HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kasbah Erg Chebbi

Guesthouse | Ras Erg Chebbi, Merzouga, Morocco -

81.8% Overall Rating

18 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2014)

"From the included taxi from the bus, to the delicious home cooked meals, this place has got hospitality down! These are professional, young, fun-loving Berbers who have a great thing going here with kasbah erg chebbi! I…"

Read all Kasbah Erg Chebbi reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Children's play area
  • Supervised child care / activities
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Merzouga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Merzouga

Auberge Tamariste
2.93 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 21 reviews
Riad Aicha
14.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Riad Les Flamants Roses
23.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kasbah Hotel Panorama
23.40 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Dar Tafouyte
29.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Auberge Kasbah Derkaoua
52.66 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada
14.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Tadarte
17.52 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

18 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kasbah Erg Chebbi'

Atmosphere
84.6%
Location
89.1%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
74.6%
Staff
84.6%
Value
84.6%
Safety
89.1%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

jessica spear

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014

Liked: Very close location to the sand dunes and away from the main town.

Disliked: As it is so far away from the town of merzouga you become reliant on the hostel for food and drink which is pricey and not diverse. There was no choice of dinner, it was either 3-courses for 70MAD or nothing. After our Camel overnight stay we were stuck in this hostel for another day waiting for the bus which was very boring as there is nothing else to do but be hot!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From the included taxi from the bus, to the delicious home cooked meals, this place has got hospitality down! These are professional, young, fun-loving Berbers who have a great thing going here with kasbah erg chebbi! I love that this hotel is off the grid. They run their power off solar panels, so at night its candles only!! i thought this really added to the experience-- the reality of desert life!! You are in the middle of the desert, and you feel it. even so, I did have the best hot shower of my trip, and in the morning there was surprisingly good wifi!! All in all, there is no better place to just relax and enjoy the pace of the desert than kasbah erg chebbi!! (Especially for the price!!!)

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Csongor Boroczky

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Csongor would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Csongor left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Csongor Boroczky

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Csongor would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Csongor left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janus Birch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2012 Janus would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect if you want to be close to the desert sand, but away from the noise and light of Merzouga. The staff is extremely friendly and helpfull. You can take a walk in the desert by yourself, and these people will be ready with cold drinks, food and a smile when you return. Or camels, bivouac, 4wd or whatever you need. Perfect location

Disliked: Janus left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012

Liked: The camel trek into the desert was the only reason I would recommend this place to anyone, it was a wonderful experience.

Disliked: We arrived early in the morning and had no pick up which was pre-arranged for the time of arrival and were made to wait an hour and a half by the side of the road which in itself felt very unsafe. On arrival there was no electricity nor was there for the entirety of our stay. There was also no menu to choose food from you were just given something regardless if you liked it or were able to eat it then later charged for it without knowing the price at all. In addition the 'pool' was stagnant and looked incredibly unsanitary. The rooms had no air con to speak of and in the desert its vital to be able to sleep. The en-suite had no door on so showers and going to the toilet were uncomfortable to say the least and the staff were very sleazy and were constantly touching my shoulders and arms. The place is run by 10 immature men who need to learn to satisfy the needs of their customers rather than preying on the lone female travellers. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012

Liked: close to the desert

Disliked: nothing, that was promoted, was really working. no air-conditioning, no wifi, no nice view to the desert, and they never answerd the questions about it honestly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kasbah Erg Chebbi has the BEST location of all the hotels in and near Merzouga. The sand dunes are just steps out of the front door and the amazing staff is very helpful and friendly. They will help you arrange camel or jeep tours, they play the drums in the evening and serve delicious food and hot tea. Plus, the owners speak so many different languages, so communication is not a problem. I loved it here so much, I ended up staying for a very long time.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best place we have ever stayed!!!!!!! Definitely the highlight of our trip to Morocco. The staff are fantastic and make you feel like part of their family. The hotel is awesome and sleeping under the stars in the desert is a definite must! Mustafa and Brahim are comedy gold :D we LOVED it!!!

Disliked: Leaving :(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, great to chill out with during the midday heat! The location is amazing, just look out the window and see the sand dunes! They organised a great camel excursion for us, which was an amazing experience.

Disliked: It was difficult to get a straight answer on how much meals and drinks were going to cost beforehand, it wasn't expensive once we paid our bill but it would have been nice to know what to expect. No internet access, which wasn't a problem, just unexpected.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Iwona Polonkiewicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Iwona would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful, they pick you up from the Merzouga bus station for free. Location just by the dunes.

Disliked: Iwona left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Immediately out the front entrance is the beginning of the sand dunes. Staff were welcoming and fun. Nice pool. It was a nice break from the hectic first half of our trip in Morocco.

Disliked: Nothing.