HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tangier hostels

Reviews of Dar Bargach

Hostel | 15 Rue Mohammed Bergach, Medina, Tangier, Morocco -

83.8% Overall Rating

31 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/06/2014)

Eileen Prowse thinks…

"The staff were very helpful, suggesting places to visit, places to eat, given each person a map. I asked if they could tell me where I could find somewhere to do some washing as I am on a 7 months…"

Read all Dar Bargach reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 196.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tangier?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tangier

Dar Jameel Guesthouse
31.51 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 94 reviews
Dar Rif
19.70 USD

Guesthouse 95.6% 18 reviews
The Melting Pot Hostel Tanger
14.59 USD

Hostel 77.7% 5 reviews
Tallih Residence
33.22 USD

Apartment 89.2% 14 reviews
MIA Hostels (Asilah)
13.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Al-Andalusi Hostel
16.34 USD

Hostel 93.8% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

31 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Bargach'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 34 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen Prowse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, suggesting places to visit, places to eat, given each person a map. I asked if they could tell me where I could find somewhere to do some washing as I am on a 7 months trip and need to wash clothes. They offered to do it for me and did not charge me, but I gave them money anyway. The place was very clean, the sheets and towels were changed everyday, breakfast was very good and always something a little different. .

Disliked: Nothing really apart from the wifi connection was only available down in the reception/dinning area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very nice; charming character; strategic location (central & quiet)

Disliked: Mattress was horribly uncomfortable and sheets were dirty

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff and how they treated theire clients differently as the other hostels.

Disliked: The hostel should inform better it´s location.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patrick McCann

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazingly helpful and spoke impressive English as well as other languages. Rooms were clean and nice (though simple), and location was also quite good.

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, central location

Disliked: no internet in the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is awsome. It may be a little bit more expensive but you can definietly tell the difference. We spent there 2 nights, got great room on the roof top tarrace, the view was amazing. People from the receptionare very friendly and helpful ( calling the taxi for you, giving you maps and gide you to the places worth seeing). Location is good, in the center of medina. Great food. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Gregory Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014

Liked: The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Very difficult to locate. Rooms are dark and damp. Not enough lighting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

R. Josephine Spiars

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 January 2014 R. Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: Just off the ferry entering the Medina, locals knew the place and walked us there, its very easy to find. The place was cute, the terrace was nice, the breakfast was sweet and the environment was friendly, everyone chatted and shared tea. The best part, honestly, was Mohammed and his young friend, both staff members and so personal, so real. We spent New Years eve together and I can't think of anywhere I'd have rather been but there in the hostel learning arabic and laughing until morning. On our way back through Tangiers we decided to go back to the hostel and it was booked. But the young girl working there remembered us and said she'd find us a room next door for the same price we'd have paid at Bargech. That was so nice of her, we didn't have to worry.

Disliked: Listen, the rooms smell humid but its only natural when there is a bathroom attached and little ventilation. But it was fine, that's traveling!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

roberto cabanas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 roberto would recommend this property

Liked: La atmósfera del hostal es muy acogedora, el staff del hostal es muy agradable hablan en ingles y Mohamed también habla castellano. El te con Mohamed en la terraza is a must . Está situado en plena medina que esta bien porque a sólo unas calles esta el kashba, el pequeño y el gran socio o el mercado.

Disliked: roberto left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and close to the port..

Disliked: Pamela left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service, they even taught us how to make Moroccan tea!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: decor was nice

Disliked: dodgy area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful ambiance, lovely staff, very clean, really enjoyed my stay here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Templeton-king

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, very welcoming & helpful!

Disliked: Beds were a little hard

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aminata Kone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013 Aminata would recommend this property

Liked: The interior and atmosphere are quite nice. Very helpful staff - we were welcomed in lovely manner by Mohamed, and he was very helpful in answering all our questions about Tangier and about getting to other cities from there. The breakfast was really nice too and there's a roof terrace from which you can see the coast.

Disliked: It was quite dark everywhere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Gild

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: I recommend staying here for a night or two if you are passing through Tanger on route to Spain or elsewhere in Morocco. The location is central, right in the heart of old Tanger (medina). The staff during our stay consisted of a friendly guy who was chatty, made mint tea and organised a taxi for us. Overall a short but pleasant stay.

Disliked: The hostel was empty while we were there. We didn't mind this so much as we only stayed overnight, however if you are travelling on your own and wish to meet people it might be best to stay elsewhere.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

David Mackintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013

Liked: The breakfast.

Disliked: The guy who ran it was never there to let us in!! Every single time except once, we stood in the street getting pestered by beggars etc for between 20-40 minutes each time we wanted to get into the hostel, until he decided he´d come back from his friend´s place! Also, we asked him for a recommendation for a restaurant and he took us to his shop and asked us to buy stuff!! Then we finally got to the restaurant and it was overpriced and extremely average touristy food. Don´t stay here!!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2013

Liked: The space is great and the staff are lovely but, the location is just terrible. There were couples arguing just outside the hostel, children begging as soon as you walk out and there was an overall unsettling feeling about the area. The breakfast was simple but satisfying.

Disliked: The space is great and the staff are lovely but, the location is just terrible. There were couples arguing just outside the hostel, children begging as soon as you walk out and there was an overall unsettling feeling about the area. The breakfast was simple but satisfying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location , inside the Medina. Close to the Port. Clean instalations.

Disliked: Rooms not too big.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin May

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful - I was not in town for long so they helped me get organised. Location is ideal - very close to the Tangier Ville port (not Tangier Med!)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Müller

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very pleasant hotel with very friendly staff, good breakfast (compared to the Moroccan standard), clean and cozy room.

Disliked: Since it is a typical Riad you have to be aware that it is not that soundproof and can be a little bit dark, since it has no window. But in general it was one of the better Riads that we've seen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Callie Ingraham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Callie would recommend this property

Liked: The room was lovely. The Dar itself was beautiful. The rooftop terrace had a view of the city and harbor.

Disliked: You could hear everything in the rooms.


See all Tangier hostels