We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel

Hostel | Nieuwendijk 100, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

91.0% Overall Rating

414 out of 460 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

Robyn Windsor thinks…

"The smoking room is excellent. A great place to meet people. Excellent location. Friendly staff. It has a lift!!"

Read all The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.22

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Dam Hotel
43.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 324 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
32.92 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Continental City Centre
38.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews
Season Star
87.80 USD

Hotel 61.0% 89 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
43.90 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews
Travel Hotel
32.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.9% 768 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 352 reviews
Hostel Croydon
35.12 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

414 out of 460 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 356 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aline De maria

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 May 2013 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area was nice and opened until late selling cheap drinks. Beds are comfortable and the fellow travelers staying there were quite nice too, maybe because this is not the cheapest hostel in Amsterdam. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great location.

Disliked: As the place is right in the city centre, you could have some dodgy people on the streets during the night however the location is great as you're close to everything. The carpet in the room seemed dirty even after the cleaning team passed by. The shower in my room was the worst I've ever had in a hostel (tiny, with water splashing everywhere) and there was nothing (apart from a crappy shower curtain) stopping the water to go all over the sink, toilet, etc. If you need the toilet after someone had a shower, you have to dry everything with toilet paper. I'm sure it doesn't cost more than 100 euros to change the shower head and put something to stop the water going everywhere on the floor so I think this is not acceptable for a hostel that charges around 35 euros per night for a shared bedroom with dozens of people! Breakfast could also be a bit better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simit Pradhan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Simit would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities and helpful staff. The description provided by the hostel is completely true

Disliked: Breakfast could have a little more variety

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luisa Santiago Contreiras B Silva

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar with good atmosphere, friendly staff. They rent out towels and give free ear plugs. It's very close to the center and they have an elevator, which is not so common in Amsterdam and was very helpful.

Disliked: The heating in my room wasn't working properly, it was noisy and not heating as we would like, but it wasn't a big problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brenden Spangler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Brenden would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: Weak breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Good atmosphere -Nice people -Nice breakfast

Disliked: -Expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Bell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: When i went to check in, i realized that i had lost my passport/atm card/money. A nightmare come true..and Charlie at the reception desk was sooo sweet and helpful and gave me a beer to help settle me down..Thank you charlie! the rest of the staff were great and the atmosphere there was amazing..smoking room with pillows to relax on?? awesome! i really enjoyed this place and will definitely come back again..i met some really amazing people and had a blast..definitely recommend the pig..

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HEECHOUNG CHOUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 HEECHOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: 조식이 푸짐하고, 크루들도 모두 친절하다. 중앙역에서 매우 가깝고 길찾기도 쉽다.

Disliked: 와이파이가 콸콸콸 터지지 않았다. 애플ios 때문인가??

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Johnson

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out vibe. Friendly atmosphere (staff and guests). Bar and smoking area top notch.

Disliked: No seating in rooms - difficult to perch off end of a bunk bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Sharkey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant atmosphere. Cheap drink, food, lots to do in the evening. Great location. Less than two mins away from the train station and the high street. Very secure. Big lockers in th rooms , take your own padlock though! Very clean, good showers an toilets. Designed for youths.

Disliked: Party goes on all night, and I went to bed after a long day early one night, and couldn't get to sleep till very late. If you go be prepared to stay up with everyone all night cause you won't get a good nights sleep anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tze choong Charn

Alone

City break

10 March 2013 Tze choong would recommend this property

Liked: i like flying pig! think she has this certain spirit associated with hostel living...its not 100% clean..yet v liveable, lively yet not overbearing and loud. it has v nice hip touches like flying pigs mural on their ceiling, and cosy worn sofas. indeed it is a hostel with character and hostelling spirit!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander David Campbell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 February 2013 Alexander David would recommend this property

Liked: Backpacking around europe on and off over the last few years and the downtown hostel was one of the best hostels I've encountered. The staff are more than friendly, the atmosphere is superb and location is perfect for going anywhere around the city. The hostel is perfectly safe (with secure key only entrance, lockers and lockable storage under the beds) meant that I always felt safe and all my stuff was safe when unattended. I will stay here again when I return to Amsterdam!

Disliked: The cat didn't like me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to station WiFi Clean Affirdable

Disliked: Noise of bar downstairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was good. Having a lift up to the floors was a nice find. The smoking room was handy because it was cold outside. The staff were nice and friendly. Good location and easy to find.

Disliked: The room key swipe cards were very tempremental. The under bed lockers were too big for my lock so i had to buy another. The internet is only on 1 level and not very strong. The beds all had a plastic layer so it felt like u were going to slide out of bed all night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haseeb Mehta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Haseeb would recommend this property

Liked: The most amazing happy room, friendly staff. As social as you want it to be. But the rooms are quiet mad comfortable. The hostel balances it's party atmosphere well with being a place where you can get a restful sleep. And the location is unbeatable. Will not even consider staying elsewhere in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Can't think of anything... maybe the kitchen can do with a new microwave as this one wasn't too functional! But I'm being picky!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I´ve stay´d at. Do they have a loundry service? Didn´t need one this trip but if they do they have everything!

Disliked: The key cards! The only bad thing! Please make it work better/faster!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Soner Candas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 January 2013 Soner would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was quite helpful, the smoking rooms totally served its purpose (which is i think unique to this hostel), the room was quite large and the beds were comfy, good security with three checks from outside to the hostel room, also nice friendly atmosphere all among the hostel

Disliked: Soner left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Corrigan

Alone

City break

01 January 2013 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was very comfy, the vibe was great as was the breakfast and smoking room. There's a bar which is fun and the rooms were very warm (nice in winter!) I really liked how they offered us a Christmas dinner option for a good price on xmas day, very thoughtful for travellers. The toilets and showers were spotless.

Disliked: Service at the bar was quite slow and for such a big hostel and only 1 person at reception, checking out proved time consuming.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant atmosphere and a lovely reception with a very good social aspect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar, the breakfast was really ok for a hostel

Disliked: the stairs :)

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Very loud at night when sleeping On the first floor above the bar, even with ear plugs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vishal Sampat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Vishal would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere. Friendly staff. great location!

Disliked: Changing rates.higher on weekend! :(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and the staff are very friendly and helpful, lots to do in the evening from the smoke room, to movies, pool table and a fouzeball table!

Disliked: The room smelt terribly of sweat, and it was very loud...there are assigned cages under the beds for your bags but there small so by the time I checked in mine was already taken

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the ultimate Amsterdam backpacker experience right at the centre of the city, five minutes from Centraal Station. It has a excellent, well priced bar, pool table, smokers room with relaxing chairs, an excellent breakfast included in the price. The bar area turns into a lively place to be after dark and only hostel guests can use it so it doesn't get rammed even on Friday and Saturday nights. It's clean, there's free wifi and a laptop you can borrow for free, it's clean and safe. This is not a place for a relaxing or romantic weekend. This is a party place so remember that when booking. That said, the rooms were quiet even when the music was on and most of the guests there seemed like seasoned travellers that respected out people's space and experience.

Disliked: Accomodation is expensive in Amsterstam do perhaps I'm being unfair but this is the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed at but you do get a lot for it. The place is very clean but around mid/late morning the staff come in an clean the rooms. When I say staff, I mean it seems like the whole staff are in and out, each with their own tiny role. A little bit more sleeping/hang over time would be good. Some of - not all, mind - off the staff are a little bit too cool for their own good. I guess they're living the dream.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sahar Rachamim

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Sahar would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing. Nice people on the desk and wonderful people everywhere. Clean, safe and secure. I will definitely will be back.

Disliked: Hmm... nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love the super central location, it's literally 5 minutes away from Central Station, which has tons of tram and bus lines, and the Metro. It's also in close proximity to everything else you might want - coffeeshops, smartshops, actual shops. The street it's on, Nieuwendijk also has H&M, Bershka, HEMA (dutch chain store, kinda like a Tescos/supermarket but way prettier), Etos (like Boots/drugstore), some other clothing chains and this amazing Spirits store next to Etos. Love the smoking room and the super chilled vibe. Not as much as i love the swinging hammock seat downstairs! The beds were clean and pretty comfy, and it's pretty much really safe for a hostel. Lockers, food and drink and cigarette machines were so convenient! And the staff are always super helpful. I was waiting for my train which was about an hour after checkout, and rented a locker so i could go out, last minute souvenir shopping, and the receptionist recognized me when i got back and let me in right away. Pretty awesome. Love that you can rent a laptop for 1 Euro per half hour, and it's pretty fast laptop as well. It was really easy to meet people, and there were so many different types of people too, like chilled people or people were great to go out at night with. The hostel is really big on things to do, and the walking tour does pick ups in the morning, and they can recommend tons of places to go or where to rent bikes. Love the map and guide they give when you check in, super useful. Definitely going back to this hostel next time i go to Amsterdam.

Disliked: One of the showers, first from the right, doesn't work and is stuck on a really high temperature. The bar area isn't very big.