HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Silver Home

Hostel | Thamel-29, Kathmandu, Nepal 00977

80.0% Overall Rating

38 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2014)

"The price of the shared dorms are great for budget travellers. The location is right in the middle of Thamel. The water in the shower was always hot."

Read all Hotel Silver Home reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00
  • Breakfast USD 1.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kathmandu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kathmandu

Karma Travellers Home Ltd
12.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
35.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Annapurna Guest House
3.70 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 16 reviews
Hotel Thamel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 3 reviews
CHILLOUT RESORT
6.00 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.4% 3 reviews
Acme Guest House
8.53 USD

Guesthouse 79.1% 76 reviews
Hotel Holy Temple Tree
7.60 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Tenki P. Ltd
9.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

38 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Silver Home'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price of the shared dorms are great for budget travellers. The location is right in the middle of Thamel. The water in the shower was always hot.

Disliked: The shared bathroom was a little dirty and the toilet actually broke while i was there, and was not fixed. How ever we did get access to one of the spare rooms toilets.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - friendly and helpful staff - great location - good price

Disliked: - can get noisy at times because there are lounges nearby

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Elphinstone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Awesome staff.

Disliked: A tad old, but it all added to the adventure that is Kathmandu!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really convenient and it's an easy place to meat other travelers. The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The bathroom in the dorm was blocked pretty often and there was cold water coming from the shower throughout most of the day. There wasn't any safety lockers so I didn't feel safe to live any of my valuables in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claudia Saner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2013 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff!

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: staff were not always helpful

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ian May

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: So very cheap! Worth it for that alone. Staff are nice and helpful too.

Disliked: The dorm is on the top floor, so if you have a heavy bag and dont like stairs, choose somewhere else lol

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Paul Thomson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location, staff CAN be helpful at times when they are not sleeping...

Disliked: not very clean rooms, showers not that clean. For the price you can't beat it, breakfast wasn't great and there is not coffee on tap.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were very willing to assist you with anything you needed, and allowed myself and others to store luggage while we were away trekking.

Disliked: Although Kathmandu suffers from power outages, the dorm room sometimes had no power when the rest of the building did. The construction was a slight annoyance as well.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013

Liked: It was centrally located but still quiet.

Disliked: The room was very dark. I appreciate there are power difficulties in Kathmandu but the room had no natural light at all. I also tried booking a flight to Lukhla for the Everest Base Camp trek. As soon as I handed my money over the manager sat on his laptop and lost all interest in me not telling me the time of the flight, what time I had to get to the airport, where to get my trekking card etc. I had the flights cancelled and checked out of the hotel due to the bad customer service.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Silver Home provided us an excellent trekking guide to EBC. Nikesh thank you for your good work!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. In fact, I was able to plan the rest of my travels around Nepal through recommendations this hotel can make for places to see, things to do, hotels to stay at, guides etc. Don't hesitate to ask them about Chitwan and places in Pokhara. The free hotel pickup from the airport was a nice surprise. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. One staff member even drove me by motorbike to show me where the tourist bus stop is, and even find my bus. It is also a great place to meet other travellers because at this hotel everyone talks to everyone else and shares experiences. Though located in Thamel, it is tucked away in a side alley away from the tourist crowds so you can escape the chaos of Kathmandu's busy streets. Excellent value for money, highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Timea Boross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Timea would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff (Hi Prajjwal, was nice cracking jokes with you!) and owner (Hi Yogesh with your Elvis Shoes!): fun to be with & helpful. Special thanks to Bhanu Dhakal, my trekking agent, who did a wonderful job in making my Annapurna-trekking realy worthwile. He can be found everyday in this hotel. Make sure you meet him! The dormitory was kind of OK, the shower was after my trekkingexperiences in the mountains a source of delight: truly hot. Pegs to hang your clothing on is recommended since there was not 1 nail to discover.... the sunroof was nice for hanging out (washings incl...:-) !) The central position in Thamal was perfect in order to grab diner and so. I spend 6 nights (off and on) during 4 weeks Nepal in this hotel. Bearhugs & Kind regards, Timea

Disliked: wet feet in bathroom during the nights because the toilet is in the shower bed no 7 near the lockers....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JON UNZUETA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice staff. Free internet. Travel desk with good prices.

Disliked: The dormitory now has 10 beds instead of 6 but is still OK.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariusz Bodych

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, what to say more :) Clean as for Nepal conditions, located in the heart of the city - Thamel, but still relatively quiet place in the backyard (except for Friday and Saturday evenings when the music comes from the nearest club until midnight). Real free pick up from the airport, so don't worry about some rip-off.

Disliked: The storage room is pretty damp, so be sure to pack your stuff well before you leave for trekking :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Violeta Montecelo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Violeta would recommend this property

Liked: Las habitaciones son amplias y limpias. Ropa de cama y toallas limpias. El personal del hotel es amable y no insisten en intentar venderte excursiones, lo que no es muy habitual. Está muy bien situado, en el centro, pero en una zona tranquila.

Disliked: Violeta left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bed for the price [dorm bed). As i had less time, staff helped me to make my own trip. Very helpful, not tried to make money out-of that like most try do.

Disliked: Wifi was not working on dorm room. need to trek uphill (dorm room was 4th or on 5th floor) Hard to find, easy to get missed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tamara Powers-Joshi

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2012 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: Great place in Thamel for the price!

Disliked: Tamara left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very good value for the price (Note: I stayed in the dormitory, and I noticed the price could be triple on some websites like Agoda, so be careful which ones you book through). Loved the free access to the computers for internet ! (2 computers for the guests to access internet, of course when Kathmandu has electricity. also free WiFi). The staff is also very nice, and something extremely rare for Kathmandu, they do not try to sell you something all the time, but provide you with genuinily good advice (eg I was asking about Chinese visas, and they push, or evne offered to do it for me but straight away directed my to the Chinese embassy as it is easy to do and reasonable close to Thamel. Same thing on transport etc...) It is really nice to be able to trust the advice given by the owner, especially after toing two other guesthouses which have agencies and always ask you what you do next then try to sell you an organised, to book at the hotel they recommend in Pokhara, etc.... It is very refreshing. Also a great vibe / atmosphere

Disliked: While the overall atmosphere is good, and you can meet people, well, the building has no character. So I would not recommend eating at the restaurant as the dining area is quite dreary, and the drinks (and even food) price 'excessive' for that environment. There are some nice places with gardens for cheaper prices (eg Hotel Ganesh Himal has a cheap breakfast in an awesome garden or nearby HI Peace Garden restaurant is cheap in a quiet place). Note: can be very noisy in the evening as a bar nearby plays live music every night very loudly. But that's common to most places in Thamel, unless you pay a lot more for the peace and quiet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best value I ever experienced! Free wifi, a big rooftop-terrace just outside the dorm, helpful staff and hot water.

Disliked: The bathroom could most defnetly need a scrub or two, but that goes for most shared toilets so.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kelley Owens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012

Liked: Location. But there are plenty more guesthouses in the area that won't try to overcharge you.

Disliked: WARNING!! Be careful if you book this hostel. It states on their website and on the hostelbookers website that there is a free airport pickup. I emailed the hostel to confirm the time we were arriving at and that we requested the free pickup (although they did not reply). When we met the driver we were again told that this was free. When we went to pay our bill on the last night (as we had a 6am bus to catch) they tried to overcharge us for the room. We had to go to come back later with the email from hostelbookers showing the balance we owed for the room. They eventually let us settle the bill at this price. The following morning when we went to check out they demanded 500 rupees from us for the airport pickup we got the first day. We nearly missed our bus because he delayed us so long trying to charge us for this 'free' service and would not unlock the door to let us leave and claimed that his driver was new and didnt understand english when he confirmed with us that it was free. They should not be quoting a price on hostelbookers if they are going to try and charge you more on arrival. They should also say that the airport pickup is not infact free and give you a quote in advance is they are going to charge. Sheets were dirty, toilet leaking and no lockers in dorm and only one key between all dorm mates so couldnt leave valuables in room. As backpackers we have seen many hostels but have never had such poor customer service.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Razvan Briscariu

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

17 January 2012 Razvan would recommend this property

Liked: Good and helpful staff, big rooms, free internet wireless and free computers to use, good value for money.

Disliked: - location is good (in Tamel) but the hotel is a little bit hidden; - hot water is not working all the time; - staff people are mixing the reservation. We came there with 2 bookings and we got only one for the first night and second day we got our initial reservation. More people had this problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff members are really cool and helpful. Attended to all my queries and demands with a huge smile on their faces. They'd even thank me for asking since some of them are studying tourism,,,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hildur Hjorvar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Hildur would recommend this property

Liked: The house is cold but the warm welcome you get from the incredibly friendly staff totall makes up for it! The manager is very knowledgeble and helpful. Location is perfect, right in the heart of Thamel.

Disliked: Hildur left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011

Liked: Staff were very friendly, Free wifi was great on the lower floors, Location could not be better, right in the heart of Thamel.

Disliked: Rooms were not very clean, especially bathrooms. Lots of dampness and mould. Stains on the towels and sheets. But hey it was quite cheap compared to other places on hostelbookers.