We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Annapurna Guest House

Guesthouse | Thamel, Bhagwanbahal, Kathmandu, Nepal 20928

81.3% Overall Rating

14 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

"We were pick up for free at the airport, we found a clean room, a friendly and helpfull staff, we felt so good there that we extended our stay.The staft got us a better exchange rate for our currency than what was…"

Read all Annapurna Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Newspapers

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kathmandu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kathmandu

Hotel Silver Home
3.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 49 reviews
Karma Travellers Home Ltd
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
CHILLOUT RESORT
6.00 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.4% 3 reviews
Hotel Holy Temple Tree
7.60 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Happily Ever After Hostel
3.00 USD

Hostel 89.9% 15 reviews
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
35.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Thamel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 3 reviews
Elbrus Home
8.00 USD

Hostel 91.9% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

14 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Annapurna Guest House'

Atmosphere
76.3%
Location
90.0%
Facilities
73.8%
Cleanliness
72.5%
Staff
87.5%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were pick up for free at the airport, we found a clean room, a friendly and helpfull staff, we felt so good there that we extended our stay.The staft got us a better exchange rate for our currency than what was offered in the exchange dealers, they assisted us as to where and how to reach sights by public transportation. We went to Tibet for a week, and returned to Anapurna Guest House, a place that felt like our home in Katmandu. It has an exelent safe location close to restaurants, bars, supermarkets, liquor stores and travel agencies, it is tucked away in a side street, away fron the hustle and bustle of the Tamil area so it is quiet at night, and close enough north, as to reach public transport only three blocks away. The rooftop terrace, was a great place to unwind after a busy day of sightseeing, with plenty of plants to give it a nice ambiance. Food was delicious and at reasonable prices, and the exelent French Toast, were delivered hot at our room at any time we ordered it. We roamed through Nepal for a month, and returned to the Anapurna, for three days before our departure, and they arranged to take us to the airport at 5:30 am with the house driver, sleeping in for our tranquility, for an economic rate. We will go back to the Anapurna, on our next trip to Nepal, and we recomend it for anyone visiting Katmandu.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Brandon Neth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2014

Liked: Decently close to the center of city.

Disliked: HOW did I survive five days here?!?!?! You could probably get an eye infection from just looking at the carpet in this place. The rooms are dirty on a whole new level and I can’t even talk about the bathroom: the memories are too painful. The electricity was out for at least ten hours a day which means there’s no wifi (which barely works anyway) and somehow, the power kept going out just as soon as I’d get soaped up in the shower and I’d be stuck in total darkness. Oh- and there’s a huge construction project going on right next door and the super-loud hammering/yelling starts at 5:30am. In case no one’s told you yet, Kathmandu isn’t awesome so go see Swayambhunath Temple and Bodnath Stupa (skip Durbar Square) and get out to Pokhara (or ANYWHERE) as soon as you can. Pros: hot water, free airport pick-up (if you stay for more than one night) and the staff were pretty nice and helpful (except don’t use their travel guy – his prices are outrageous)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dibyojyoti Sarkar

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 Dibyojyoti would recommend this property

Liked: Its in prime location with good ambiance. 24hrs wi-fi and hot water.

Disliked: Not much care about food.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property has a great location and cheap prices.

Disliked: The rooms are decent for the budget, but the linens, carpet and towels were not very clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pleasant building, not humid, big room, total stayed 5 nites

Disliked: 1st floor noisy, so after 2 nites changed to 4th floor n stay 2 extra nites

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Javier Cerrada

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is pretty good. It is in Thamel but in a quite area away from the noise. Very good price for what you get.

Disliked: Javier left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

João Campos

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 João would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price and cleanliness

Disliked: João left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SOURABH DATTA GUPTA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 SOURABH would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good value for money .....there is complimentary internet and nice terrace upstairs,pick up service of car from bus stop,restaurant,travel desk, noise free, good restaurants near by

Disliked: The only thing is even though we have informed them over phone, they did not pick up from the bus stop (though they have this facility ) - not intentionally though,I guess, since there was lack of communication between them

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no fun

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anouk Smits

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2012 Anouk would recommend this property

Liked: warm shower, free wifi in the room and free airport pick up

Disliked: Anouk left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Brandon Neth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012

Liked: The location was good, the staff was pretty good (English wasn't the best, but they really tried). Shower was warm usually, but never hot.

Disliked: So gross. HOW did we survive five days here?!?!?! You could probably get an eye infection from just looking at the carpet in this place. The rooms are dirty on a whole new level and I can’t even talk about the bathroom: the memories are too painful. The sheets has cigarette burns in them too. The electricity was out for at least ten hours a day which means there’s no wifi (which barely works anyway) and somehow, the power kept going out just as soon as I’d get soaped up in the shower and I’d be stuck in total darkness. Oh- and there’s a huge construction project going on right next door and the super-loud hammering/yelling starts at 5:30am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Coles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: There's a lovely roof top terrace. Thr family who own it are so kind and friendly. Out room had two massive windows on either sideso it was very bright and airy. The guest house is in the central tourist spot thamel but in a quieter part.

Disliked: The beds are a bit hard! But that's not really a big deal. There aren't any lockers because its not a hostel but the rooms were safe enough and reception were more than happy to take my laptop. The wifi is a bit slow but i think that's a problem not exclusive to the guest house.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KrishnaDeo Shukla

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 June 2012 KrishnaDeo would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely maintained, friendly & homely feel.

Disliked: KrishnaDeo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Guy Cocks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2011 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room,helpful staff and a more than pleasant rooftop restaurant

Disliked: Shower wasn't always hot enough if you didn't catch it at the right time

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location - although Kind of quiet still in walking distance to the durbar sq. Good kitchen available for breakfast. Tons of tourist places in the area for getting nearly everything you might need or not need for your stay

Disliked: Not the cleanliest place - but for Nepali standards still decent.