HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Meknes hostels

Reviews of Riad Zahraa GuestHouse

Guesthouse | 5 Derb Sidi Abdellah el Kassri, Touta Meknes Medina, Meknes, Morocco 50000

87.4% Overall Rating

96 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

"Fabulous place - clean, comfortable, secure, beautiful, welcoming, excellent breakfast. And fantastic value for money. Would highly recommend it."

Read all Riad Zahraa GuestHouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 47.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Meknes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Meknes

Riad Idrissi
17.67 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Yacout
44.78 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Hotel Belle Vue
62.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riad Benchekroun
26.27 USD

Hostel 98.6% 4 reviews
Riad Felloussia Meknes
35.34 USD

Hotel 96.6% 27 reviews
Maison d'Hote Marabou
29.45 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

96 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Zahraa GuestHouse'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 101 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous place - clean, comfortable, secure, beautiful, welcoming, excellent breakfast. And fantastic value for money. Would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laurent Mang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Laurent would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful character, nice roof-top terrace, very tranquil setting

Disliked: Rooms are quite dark and noisy until midnight (though minor)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: space, temperature

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andreanne Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Andreanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful, the breakfast was good and the amount of food was too much... so no complains here. Great location and very easy to find.

Disliked: We booked at the El Yasmine but because it was full, they send us to an other riad the own, and it was very lovely but lack the number of young people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Polona Glavan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Polona would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful interior, especially our bedroom that looked like something from the Arabian nights.

Disliked: A bit too quiet for my liking, but probably that's just due to the low season.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location great, Riad very beautiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013

Liked: Cleanses

Disliked: Poor breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anne-Lise Fourie

Alone

Business / conference

03 June 2013 Anne-Lise would recommend this property

Liked: clean and everything worked

Disliked: language barrier.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nancy Bloom

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: The room was arrestingly beautiful. We stayed on the terrace level in a priviate double ensuite room. The decor, room size, and bathroom were exceptional.

Disliked: The staff was a little slow and spacey.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: direction was hard 2 follow

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, good location, excellent mint tea, traditional Moroccan ambience and hospitality. Absolute value!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The riad is absolutely beautiful, charming, very cosy and in a great location - close to the main plaza but also tucked into one of the small streets of the medina. The room was stunning and very roomy. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the breakfast was amazing, and the Wifi worked well in the room. The laundry service was also great.

Disliked: The water in the shower took quite a while to warm up but was fine after that. I had received an email from the manager saying that if I had any problems finding the place to call them, that they would send someone to help, but when I called from the carpark, they told me to pass the phone onto a local who then showed us the way to the riad and whom we later had to tip. We realised the next day that he had taken us through a longer way with uneven paths - it was quite a pain with my suitcase. The next day we found a shorter and smoother path straight to the carpark from the riad.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The riad is beautiful and it's in the middle of the Medina. The rooms were comfortable and very clean.

Disliked: Breakfast was very basic and there did not seem to be much of an atmosphere there or information about what to do or where to go. However, that could be because our French was not good enough and the owners do speak very little English. I think it's beautiful but a bit overpriced based on all the other riads we've stayed in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meaghan Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Meaghan would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and very welcoming.

Disliked: When we first got there it was REALLY hard to find

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2012

Liked: Location, meknes is great and the medina friendly & safe

Disliked: Lack Of basic facility & care for comfort

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Sacchetti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: dinner

Disliked: beds were hard

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Shanahan Mooney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Shanahan would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice riad with great decor and a good central location. Beds and bathrooms were clean and the directions were really easy to follow. Breakfast was simple (variety of breads, cakes plus jam, tea and orange juice) but tasty and plentiful.

Disliked: No mention on the website of the 3 euro per person per day city tax on top of our booking. Dinner at the hostel was expensive 13 euro per person. I didn't order it so I cannot comment on the quality but this is double the price of even the tourist restaraunts in the main square. Laundry prices are also very high.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Agustin Rubio

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Agustin would recommend this property

Liked: All is great. Jonas the guy of the reception is awesome, very helpful and friendly! Highly recommended.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

anne dangremond

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 anne would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean Riad, very spacious and quiet and nicely decorated.

Disliked: We were sort of 'expected' to join the other guests for dinner in the Riad. To be polite, we agreed. There was no choice in menu however, and the quality of the food was below what we have come to expect of Moroccan cuisine - a mediocre salad and soup, and frankly too little meat for a two person meal. This would not have been a problem had we not been charged a whopping 280 dirham (three times the average price in a restaurant for such a menu), which we weren't told in advance. We felt really cheated by this!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mathijs Sterrenberg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Mathijs would recommend this property

Liked: In general this is a good riad with clean rooms and helpfull staff

Disliked: There was something of a good feeling that missed; It absolutely wasnt a social meetingplace; lots of non-backpacking-tourists including whole families with strollers discovered this riad and gave it more of a unpersonal "hotel-feeling". We also originaly booked for 3 nights, but wanted to change it for 2 nights, but the owner still wanted us to pay for 3 and made a really big fuzz about it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: The terrace and room were beautiful.

Disliked: We slept on the ground floor, which was a bit noisy in the morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicity Gifford

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: Good central position and very 'authentic'.

Disliked: No hot water in the morning for shower. The Manager provided us with a guide, who was friendly but showed us very little, and in fact was only interested in us buying rugs from his mate. One of the less positive times of our 3 weeks stay in Morocco.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the traditional building and decor and being right in the Medina

Disliked: not so easy to find at first

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolyn Kinsman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy and meals

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

david boyer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: Jonas was great, location was great, terrace view was lovely and proximity to roman ruins was a plus. food was delicious

Disliked: they didn't tell us the price of the meal, instead, we "pre-ordered" the meal as the smell was great, but then they served us too much food that we didn't order (we only, for 2 people, asked for a small sample of the eggplant/veg tangine and salad and they brought much more and wanted to charge us--most other restaurants in town served the same meal for half the price, so it was a surprise, but in the end, they refunded our money because they knew we were not pleased about having overserved us , without our request for all that food) plus, if you can get a room NOT on the bottom floor, that is best, because a lot of commotion during meal time is a distraction if you are tired and want to sleep. overall, nice place


See all Meknes hostels