HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Pig Downtown Amsterdam Hostel

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 0.24USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available. For late check-in after 11pm, we require a €40 deposit in cash.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 79%

Showing 11-20 of 36 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved this hostel, such a good relaxed vibe with both a bar and smoking room! The smoking room was open all night so it was definitely a fun time! So many cool people at the hostel. Also a great location being so close to Amsterdam Centraal

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: LEGENDARY Hostel. Learned a lot about myself in this city. Also the staff is very friendly and helpful. They go above and below to make you happy and comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Muito bem localizado

Disliked: sem comentários

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The smoking room is excellent. A great place to meet people. Excellent location. Friendly staff. It has a lift!!

Disliked: If I HAD to say something I would say that they need more day lockers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us a little bit about your stay! We are glad that you enjoyed the smoking room and found it a great place to meet people. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff, we will be sure to pass on your kind words, they love to hear this :) You will be pleased to know that we are in the process of placing larger lockers in the hallway for over-sized luggage as an addition to the ones there at present ;) .
Take care, happy travels! Piggies

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is very friendly and proper. It has enough space for my belongings and I felt safe and welcome.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review. We really appreciate this. We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff smiling and helpful, good location and good wifi signal, breakfast is normal exactly like what is offered in St christopher'inn, another hostel nearby.

Disliked: Beds aren't comfortable, they make noise. My light beside bed doesn't work, some plugs are out of work. Bar downstairs a little bit noisy during festival but room of high floor is quiet. A bit too expensive for a hostel like that maybe because of the high peak season

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. We are glad to hear you liked our hostel and the staff members, we will make sure they will get to read your message as well. We checked your booking and made sure the bed and the bed light are checked out by our maintenance.

We hope to see you back some day!

Cheers, The Flying Piggies

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We really appreciate it that you took the time to let us know about your stay. It is great to read you enjoyed everything and there was nothing that you disliked. We hope to see you back at the Pig some day!

Happy travels.

Cheers,

The Flying Pig Downtown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel had a great atmosphere and location and the staff were happy to go out of their way to help you.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you so much for the great review. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you back soon :D

Safe travels!

Cheers,

The Flying Piggies

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff are friendly and have knowledge of the town.

Disliked: The Private rooms are too hot and barley any air as windows do not open enough.The place looks a little worn in. The price!!! Could get more facilities and services in hotel room then the private room.Also the facilities aren't large enough to cater for the amount of people staying at the hostel ie the smoking room or the sitting room outdoors out of the back.One more thing..BREAKFAST.. Very average compared to other hostels and is in the basement.


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thanks a lot for your feedback! We can learn a lot from it, so we really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out.
We are very sorry to read though, your experience with us was not what you expected.
Thank you for bringing the hot private room to our attention, our maintenance team installed ventilators straight away.

To learn more about your experience, we will contact you personally.

Safe travels,

The Flying Piggies

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had everything you needed and the layout is great with an awesome atmosphere.

Disliked: No wi-fi in our 2nd floor room, only a little bothered by that, being stoned in bed you'd obviously want to have a net browse there than trek downstairs; there is an elevator.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you so much for the high ratings! It is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
The WiFi used to be only available in the common area's but the next time you will be staying with us, you will be able to enjoy our WiFi throughout the entire building :D We recently upgraded it so everyone can use it in the rooms as well.

Hope to see you back some day!

Happy travels!

Cheers,

The Flying Pig

Check Availability