We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Meknes hostels

Reviews of Maison d'Hote Marabou

Guesthouse | 10 derb Bel Bassir, Kaa Ourda, Rue El Haboul Meknes, Morocco 50004

97.1% Overall Rating

12 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/11/2013)

"Although the owners were away, they had delegated duties to some very helpful long term tenants, who showed us how to get to the square, and organised a trip to Volubilis for us."

Read all Maison d'Hote Marabou reviews

Facilities

  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Meknes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Meknes

Riad Yacout
43.01 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Hotel Belle Vue
60.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riad Idrissi
17.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Felloussia Meknes
34.03 USD

Hotel 96.6% 27 reviews
Riad Benchekroun
20.59 USD

Hostel 98.9% 5 reviews
Riad Zahraa GuestHouse
11.34 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 105 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.1%

Overall Rating

12 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maison d'Hote Marabou'

Atmosphere
96.7%
Location
91.7%
Facilities
95.0%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.7%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although the owners were away, they had delegated duties to some very helpful long term tenants, who showed us how to get to the square, and organised a trip to Volubilis for us.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto Plaza Arias

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Desde el momento de nuestra llegada nos sentimos realmente bien acogidos por Bouchra, que en todo momento se preocupó por que nuestra estancia allí fuera lo más placentera posible. Nos proporcionaron un rico té con pasta como muestra de bienvenida, así como información completa sobre sitios que ver, o donde comer algo, además de darnos planos de la ciudad y guías turísticas de la zona. El ambiente en la casa y en la zona es simplemente genial. El día de la salida, nos acompañaron también a tomar el taxi en dirección a la estación de tren, lo cual es de agradecer. Puedo decir casi sin lugar a dudas que se trata de uno de los mejores alojamientos en los que he estado, no sólo comparándolo con el resto de alojamientos marroquíes que he visitado, sino siendo mucho mejor que numerosos hostels en Europa. Si vuelvo algún día a Meknès, volveré a alojarme aquí sin pensármelo dos veces. SÚPER RECOMENDADO!!!

Disliked: Alberto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The Maison d'Hote Marabou was an adorable guesthouse and a very pleasant place to stay in the old medina of Mkenes. We were immediately welcomed upon arrival and the young guy running the guesthouse gave us suggestions on where to get food in the medina and also arranged for a taxi to pick us up to visit Volubilis the following day. The guesthouse was clean and spacious and had a very authentic Moroccan-feel to it. Each morning we were served a delicious breakfast of bread with jam and honey, dates and coffee/tea. I highly recommend Maison d'Hote Marabou for any single traveler or couple staying in Meknes.

Disliked: Nothing, it really was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - was in the old Medina and near to an exit - good advices - nice atmosphere and style - spacious

Disliked: - the room has a open bathroom and you participate in every activity of your partner, leaving the room will not help here because it is not completely separate (I don't know about the other rooms)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful small house in the medina, beautifully decorate room, amazing value - amazing hosts. The kindest and friendliest people we have come across in Marocco!

Disliked: I liked everything!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything; the room was very spacious and included its own newly renovated bathroom area. The breakfast was incredible, including both fresh bread and Moroccan delicacy, fresh fig jam, juice and coffee. The maison itself was incredibly clean, and well-located in an area close to both the medina and the "New Town," in a very pleasant neighbourhood area that was safe at night. However, the best aspect about this property is its hosts, who are very helpful, relaxed and welcoming, but also offer privacy. They also helped by arranging a tour for us to Azrou and Ifrane, which are difficult to visit without a car. We will miss them very much, especially their daughter, Kenza. We would thoroughly recommend staying here, and staying in Meknes, which we very much enjoyed.

Disliked: While not the fault of the owners, we had some difficulty finding the maison because our taxidriver did not know how to get to Cafe de Haboul (and we didn't realise this until we left the train station). It may be more helpful to provide an address for the Radem - 71 Rue de Haboul - then follow the hosts' instructions.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Clarey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Lovel family run guesthouse in the medina. We were the only guests actually as the manager was hosting family and they were very accomodating, even shared some of their iftar meal with us. The room is great- large bed, clean room, hot shower, and spacious. Plus good wireless! Very cozy environment, very much like a homestay and the owner is so nice to chat with! Nice breakfast too- coffee/tea/juice, bread and pancake, butter/jam/cream/honey. Would definitely recommend this guesthouse to travelers.

Disliked: A little difficult to locate if you are unfamiliar with the medina area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jici Lord Gauthier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Jici would recommend this property

Liked: We were really lucky to meet this lovely couple and their daughter Kenza! They gave us good travel tips and were really helpful. We felt at home in their nice property (I think it looks better in real life then in the pictures). The breakfast was really good and traditional. We even extended our stay because we really like the hotel, the hosts and Meknes! Thank you very much for everything!!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Innes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful couple very good breakfast

Disliked: Dave left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and I had the run of the living room and terrace. It´s also conveniently located. The living room was spacious yet homely and nicely decorated. The couple who own the house were delightful and very welcoming and the breakfast was ample and absolutely delicious. They very generously invited me to a delicious cous cous on their roof terrace!

Disliked: My room, which was an internal room, was quite dark and small,but then houses are designed to be cool in the summer. Nevertheless it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I was given an ample supply of blankets and a heater as it was quite cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leen Van de Vreken

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 January 2012 Leen would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very nice stay. It was very pleasant to stay in this ' maison d'hote'. The house is beautiful.... the room in wich we stayed maybe even more. The bathroom was the nicest one during our stay in Morocco. The hosts received us with a cup of thee and a homemade moroccon speciality. They made us feel very welcome in their house. The guest house is very well located, within the medine in a tranquil alley. Also the breakfast was very good.

Disliked: /


See all Meknes hostels