We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Khangsar Guest House

Guesthouse | P.O. Box: - 20976, Thamel, Chhetrapati, Kathmandu, Nepal Kathmandu, Nepal 20976

89.1% Overall Rating

73 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/09/2014)

Jeremy Wolhuter thinks…

"Dhana (the owner) is totally amazing!! we stayed here three different times and he sorted out all our transport, set us up with an awesome guide/porter for our Everest Base Camp trek. Very central,…"

Read all Khangsar Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kathmandu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kathmandu

Hotel tayoma
9.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Travelers Home
9.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Nepalaya
25.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Yala Peak
6.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Poon Hill
3.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Langsisha Guest House P. Ltd.
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 3 reviews
Stupa Guest House
8.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kathmandu Guest House
60.00 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

73 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khangsar Guest House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 79 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jeremy Wolhuter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Dhana (the owner) is totally amazing!! we stayed here three different times and he sorted out all our transport, set us up with an awesome guide/porter for our Everest Base Camp trek. Very central, not too noise for thamel, awesome staff, very safe to leave stuff. This is the place that you are looking for!

Disliked: Nothing - it was awesome!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robertus chandra wasiparwendo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 robertus chandra would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, good location, clean, the manager and staff very very helful. everything are good. free pick up from international airport was bonues for me. they even arrange me seightseeing and bus tickets to pokahara,

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Wiper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Best location, we got a free pickup from the airport and the hostel is situated right in the heart of the backpacking area. Our room was basic but clean and the showers were always hot. The services on offer were excellent-delicious breakfast and an amazing trip to Everest Base Camp with the owners company.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James O'Dea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Clean spacious rooms hot shower Geat helpful staff Central location. Cant fault this place for all services and price

Disliked: Cant fault anything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Yann Buisson-Bergeret

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2013

Liked: People

Disliked: Too noisy (inside Thamel)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Gardham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, helpful staff, big clean rooms, right by Thamel and close to Durbar Sq for all the eating, shopping and sightseeing. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lale c

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2013 lale would recommend this property

Liked: at first we stayed 2 days here,and after everest track we come back again stayed another 3 days. Raj was really helpful for lukla flight tickets and also trekking advises. breakfast is good too! we could store our luggage and laptops here for free while we were on trek for a week.

Disliked: lale left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Kwok Hung Tam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Simon Kwok Hung would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of the tourist area. Good-sized room and there is a travel agent on site. Helpful staff. Quiet surroundings and a roof top garden to chill out.

Disliked: The small restaurant offers a simple breakfast and I would like it to offer some simple meals as well. It is a suggestion and not a negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark zielke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2013 mark would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the location and friendly staff....the views are great and it's nicely tucked away from the crazyness of the rest of Thamel. I felt very safe....the owner arranged our whole trip! very thankful

Disliked: No problems

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yusuf Gokhan Satici

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Yusuf Gokhan would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in kahngsar for 4 nights and vey pleased to stay there. Raj is the best guy and he helped me to get a tour and I really enjoyed my time in Nepal.

Disliked: You might not find the rooms very clean but I think in Nepal it very normal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Raj is great, very helpful in answering questions regarding Kathmandu and trekking all over Nepal; the staff in general are courteous and responsive. Note that you can leave your bags here free while you travel around the country, and Raj can organize a free airport pickup if you give him advance notice by email.

Disliked: Rooms are not all in great condition, and hot water can occasionally be iffy - but this is pretty normal in Thamel (as are electricity cuts).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there is free wifi, staffs are nice.

Disliked: not at all

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Airport Pickup

Disliked: No hot water

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

David Holtan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location.

Disliked: Quite run down. Not particularly secure.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Sigurðsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cheap. Nice staff. They arranged a cheap trek to annapurna which was great all in all.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kavan Basra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2013 Kavan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Super Friendly staff, simple Accomodation with comfy bed and bathroom ensuite in pvt room. After a 20ish hours of transit from home to KTM airport it was the perfect stay before the start of my Annapurna Trek. came back to stay after trek as well! Airport pickup wasarranged and taken care of! Helpful Staff! Thank you very much Khangsar Guest House!

Disliked: none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHAHID MIRZA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2013 SHAHID would recommend this property

Liked: The property though conveniently located but the courtsey,friendliness and help of Mr, Raj , Mr Sunil at reception and Raj kumar who pick me up from airport. The place i enjoyed which is due to the owner that i came back again to this guest house before my departure.Mr. Raj and staff were always willingly helpfull to guide me arround kathmandu,I would deffinitely come again to this guest house.I wold recomend to all budget tourists that despite being centrally located it is peaceful and quiet and good value for money.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Sims

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: If you're going trekking this place is great as they can sort you out with a good trek. The trek we had was excellent and the guide/ porter we were given was also great.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Paul Vymeris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2013

Liked: The location was excellent and the staff were very friendly. They are very willing to help organize your entire stay in Nepal, if you show up without having made plans already. The roof terrace is a nice place to chill out on.

Disliked: The room was very old and warn out, the electricity was rarely on (so the fact that there is a TV is irrelevant) and the water in the sink permanently ran brown. I feel this guest house is overpriced because of this.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juanita Ingham

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Juanita would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome. Picked us up from the airport with no hassles. Rooms clean and neat. Value for money. I would definately recommend and in fact we stayed much longer than originally booked.

Disliked: Juanita left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful without being over attentive. I found the bed really comfortable which was a bonus after a long flight. Hot water and a powerful shower were much appreciated as was the wifi and help with booking my trip onwards.

Disliked: It isn't the cheapest - I paid $10 a night. But it was perfect for my first night in a new city.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

James Sowden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Simple place, but that's Kathmandu for ya. Raj is the man, he has great connections and really cares about the people staying at his hotel. Got me on a great trek, short notice and all. Really had a nice stay, even thought the place is no 4 seasons. But it's well worth the cost of a room.

Disliked: It's well maintained, but overall it one star quality.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pablo bustamante

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 March 2013 pablo would recommend this property

Liked: they help me a lot time with bus ticket with recommend the pleace. The hotel is clean, safety and accord with the price. thank for all. Nice roof top garden

Disliked: pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angie Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Angie would recommend this property

Liked: Have enjoyed my stay at Khangsar, the property's location is great, very near to heaps of shopping, with no worries about going back late as it is so safe around the hostel area. Free wifi here was handy, there are plenty of couches available in the lobby area and it is so comfortable that i spent a long time without realizing time passes. Everyone in the hostel has done a fantastic job hosting, the many faces that makes us feel welcome all the time, almost felt like never left home! One of my favourite spot is it's rooftop garden, relaxing the day with the stunning sunset and spot the range of snow cap mountain from afar too. In conclusion, is a value for money, will definitely recommend Khangsar to my friends who are visiting Nepal.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christian Augusti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, cheap and nearly european standards

Disliked: Sometime no warm water and no electrictiy. But thats normal for that region