucks!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: One of the worst hostels - beds are too close together, bathrooms are gross and the lockers under the bed area cages.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Beds were comfortable, friendly stuff and atmosphere, great bar

Disliked: Everything was ok

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved this hostel, such a good relaxed vibe with both a bar and smoking room! The smoking room was open all night so it was definitely a fun time! So many cool people at the hostel. Also a great location being so close to Amsterdam Centraal

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: LEGENDARY Hostel. Learned a lot about myself in this city. Also the staff is very friendly and helpful. They go above and below to make you happy and comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Muito bem localizado

Disliked: sem comentários

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The smoking room is excellent. A great place to meet people. Excellent location. Friendly staff. It has a lift!!

Disliked: If I HAD to say something I would say that they need more day lockers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us a little bit about your stay! We are glad that you enjoyed the smoking room and found it a great place to meet people. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff, we will be sure to pass on your kind words, they love to hear this :) You will be pleased to know that we are in the process of placing larger lockers in the hallway for over-sized luggage as an addition to the ones there at present ;) .
Take care, happy travels! Piggies

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is very friendly and proper. It has enough space for my belongings and I felt safe and welcome.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review. We really appreciate this. We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff smiling and helpful, good location and good wifi signal, breakfast is normal exactly like what is offered in St christopher'inn, another hostel nearby.

Disliked: Beds aren't comfortable, they make noise. My light beside bed doesn't work, some plugs are out of work. Bar downstairs a little bit noisy during festival but room of high floor is quiet. A bit too expensive for a hostel like that maybe because of the high peak season

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. We are glad to hear you liked our hostel and the staff members, we will make sure they will get to read your message as well. We checked your booking and made sure the bed and the bed light are checked out by our maintenance.

We hope to see you back some day!

Cheers, The Flying Piggies

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We really appreciate it that you took the time to let us know about your stay. It is great to read you enjoyed everything and there was nothing that you disliked. We hope to see you back at the Pig some day!

Happy travels.

Cheers,

The Flying Pig Downtown

Check Availability